We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Family LOVES this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corkins Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chama
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Corkins Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Chama
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
1 review
“Our Family LOVES this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Clean Cabins, that already have things you'll need like clean bedding, cookware,BBQ grill, paper towels ect.
They have a stocked lake( that has a beautiful view by the way) river near by for even more fishing. Playground, pool and game-room helps make this mountain retreat even more amazing.
Our family takes advantage of the free board game rentals in the office to play at night after our BBQ dinner.
The deer come right up to you, they are used to people I suppose..
Its a peaceful getaway.There is something for the whole family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    3
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
plainviewTexas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have gone to Corkins Lodge for many years. We booked a cabin again this year on line back in March. According to the web page it rented for 145 a night.Out cabin was the knothole. When we received our confirmation the rate had gone up to 290 per night. We were not informed of the rate increase at the time we called to reserve the room.
When we arrived, the lake was full of moss floating on the top. We fished for 4 days and caught 3 fish.The only thing hungry were the chipmunks. They now have a dog, so the deer are no where to be found. We were very disappointed and will not return. There were many cabins not rented, now we know why. If you are going to double the rates, you might need to put in T. V.s and Clocks in the cabins, and invest in some decent towels. Red River is a more affordable. We rent a house that sleeps 10 for 250 per night and it is close to town and on the river. They will get our busines from now on.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank judy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Many people have been coming to Corkins Lodge for decades. After visiting the rustic mountain retreat outside of Chama, New Mexico, I can see why. The scenery is spectacular, the wildlife is abundant and the cabins are comfortable and cozy.

The folks at Corkins Lodge are so accustomed to the returning regulars, however, that they don't give the uninitiated traveler much of an introduction to the Lodge or the area. When we checked in, we were simply given a key and shown the direction of our cabin. While the website does have photos, it does not give the traveler all the information needed to plan a visit.

The cabins come with hot water, refrigerator, wood burning stove, oven, microwave, drip coffee maker, basic shower, utensils, pots, pans, plates, drinking glasses, mugs, cereal bowls, wine glasses, bottle opener, dish soap, dish rack, coffee filters, one serving of coffee, spatula, grater, two large bowls, salt and pepper, one small bottle of shampoo, one small bar of soap, four small towels, four wash cloths, ice cube trays, three garbage bags, firewood, and a propane grill. If you leave dirty dishes behind, a sign inside the cabin wans that there is a $50 fine.

There are no televisions at Corkins Lodge. There are no telephones in the cabins. No newspapers are readily available. There is Wi-Fi access available at the pool. The Wi-Fi is slow and spotty at times, but can be accessed best in the Jonah and Knothole cabins. The password is written on the sign behind your cabin door. Our Verizon cell phones worked fine, but were told that many cell phones do not get any service.

There is no cabin service. During our four day, three night stay, nobody ever came to replace towels, make beds, empty trash or replenish amenities (like coffee). When we went to the office to get clean towels, we were told to drape the dirty ones over the porch rail for easy retrieval. Nobody ever came to get them. On the positive side, the lack of contact offers increased privacy.

Most visitors bring their own food. There is a Lowes grocery store in Chama, which might save you the bother of hauling your own food long distances. From the intersection of 512 and 84, the Lowes is about eight miles down 84 on the left side. Look for the yellow sign.

There is a restaurant, the Cliffview, within walking distance.Everything we ate at the Cliffview was excellent and the service was very good. Unfortunately, the Cliffview is only open during peak season and on select days. It is not open for all three meals. It is owned by the Corkins Lodge folks, so they should be able to tell you when it is open.

You also can also drive into Chama for dinner. The locals recommended High Country Restaurant and Saloon. We ate there twice and found the service to be absolutely dreadful during the rush of the holiday weekend. While the food was tasty, it was more expensive than you would expect.

There is a pond at Corkins stocked with trout and no fishing license is needed. Consider bringing supplies to clean and cook the trout. You can also fish in the nearby river, but if you plan to do so, purchase your fishing license in advance. Licenses are not sold in the office. There is a small sampling of fishing supplies sold in the office. The Lowes also has rods and bait for sale.

There is a game room at Corkins for the kids. It has been stripped of most of the games and supplies. If the kids want to play pool, Ping-Pong or board games, they must got to the office to check them out. A sign on the wall explains that the Corkins game room was vandalized recently and pool sticks were broken.

There is a swing set (with bucket swing), sandbox, horseshoe area and bocce game area. There is a heated pool, which was well cared for.

Consider taking the Cumbres & Toltec Railroad to Chama. You can board the Cumbres & Toltec Railroad at San Antonito and the Corkins Lodge people will pick you up. The train came highly recommended by another family. We decided not to make the train trip because of the amount of gear and foodstuffs we were carrying.

Expect to see a lot of wildlife. The chipmunks and deer have been fed by prior guests and will come right up to you.

Consider visiting Corkins during the off-season. The price of the cabin rental is slashed in half during the off-season.

If you are looking for a place to relax and unplug, I highly recommend Corkins Lodge. It is, as one reviewer concluded, a hidden gem in Northern New Mexico.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This place is a hidden gem in the mountains of Northern NM. Me & my extended family have been going here for over 35 years. My family in ABQ, NM go here once or twice every year. We're going back in September of this year. I'm very excited about that trip because I'll be starting a new tradition with my wife's side of the family. This will be our first trip back since being married. The cabins are rustic & cozy. The scenery is stunning. The wildlife will eat right out of your hands. Literally. Bring popcorn or any kind of oats and you will have large buck deer eating out of your palm. There are beautiful hiking trails, plenty of fishing & plenty of relaxation. It's fun that the whole family will enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clintjames77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

My family and I stayed here, in the Penasco cabin, for 2 nights during November 2012. It was a magical experience. Straight out of a Thomas Kinkade painting. Not yet winter, we had a gentle snowfall that blanketed the whole property in a fine white powder. Our cabin was roomy, 3 bedrooms, fireplace, hot water and plenty of space. The grounds have things like horseshoes, a playground, a gamesroom (which is only open during the warm months it seems) and a private lake for fishing. Amazing place, and worth every penny. It's out of the way, but that's what adds to the experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in The Log House for two nights in October when the rates are 50% off. It was the most beautiful cabin we have ever been in. The cabin sleeps 10 people, has a fully stocked kitchen, radiant heat, two gorgeous bathrooms, one king sized bed downstairs, one queen sized bed upstairs and a bunk room that has two twin beds on the top bunk and two full beds on the bottom. Every room is cozy and clean and had soft sheets and great mattresses. The cabin has beautiful wood flooring, a grill on the back deck and a great fireplace in the living room. Perfect hiking and fishing right out the back door and deer everywhere. The grounds are nice and simple. The other cabins are much older and we have stayed in those as well.
Great family spot!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzzmego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
159 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Corkins to fly fish the upper Brazos. By staying there you get access to private waters. The cabins are very rustic, without any electronics, but everything you need to cook meals. The surroundings are beautiful. I will go back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Experiencedtrav07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chama hotels
11.8 mi away
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
#5 of 8 in Chama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
13.1 mi away
Branding Iron Motel
Branding Iron Motel
#6 of 8 in Chama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
12.3 mi away
El Meson Lodge
El Meson Lodge
#9 of 10 in Chama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Chama River Bend Lodge
13.6 mi away
The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corkins Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corkins Lodge

Property: Corkins Lodge
Address: End of Highway 512, Chama, NM 87520
Location: United States > New Mexico > Chama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Chama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1930. Corkins Lodge. located on 1000 acres of pristine pine forest under the spectacular Brazos cliffs offers private fishing on more then two miles of the Brazos River, a swimming pool and sauna and the all comforts and convenience of your own cabin in natural setting. All cabins have full kitchens. Perfect for quiet getaways to family reunions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Corkins Hotel Chama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing