We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza, local beers on tap, friendly service”
Review of Lizard Grill

Lizard Grill
Ranked #5 of 10 Restaurants in Cedar Crest
Restaurant details
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, local beers on tap, friendly service”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is not a late night hangout, our group of four had a civilized couple of pizzas there, and a few beverages. The clientele is mostly locals from the area. This place - even though listed as Cedar Crest - could also be considered in Sandia Park. It is outside of Albuquerque, and close to the Sandia Crest Byway, nice for a lunch stop on your way up to the top of Sandia Peak, or a relaxing dinner after your return back down. The pizza was really good - thin crust, extremely tasty, definitely worth coming back for. The beer menu changes depending on which local microbrews are in season. This was not very crowded on a weeknight, and last food orders have to be in by 9pm. Nice wall decor throughout. Pizzas are named after snakes, the veggie one (Anaconda?) is highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank usuallyhappytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    16
    4
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edgewood, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome Beer Stop!!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great place to stop and have a pizza/sandwich/burger and enjoy some great micro-brews. Typically will have a band on weekend evenings. Great local "dive"!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank WeebsF16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Micro Brews and Pizza”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is one of our favorite places to stop after a day of hiking or skiing in the Sandias. This is a great bar first, with usually a dozen or so local microbrews on tap (all about $4 each, very reasonable), a pool table, foosball, darts, and several tvs. The best thing about this great, cozy, locals hangout is that they serve some amazing food. They have great pizza, apps and salads, all reasonably priced as well. Is this 5-star dinig? Of course not, but it's all very good and fresh. Service can be a bit slow, but it's usually because they run with only a few bartenders who also have to wait on all of the tables. Service is always friendly. Have some patience, kick back, and enjoy the atmosphere with a great beer.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cactuscafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandia Park, New Mexico, USA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Microwave Cooking”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This place is located very near my home and I would eat there often if they offered any food I would care to eat. The menu is very limited. I went there once with a friend and had trouble finding anything on the menu I wanted to eat. I suspect that everything is cooked with a microwave. The atmosphere is not awful but not charming. I won't waste my time or money stopping here again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank patrykachaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, NM
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Beer!”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Really good micro brewed beer. Small outdoor patio with great mountain views. Great pizza, calzones and salads. No burgers. Service is just OK, often slow. Don't go too close to closing time, they often run out of the good menu items. Also the closer to closing time the worse the service gets. Go in the afternoon.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank newmexjags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lizard Grill also viewed

 

Been to Lizard Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing