We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There are better places in Chama, but this will do in a pinch” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elkhorn Lodge Chama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Chama
New Mexico
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“There are better places in Chama, but this will do in a pinch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed in 2nd floor hotel room #34. They should pitch the chairs inside the room (grungy) and replace the rocker on the balcony (splintery, falling apart). The place is in dire need of maintenance. Price was $89 +tax, which is really too high for this room. No a/c, which is normally not needed in Chama any way, but would've been nice.
Front desk clerk was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SparkyEstonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    20
    5
    14
    8
See reviews for
21
33
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

My husband and I have been staying at the LODGE for over 11 years. We even spent our honetmoon night in their special cabin. It's a great place to relax. Our stay in July was their cabin along the Chama River front. We even had a deer come out of the water right infront of us, while we were on the porch. The rooms are always clean. The cabins are true northern N.M. The Lane family (owners) make you feel at home and welcome. We stay at the lodge at least 2 or more times a year. It's a great get away from the city of Santa Fe.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SHERRY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

This place is a disaster. Do NOT stay here. Stayed in the motel part of the lodge and had two rooms traveling with my family and my brothers. Our room was dirty, stains on the comforter, shower barely had any water pressure, tv remote didn't even have a battery cover. Sent the kids to get more pillows and they come back with pillow cases that were ripped and blood stained. My brothers room pretty much same condition with a bonus of the fire alarm hanging from the ceiling with no battery in it. To top it all off had to put up with loud music both Friday and Saturday night until almost Midnight since no one monitors there "10-7" Quiet hours. Went and spoke with Jill the Owner to express my concerns and she did give us a discount on the rooms but really didn't make up for what we had to put up with. When I went to express my concerns the grumpy old guy at the desk did give us more pillow cases but they were worse than the ones we got before?? Soooo after a long day there after all of this finally go to take a shower and housekeeping leaves ONE towell in a room that has my wife and two kids in the room-- Back to the office we have to go to get towels?? I know we were not staying at the Four Seasons but you do expect to have a clean room, running water, clean sheets and a comfortable place to sleep. None of the that is true for this place so like the title says keep on driving on by this place because you will be very disappointed if you stay here.

Room Tip: Run Down, Dirt, No upkeep to the place at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slick1KO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

First, let me say that this review applies to Unit 43. There are many other rooms and cabins so our experience might not be typical. See final remarks at the end of the review. We stayed here because my wife wanted a near-camping experience, and a place where we could take our dog. Our daughter and SIL were with us.

The unit was a stand-alone cabin, with two bedrooms, 4 double beds, one bath, and a living area that combined kitchen, dining and sitting area. The kitchen has a refrigerator and gas range but no microwave. Thee were dishes, and plenty of utensils. The charge was about $140/night.

The good: Check in was quick and efficient. The staff were polite and friendly; they even had a small bag of treats for our dog. They charged $10 extra for our dog for our entire stay. The grounds are pleasant, with grass and tall trees, and the river nearby. Beds had box springs and mattresses, and were comfortable if you like a firm mattress. There is no daily makeup service but there were plenty of clean towels.

The bad: But from there it was downhill. The hot tub, that my wife was looking forward to for her back, was not working. The porch outside our room had wood rot. There was no latch on the screen door. No ice cube trays in the refrigerator. Fortunately, the weather was mild so we didn't need A/C (there is none) or heat (the only heat is in the living area, none in the bedrooms or bath). The thermostat for the heater was missing its cover. The ceiling height is 7 ft. so someone over 6 ft. tall might hit the light fixtures. One light fixture was missing its glass cover. In the bathroom, the walls around the tub/shower are painted, and some paint was peeling. There is an unfinished wooden shelf in the shower. The window over the kitchen sink was cracked, with Scotch tape over the cracks. The screen door had a torn screen but the 1 in. gap at the top of the door would admit large insects anyway. (Fortunately, there were no insects. There was one electric plug (2 outlets) in each bedroom; fortunately, I had a cube-tap and extension cord because a lamp and clock were plugged into the outlets. The hot and cold taps on the kitchen sink are reversed -- hot on the right, cold on the left. The sheetrock ceilings are taped and painted, not bedded, so all the taped joints are visible. The dining table would seat 6 but there were only 3 chairs and one was broken. The sofa needed cleaning. The TV was mounted over and facing the same way as the sofa so one can't sit on the sofa and watch TV. A note over the kitchen sink said to leave the dishes clean for the next occupant or leave $10 if we wanted housekeeping to clean the dishes. Lots of nail holes, screw holes, missing moldings, etc. There is no wi-fi/Internet (which we knew when booking). A cabinet with drawers and doors was missing half its knobs.

The ugly: The fire extinguisher on the wall outside iwas empty. The battery-operated smoke detectors had no batteries. Water from the kitchen sink drained into the yard and ran under the building.

Final remarks: Staff were genuinely concerned when we reported these problems. They said the unit had been closed for the winter, and the owner had not inspected it because of a death in the family two weeks before. They provided more chairs for the living area, and refunded one night of our two-night stay. Some units have concrete porches so don't have the wood rot we found. I checked another fire extinguisher and it was fully charged. There were many people staying there so I think it's likely that other units weren't in the shape ours was in. Nevertheless, with no daily makeup, and the rustic character of the room, we would look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeirdHarold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

This hotel was just a roadside place. Not very nice, but was very clean. Even though it is right next to the Rio Chama, there are no rooms overlooking the river or taking advantage of any interest in the surroundings. The gravel parking lot runs right up to the front door. There seemed to be a lot of hunters staying there. While we were sitting on the minimal deck outside the front door, we were treated to the loud cell phone conversation of another guest standing in the parking lot, while he ran down women, Obama, Hispanics and gays. I don't think there are any nice places to stay in Chama. The town is pretty much a dump.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Xzcycyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

We booked the largest cabin at the Elkhorn Lodge a couple of weeks in advance. It was $119 for a 2 bedroom cabin with a kitchenette. When we got there, it was really a trailer home with terrible beds and pillows. The entire room felt slightly dingy, but we are in the mountains, so I ignored it. The rooms were spacious and had good blackout curtains on them to get the kids to bed early (in the summer). The heater worked very well and the water pressure was great. I would suggest they put a real shower curtain in, the one in the bathroom wasn't waterproof, so water got all over the floor. We weren't in the room much, but it looked like there were other places that were actually lodges, not just motels and trailers using the name lodge. I would recommend you check out another hotel, since they all seem to be in the same price range.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mellonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

My wife and I stayed in this place couple of days,and we can asured that we spent two beautiful days.The place is nice,clean and nobody around us bothered us even when busy.We found the room was ok and clean. If I want something fancy I will rent a suit in a Hilton Hotel;but this place to run away for things reminds us the everyday office,etc is perfect.In the matter of facts we're going back in July.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernandino39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chama hotels
0.3 mi away
Chama River Bend Lodge
1.6 mi away
Branding Iron Motel
Branding Iron Motel
#6 of 8 in Chama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Gandy Dancer Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
El Meson Lodge
El Meson Lodge
#9 of 10 in Chama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elkhorn Lodge Chama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkhorn Lodge Chama

Property: Elkhorn Lodge Chama
Address: 2663 S Hwy 84, Chama, NM 87520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Chama
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Chama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Elkhorn Lodge Chama 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elkhorn Lodge offers cabin rentals and motel rooms in Chama, NM. Come stay with us and enjoy all that the beautiful Chama Valley has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Elkhorn Lodge Chama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elkhorn Hotel Chama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing