We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will surely stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 9 Chama B&B and Inns
New Mexico, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Will surely stay again!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We loved our stay just couple of weeks ago and enjoyed very tasty breakfast. The rooms are very nicely furnished with antics, the bed was very comfortable - big plus after hours of cross country skiing in the area. The owners are very nice and knowledgeable about the area.
we felt most welcome and will be staying there again. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NouvelleMexique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
48
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Perfect location right across the street from the Chama train station in an old house converted to a B&B. The hosts are train and local history buffs and have lots of stories to tell. It was like staying with an aunt or old friend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CassieLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peyton, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Beautiful and historic retreat in Chama...not only met, but exceeded our expectations! Wendy and Bonsall were very accommodating and extremely pleasant. The room was very comfortable, breakfast was delicious, and the location to the Cumbres Toltec Railroad couldn't have been better! Coming from Colorado Springs, we actually considered staying in Antonito, CO prior to our trip on the Cumbres Toltec Railroad, but fortunately, we took the advice of other tripadvisor comments and decided to stay in Chama...we too highly recommend this approach! Chama is small and peaceful, but somewhat limited as far as choices to have dinner...taking one of Wendy and Bonsall's recommendations, we dined at the High Country restaurant and was so please the first evening, we ate there the second evening, as well. Love the bar w/peanuts on the floor atmosphere and the dinning area was equally pleasant. HIGHLY recommend the Carne Adovada...my wife had the Carne Adovada the first night and I couldn't wait until the following night so I could order it...it was awesome! We would definitely stay at the Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast again...Wendy and Bonsall's hospitality was amazing and the little touches from chocolate truffles on our pillow and cookies in our room to the special gift for our anniversary was greatly appreciated!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laschtdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
310 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed two nights, night before and night after train ride. It is clean, quaint, cozy, filled with antiques, history and "Wonderful Host".

Parlor Car B&B is located across the street from train a short walk.

We stayed in the PALMER room that is upstairs, clean, very cozy, warm and comfortable, with plenty of room to move around in. Had a beautiful and comfortable high-rise four poster bed with nice silky sheets. And a large "clean" comfortable sofa to sit on. A bench that will hold two pieces of luggage. VERY CLEAN, but small, private in room bath, with shower not tub. Large soft fluffy, fresh smelling bath towels.

Shortly after we made our reservation, Wendy called to see if we had any food restrictions etc.etc.

When we arrived Wendy and Bonsall welcomed us and offered to help with our luggage.

First evening, we enjoyed visiting with Wendy and Bonsall and other guest, listening to Bonsall play the old player piano.

Breakfast was "wonderfull"! Each day we had fresh fruit. First morning we had a mix of fresh berries, topped with a light yogurt topping. Followed with two sausage patties and very yummy French toast. Second morning we had Wendy's special eggs Benedict, wonderful flavor. Even though the servings were very very plentiful and fulfilling, we were always ask if we would like more.

Each day little treats with personalized, hand written notes were left in our room. Along with a jug of fresh ice water and clean glasses.

The train ride comes with a huge buffet lunch, which is very tasty. We took Wendy and Bonsall advise and got the turkey dinner, with all the trimmings, fresh camberry sauce, cornbread dressing, "REAL baked turkey, not com-pressed process slices.

The train/bus ride ran a little late getting bake to Chama, due to the strong wind that day. When we got back to Chama we were very tired and not that hungry after our big lunch.
Wendy had a jug of fresh ice water along with a small dish of mix nuts waiting for us in our room. Along with an apple it was the perfect light snack, before going to bed.

EVERYTHING POSITIVE our fellow "Trip Advisors said about Palor Car B&B, we agree with.

Wendy and Bonsall make you feel like family and we enjoyed visiting with them very much.
We also had plenty of time to be by ourselves and enjoy the warm cozy surroundings of the B & B.

This was our first stay at the Parlor Car B&B, from now on, it is the only place we will stay in Chama.

We loved staying in the PALMER room!

Each room is different, so I would suggest calling and talking to Wendy about which room would best fit your needs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usroadrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We spent one night at The Parlor Car B&B before riding the train. Our room was clean and comfortable. Our hosts, Wendy and Bonsall, were very interesting and we have a nice evening visiting with them. Be sure to have Bonsall play their player piano for some good old time music. Our breakfast was a non-traditional one, but it was very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Comfortable room, great food, kind innkeepers,
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room did not have an e suite bath but did have a bath that was private for it. The sheets were fabulous!
Wendy and Bonsal were perfect hosts!

Room Tip: This room did not have an e suite bath though it was private for this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England
Level Contributor
109 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were very warmly welcomed by our hosts and were sorry we could only stay for one night, this lovely home is situated very close to the famous Chama Cumbres and Toltec Scenic Railway nearby where passengers and spectators are treated to the sight of a working steam train. The advance preparation for our arrival from our hosts was amazing especially as we were only able to stay for one night. We had a delicious home-cooked breakfast too with great coffee. Can strongly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cag65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chama hotels
2.4 mi away
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
#3 of 8 in Chama
93 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chama River Bend Lodge
0.9 mi away
Branding Iron Motel
Branding Iron Motel
#6 of 8 in Chama
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gandy Dancer Inn Bed and Breakfast
1.9 mi away
El Meson Lodge
El Meson Lodge
#9 of 10 in Chama
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast
Address: 311 Terrace Ave., Chama, NM 87520
Location: United States > New Mexico > Chama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing