We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stumbled across this by accident” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valley of Fires Recreation Area

Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Carrizozo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stumbled across this by accident”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were heading home to Houston from Albuquerque and I decided I did not want to go through El Paso. The GPS took me across Route 380 and through some of the prettiest scenery I have found in New Mexico. Ended up stopping at the Valley of Fires Recreation Area to get a look at this phenomial lava out-cropping. We went into the gift shop and explored the camp ground there. Even though we are not campers, this facility is one that would make me consider taking it up. Shortly after leaving here we headed through the mountains to Ruidoso and then back tracked to Lincoln for some historic exploring of the Billy the Kid trail. There is so much that you can do from here in a short drive and so much to see. We will definitely make our way back here for further exploration.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    66
    12
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“MUST SEE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

BEAUTIFUL, unique landscape that has a wonderful tent camping/RV parking area (for a very nominal fee) great for exploring!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bachukles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cool Lava Flows”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

The park is beside the Malpais Lava Flow which erupted about 5,000 years ago. I would recommend the Nature Trail, it’s a ½ mile paved trail among the frozen lava fields and fully accessible. There are good signs explaining the geology and the local wildlife. The park is often very windy and this trail can get very hot, there is no shade on the trail! The bird watching can also be excellent at times. A small campground with shelters, tables and grills are available, also restrooms, drinking water and a visitor center.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DAW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fascinating phenomenon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

The small park is well featured and laid out for campers, though there is no shade. Routine visitors will more than get their money's worth, especially if they take the walking tour into the lava beds. Sure wish there was a more informative visitor center or museum, though, with more detailed info on what happened, when it happened, what we're looking at, and what the chances are of it happening again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lava Garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have visited a lava field before and were expecting miles of just black lava, but were amazed at all the plants growing here. This is a huge area and the easy path walkway around a small part of it was great fun. It was amazing to see how many beautiful flowering plants and trees are now growing in the lava.

There is no shade on this walk but the temperature was bearable in late May and made a very pleasant stroll for an hour.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ukflora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valley of Fires Recreation Area also viewed

 

Been to Valley of Fires Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing