We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chama River Bend Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Chama
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Very clean room and the bed was nice and comfortable. The owners were awesome! We arrived on motorcycles in the cold and rainy weather. We were going to walk to the nearest restaurant after we unpacked instead of riding in the dark again but the owner offered to give us a ride there and told us to give him a call when we needed a ride back. Very accommodating! We will stay here again if in the area. Very beautiful place.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank meshell70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    44
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
52
55
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

On a trip across country, we unexpectedly needed lodging at Chama. Driving into town, we looked for a place to stay and were delighted to see a smaller lodge with a most charming drive-up appeal. The Chama River Bend Lodge is clean and neat as a pin both inside and out! We were welcomed by the manager and placed in a lovely room which was good sized, well appointed, and comfortable - at a most reasonable cost. The next morning, we were able to see the river flowing behind the shady, well kept property. We would happily stay again, and definitely recommend the Chama River Bend Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was a nice quiet place to stay. Comfortable bed. Microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker. Only problem was no soap in the shower dispenser-had to use the small hand soap for the sink. Not a big deal. Would easily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socorro, New Mexico
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The River Bend Lodge is on the west side of the highway just south of the main part of Chama at an altitude of 7860 feet. The rooms are in a long row with door that open to porch and the outside world. Each room has a screen door, small fridge, microwave, TV, ceiling fan, air conditioner, and portable electric heater. Our room had a shower but no tub. They also have a few stand-alone cabins.

The Wi-Fi worked fine. The staff was very pleasant. There is coffee in the office and a small coffee maker in the room. There is a large grass area on the south side of the lodge across from the room with a picnic table. The lodge has metal deer and bison statues next to the highway. There is no complimentary breakfast. We ate at Fina’s Diner south of the lodge.

We stayed here the night before our train ride.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VLA-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Took Chama train, great ride better. then Durango great views and good lunch half way .Took bus back good views friendly driver. Stayed at lodge CLEAN,FRIENDLY would stay again for train hunting or fishing. Try the home run pizza we liked it .We had no problems and saw nothing wrong

Room Tip: liked room 108
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in the unit right next to owners residence on the end which I believe was unit #1. I really couldn't find anything wrong with the place at all. A comfortable blend of rustic & modern. Nicely decorated and maintained, comfortable bed, hot shower with good water pressure and most importantly clean. Unit had a fridge and microwave which we didn't have a need for on our 1 night stay. Husband and wife owners were super cool also. We'll definitely stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Room 1 (by office) was a little bigger than room 13 on opposite end where our friend stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Clean room with ceiling fan and air conditioning. Seemed to have been recently renovated. We loved the open space. We were next to the laundry and ice machine but didn't hear any noise. We were pleasantly surprised. The staff was friendly and helpful. We felt pampered and well cared for. Will definitely stay here again. Next time hope to bring our family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belegana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chama hotels
0.3 mi away
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
#3 of 8 in Chama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.3 mi away
Branding Iron Motel
Branding Iron Motel
#6 of 8 in Chama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gandy Dancer Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
El Meson Lodge
El Meson Lodge
#9 of 10 in Chama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chama River Bend Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chama River Bend Lodge

Property: Chama River Bend Lodge
Address: 2625 US 84/64, PO Box 593, Chama, NM 87520
Location: United States > New Mexico > Chama
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Chama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chama River Bend Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Chama River Bend Lodge we have been building relationships since 1989! Nestled on a spacious five-acre partial on the banks of the Chama River, you will find breathtaking views of the San Juan mountain range and Chama Peak. We are conveniently located to meet your recreational, sight seeing, camping, and vacation needs in every season. Winter offers excellent cross-country skiing, snowmobiling, a hot air balloon rally, and ice fishing on the Rio Chamita, as well as nearby El Vado and Heron lakes. Summer promises mild but beautiful weather for an exciting ride aboard the Cumbres Toltec steam train, or camping, fishing, horseback riding, and excursions through nearby wildlife reserves. The Chama River Bend Lodge offers both rooms and cabins to accommodate your party's reservation needs. All accommodations are smoke-free and have a private entrance, private bath, air-conditioning, refrigerator, and a coffee maker. After a long, fun-filled day in the woods, relax under the stars in our outdoor hot tub, or enjoy s'mores and conversation cozied around a fire-pit near the river. We hope you will choose the Chama River Bend Lodge as your next destination for vacation, family reunions, group gatherings, a weekend getaway, a wedding or any special occasion--we sincerely look forward to serving you. Pet friendly in CABINS only! No Pets in Rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Chama River Bend Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chama River Bend Hotel Chama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing