We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Chama!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 9 Chama B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Chama!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

What a lovely welcoming home. Wendy and Bonsall were very nice people and I would love to return one day. I very highly recommend the Parlour car. I have done so already to people I have met. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philmphanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
48
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this B&B. Wendy and Bonsall have transformed this early 1900's banker's home into a charming place for an overnighter before and after riding the train. Wendy calls before your arrival to verify any special needs/wants for breakfast.

Little treats with personalized, hand written notes are left in you room for your enjoyment. There is an iced water jug with 2 glasses as well. Breakfast is a nicely done, light affair. If riding the train, you won't need much to eat - the train ride comes with a huge buffet lunch.

Rooms are comfy, our bed was a 4-poster with a tempurpedic mattress. The house has central air and fans, and the room windows open to a cool breeze in the evenings. There is a cozy library/sitting room upstairs, a large downstairs living room to relax and read or chat with the hosts and fellow guests, a very well kept yard with plenty of shade and places to sit. With only 3 guest rooms, there wasn't a crowd. Most of our fellow guests were in Chama to do volunteer work on the train, so there was good conversation on tap.

It's a 3 minute walk across the street to the Cumbres and Toltec RR depot. Wendy knows the area and can recommend eateries, shopping, local attractions and gas stations. Chama is off the beaten path but well worth the trip if riding the steam train and staying at the Parlor Car B&B. Bonsall is the town veterinarian and also volunteers as a docent on the train.

We loved staying at the Parlor Car B&B, and will stay here again.

Room Tip: The room in the middle of the price range is upstairs and faces the train depot, and has it's ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A warm and charming old home, great bed. Host and hostess are great people. We felt like we were at home. Staying here is a nice way to add to the atmosphere of riding the Cumbres and Toltec train. We will certainly stay here when we come back to ride the train and see the fall colors.
thanks to Wendy and Bonsall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very beautiful and hospitable Bed and Breakfast very Near the Cumbres & Toltec train. Everything was perfect about this B&B! Nothing was left unthought of by the owners. From digital TV and WiFi down to a custom breakfast I was very impressed with all the work and preparation in place. Thank you Wendy and Bonsall. We will be back again soon with friends.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but bday in your bathroom location and amenit ie jetted tub in one room, a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Creek
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The house was lovely and the owners went out of their way to make us welcome and comfortable. Location was great for the Cumbres and Toltec train. Bed was comfortable and food was delicious! Best coffee I have ever tasted! Owners offered advise on other areas that might be of interest. Local area was just charming. Nice restaurant at High Country.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Lovely historic house, comfortable bed, peaceful and quiet, responsive friendly owners/hosts, delicious cooked breakfast. We will plan to stay here again. Very convenient walk to cafes and shops, directly across the street from the train.

Room Tip: there is a steep staircase to the 2 second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZCoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed two days here. The owners are very friendly and go out of their way to fix a great breakfast. They has AC installed while we were there, so we slept even better our second night. They are right across from the Cumbres and Toltec train, so it is perfect for steam train lovers. Very comfortable bed and very clean. An excellent choice!

Room Tip: The Pullman room is great if you want to be awakened by the fresh smells of breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chama hotels
2.2 mi away
Chama River Bend Lodge
2.4 mi away
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
#3 of 8 in Chama
98 reviews
0.9 mi away
Branding Iron Motel
Branding Iron Motel
#6 of 8 in Chama
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gandy Dancer Inn Bed and Breakfast
1.9 mi away
El Meson Lodge
El Meson Lodge
#9 of 10 in Chama
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast
Address: 311 Terrace Ave., Chama, NM 87520
Location: United States > New Mexico > Chama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing