We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World's smallest chicken”

High Country Restaurant and Saloon
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Chama
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“World's smallest chicken”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The place was busy and the train crew was there for dinner, good signs.
Our vegetables were nicely cooked,
But my fried chicken was the smallest I've ever seen that wasn't called a "Cornish game hen". The breast, thigh and drumstick had about as much meat as a typical thigh.
It was bad enough that we stopped at the Subway and I got a sandwich.
So, quality first rate, quantity so disappointing our remaining four meals in town were at the Subway.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald E A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    175
    78
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dining in Chama”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The meals were good, plentiful and the servers were friendly. They were busy as hunting season was on but we had no problem with seating as we arrived later and chose to eat in the saloon the 1st night. The menu is befitting the area but they are more than willing to whip something up that may not be on the menu and they charged a reasonable price! This is a lifestyle my wife and I enjoy, being treated as true guests not a paycheck.
Since we stayed in a motel across the street, convenience was great. This is one place we know we will return to and enjoy it's atmosphere again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average Food and Service”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We dined on a Friday night and both the restaurant and bar were busy--it took about 45 minutes to be seated and we waiting in the bar, which had live music. We ordered the Porterhouse for two special, which fed three of us, and the salmon. There was plenty of steak to eat, but it lacked any seasoning and was just OK. I was disappointed with the salmon--it was definitely not fresh and tasted like fish I had eaten at the Army dining facility in Afghanistan. Not good. The service was friendly and good overall. So I'm giving them an average rating because there may be better places to eat in Chama.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The best porter house steak for 2 I've ever eaten!
Music in the saloon portion of the restaurant.
In season (during the Cumbres & Toltec Scenic Railroad season) make a reservation for large parties

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abita
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“very good food”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We ate here both night we stayed in Chama, Nm both night it was pretty busy but they were on top of it. The first night we had to sit at two table do to it being so busy. The second night we sat in the back room. Very good variety of food and very reasonable priced.
As busy as it was they keep up with it very nicely.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobbydem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Country Restaurant and Saloon also viewed

 

Been to High Country Restaurant and Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing