We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chama River Bend Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Chama
Certificate of Excellence
Socorro, New Mexico
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The River Bend Lodge is on the west side of the highway just south of the main part of Chama at an altitude of 7860 feet. The rooms are in a long row with door that open to porch and the outside world. Each room has a screen door, small fridge, microwave, TV, ceiling fan, air conditioner, and portable electric heater. Our room had a shower but no tub. They also have a few stand-alone cabins.

The Wi-Fi worked fine. The staff was very pleasant. There is coffee in the office and a small coffee maker in the room. There is a large grass area on the south side of the lodge across from the room with a picnic table. The lodge has metal deer and bison statues next to the highway. There is no complimentary breakfast. We ate at Fina’s Diner south of the lodge.

We stayed here the night before our train ride.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VLA-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    47
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
54
59
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Took Chama train, great ride better. then Durango great views and good lunch half way .Took bus back good views friendly driver. Stayed at lodge CLEAN,FRIENDLY would stay again for train hunting or fishing. Try the home run pizza we liked it .We had no problems and saw nothing wrong

Room Tip: liked room 108
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in the unit right next to owners residence on the end which I believe was unit #1. I really couldn't find anything wrong with the place at all. A comfortable blend of rustic & modern. Nicely decorated and maintained, comfortable bed, hot shower with good water pressure and most importantly clean. Unit had a fridge and microwave which we didn't have a need for on our 1 night stay. Husband and wife owners were super cool also. We'll definitely stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Room 1 (by office) was a little bigger than room 13 on opposite end where our friend stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Clean room with ceiling fan and air conditioning. Seemed to have been recently renovated. We loved the open space. We were next to the laundry and ice machine but didn't hear any noise. We were pleasantly surprised. The staff was friendly and helpful. We felt pampered and well cared for. Will definitely stay here again. Next time hope to bring our family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belegana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Unit 70; No hot water in shower; noisy, wobbly ceiling fan that looked like it was going to fall down at any minute; bathroom exhaust fan that sounded like a rock crusher; bugs in beds and rooms; not enough cooking utensils; broken microwave oven; not enough casual seating; no filters for coffee maker; chincy interior finish; big black mosquitoes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora Vista NM
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nice surprise! Clean rooms with everything you need. The entire property showed pride of ownership in every way. The open area and roomy parking were a nice change from the normal tight spaces you find most of the time. The highlight of our 2 night stay was the owners. They are a hard working Christian couple that strive to make your stay special.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallup, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The rooms are clean and comfortable. Having the river within walking distance was lots of fun for us, along with having a big grassy area and playground equipment for the grandchild that was with us. It is a great place to stay if you're coming up to ride the Cumbres/Toltec Train.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chama hotels
0.3 mi away
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
#4 of 8 in Chama
92 reviews
1.3 mi away
Branding Iron Motel
Branding Iron Motel
#6 of 8 in Chama
96 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gandy Dancer Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
El Meson Lodge
El Meson Lodge
#9 of 10 in Chama
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chama River Bend Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chama River Bend Lodge

Property: Chama River Bend Lodge
Address: 2625 US 84/64, PO Box 593, Chama, NM 87520
Location: United States > New Mexico > Chama
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Chama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chama River Bend Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Chama River Bend Lodge we have been building relationships since 1989! Nestled on a spacious five-acre partial on the banks of the Chama River, you will find breathtaking views of the San Juan mountain range and Chama Peak. We are conveniently located to meet your recreational, sight seeing, camping, and vacation needs in every season. Winter offers excellent cross-country skiing, snowmobiling, a hot air balloon rally, and ice fishing on the Rio Chamita, as well as nearby El Vado and Heron lakes. Summer promises mild but beautiful weather for an exciting ride aboard the Cumbres Toltec steam train, or camping, fishing, horseback riding, and excursions through nearby wildlife reserves. The Chama River Bend Lodge offers both rooms and cabins to accommodate your party's reservation needs. All accommodations are smoke-free and have a private entrance, private bath, air-conditioning, refrigerator, and a coffee maker. After a long, fun-filled day in the woods, relax under the stars in our outdoor hot tub, or enjoy s'mores and conversation cozied around a fire-pit near the river. We hope you will choose the Chama River Bend Lodge as your next destination for vacation, family reunions, group gatherings, a weekend getaway, a wedding or any special occasion--we sincerely look forward to serving you. Pet friendly in CABINS only! No Pets in Rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Chama River Bend Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chama River Bend Hotel Chama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing