We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cons outweigh the pros”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chama River Bend Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Chama
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cons outweigh the pros”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have been making the pilgrimage to Chama for several years now to ride the train. We always stay in town for three or four days. We have stayed at River Bend twice in three years. The coffee is weak, pillows flat as pancakes, shower soap comes from a liquid dispenser and I couldn't get a lather going. Finally went and bought a bar of soap from the grocery store. The mattress caused my back to ache for three days. Otherwise, the second stay was fine; nice walk along the river, playground for the children, the room was exceptionally clean, wi-fi worked fine and the outdoor hot tub was nice (but it didn't cure my back). If the negatives would change, I would gladly stay there next year, but I won't pay the premium price to find out if it does change.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    50
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
56
62
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The staff was friendly and the cabins were clean. This is our new get away spot to go and relax.If your looking for a place to go and get away, where the people are nice, you need to checkout Chama River Bend Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Very enjoyable weekend. The staff at the River bend really cares about the property and thier guest. This is not the first we stayed at this property, nor will it be last.

Room Tip: Check out the new porch/deck built by the river. Nice place to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We've traveled to Chama every year since 2003. Several of those years the cabins at River Bend Lodge served as our 'home away from home" for up to a week at a time. The cabins are perfectly suited for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Everything you might need is provided except food...and you can bring your own or purchase anything you could want at the grocery located just down the road a bit. When our travels have taken us anywhere close to Chama, we have gone out of our way to just stop by and say hello. The folks here are just that friendly and have always made us feel welcome. For those overnight stays, we choose to book a room in the motel. We've found the same clean, comfortable atmosphere there as well. We would recommend River Bend in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband and I just returned from taking our 5 year old and 4 year old grandsons for their first trip to ride the train. The cabin was cozy and very clean. The grandchildren especially loved the loft. The owners are very friendly, personable and welcoming! They went above and beyond to make this a very special trip for my grandsons and they absolutely loved the fire pit for roasting marshmallows on our last night there. My husband and I are looking forward to a late October alone and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: My suggestion if you are taking small children... choose Cabin #10, we loved the closeness of the pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I stayed three nights. The room was very clean. Maids are nice. My Tv didn't work all three days. The ice machine didn't work. But they had a washer and dryer. A plus! I liked our host. Tessa is her name. And wifi did work. Another plus. It has great play ground for kids. But no picinic table . It had both soda and candy machines and full size coffee pot. The rooms are noisy when the iron screen doors slam with people coming or going. And you hear the people leaving the drive ways. But not so much the main road. Saw deer each night. River runs behind it as well. The beds need up graded. the mattress was over used, bumpy .. but clean.
the Shower water is scalding. Make sure to be careful when you turn on the hot. I did burn myself the first night.

But safe and well lite front area for vehicle parking and going to your room. I felt safe.
Lots of wild life in Chama. I even saw two bears the first night here. Not at the hotel but up the canyon leaving town towards alamosa. All in all. I'd come back again. Roxy

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roxy y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Wow! What a wonderful experience we had, during our stay at the River Bend Lodge, in Chama, NM. The accommodations were superb and the owner/opperators, Aulio and Sandre, became like family! Thank you guys for your HOSPITALITY! Get closer to God in Chama!
Bruce

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chama hotels
0.3 mi away
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
#3 of 8 in Chama
102 reviews
1.3 mi away
Branding Iron Motel
Branding Iron Motel
#6 of 8 in Chama
98 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Meson Lodge
El Meson Lodge
#9 of 10 in Chama
11 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gandy Dancer Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chama River Bend Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chama River Bend Lodge

Property: Chama River Bend Lodge
Address: 2625 US 84/64, Chama, NM 87520
Location: United States > New Mexico > Chama
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Chama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chama River Bend Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Chama River Bend Lodge we have been building relationships since 1989! Nestled on a spacious five-acre partial on the banks of the Chama River, you will find breathtaking views of the San Juan mountain range and Chama Peak. We are conveniently located to meet your recreational, sight seeing, camping, and vacation needs in every season. Winter offers excellent cross-country skiing, snowmobiling, a hot air balloon rally, and ice fishing on the Rio Chamita, as well as nearby El Vado and Heron lakes. Summer promises mild but beautiful weather for an exciting ride aboard the Cumbres Toltec steam train, or camping, fishing, horseback riding, and excursions through nearby wildlife reserves. The Chama River Bend Lodge offers both rooms and cabins to accommodate your party's reservation needs. All accommodations are smoke-free and have a private entrance, private bath, air-conditioning, refrigerator, and a coffee maker. After a long, fun-filled day in the woods, relax under the stars in our outdoor hot tub, or enjoy s'mores and conversation cozied around a fire-pit near the river. We hope you will choose the Chama River Bend Lodge as your next destination for vacation, family reunions, group gatherings, a weekend getaway, a wedding or any special occasion--we sincerely look forward to serving you. Pet friendly in CABINS only! No Pets in Rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Chama River Bend Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chama River Bend Hotel Chama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing