We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth every penny” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cumbres Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chama
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cumbres Suites
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Chama
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

You know how sometimes you just don't know if the room you rented will be up to par, will it have dirt spots that make you queasy? Will it have hair in places it shouldn't? Do I need to wear flip flops in the shower? Well this is NOT one of those.
Oh my gosh were we so excited to come stay here. The owners were so welcoming (we actually only met the husband), our room was so clean, and I'm talking clean like this guy should hold a conference for some of the big chains to explain what that word actually means. The breakfast they had for us in the morning was awesome. We have small children and we were able to fill them and us up on some good eating. They are also close to a really good restaurant within walking distance which is where we ate our dinner.
We rode the Cumbres and Toltec train earlier in the day and were so exhausted, when we checked in and got to the room it was like we had found some hidden treasure in Chama.
I would highly recommend this place to anyone traveling into Chama, it would be worth every penny and then some.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeschMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    23
    6
    1
    6
See reviews for
25
39
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were happy with the room but felt a bit more could be added to the breakfast options, such as juice and oatmeal packets. We did enjoy the breakfast sausages that we could microwave. Good energy for skiing.

Room Tip: Talk with the owners, Kip or Terrie. They are wonderful to work with on best room for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky_from_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great place to stay. Room 4 is exceptional. Terry was very accommodating. My new spot in chama. Great over sized parking in rear of hotel. Breakfast and coffee daily at 5am. Close to everything. Not much to eat in chama so you may want to shop at food store or bring coolers. There is a microwave and utensils available 24 hours a day

Room Tip: #4 was sweet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsaleeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison Park
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I think that this was the fourth time that I had enjoyed the hospitality and quiet sleeping at Cumbres Suites over the last ten years. On this occasion, I stayed for three nights with a friend from New Zealand who was a fellow train buff so that we could ride the train one day and chase it (and a visiting Galloping Goose) on the other two days. We were in Room 6, really a true suite, with two queen beds and the bath upstairs and another bed and a sitting room downstairs. The arrangement was perfect as I woke up very early each morning and went downstairs to do my e-mails and other business, letting my friend continue to sleep upstairs. I thought that the price was very fair for the amount of space and there was plenty of food for breakfast. I certainly will reserve a room at Cumbres Suites next time that I visit Chama.

Room Tip: I have stayed in three different rooms over time and liked all of them. Room 2 on the ground floor t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schoffpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed for two nights to ride the Cumbres and Toltec Railroad for a day.
We were given a lovely welcome by Terri, we stayed our two nights in the outside rooms to the side of the main building. the room was spotless and obviously well cared for.
Price a little on the high side, but can be forgiven for it's location.

The only thing that could be improved was the breakfast, it was all wrapped and packaged items.
Every other motel we stayed at on our three week road trip of America, had cooked items for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidSB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We recently stayed at the Cumbres Suites 2 nights so my husband could ride the train (after many years of 'wanting to'). We stayed in Room 3 .. which was really spacious and the bed very comfy. The breakfast area had lots of room and something for everyone's taste. We really enjoyed meeting Kip and Terri, they were helpful and very nice and made us feel welcome. If we are ever in the Chama area we will definitely stay there again.
Thanks again Kip and Terri!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita2422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We recently stayed two nights at Cumbres Suites in order to go on the train. We enjoyed our stay very much. We had room 3, which was upstairs. It was a huge room, with a super comfortable king sized bed (and we are very fussy about our bed), a leather love seat, an arm chair, a large tv and a table and two stools. The bathroom area was also oversized. There was a counter height fridge in the bathroom area. Our room was clean and quiet. Yes, it is on the highway, but in the night we heard no noise from the highway, even with the windows open. By the time traffic picked up, we were up anyway. There is a very large breakfast area on the main floor. Breakfast consisted of about 8 different cereals, bagels, english muffins, microwave sausage buns, milk (choc and white), orange juice, microwave oatmeal, bananas plus a huge assortment of packaged muffins, granola bars, doughnuts, etc. The owners encouraged us to use the microwave in the breakfast room at any time, which we really appreciated. There are three upstairs rooms, which all appeared to be huge when I walked past (doors are open when there are no guests expected), two rooms downstairs off the breakfast area, plus three or four rooms in a separate building behind the main house. The hotel is one mile south of the train station. We found the owners to be helpful and friendly. Should we ever find ourselves needing to go back to Chama, we would definitely stay at Cumbres Suites again. It was a cross between a Bed and Breakfast Inn and a motel. It was not fancy, but it was comfortable and welcoming.

Room Tip: Look at the photos on the website and choose the one that appeals the most. Each room is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BJPToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chama hotels
1.4 mi away
Chama River Bend Lodge
1.7 mi away
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
#5 of 8 in Chama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Branding Iron Motel
Branding Iron Motel
#6 of 8 in Chama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
El Meson Lodge
El Meson Lodge
#9 of 10 in Chama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumbres Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumbres Suites

Property: Cumbres Suites
Address: 2042 S Highway 17, Chama, NM 87520
Location: United States > New Mexico > Chama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Chama
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Cumbres Hotel Chama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing