We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a homestyle meal”

Smokey Bear Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Capitan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for a homestyle meal”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Pecan pancakes are wonderful, as is the fried catfish dinner. Prices are fair and the service is great. Friendly atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HOLLIEnJENN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    51
    17
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“In Capitan, Eat Here.”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I was told about this restaurant by the kind folks of Four Winds Motel in Carrizozo and was very glad I decided to stop off for breakfast. I ordered the Veggie Omelet with egg whites and coffee. My perfect breakfast meal. "The Outfitters" was filmed there in 1999, so there's some movie history for ya! Enjoy!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelerbycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just what the Doctor ordered...”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This place was just what we needed after our underwhelming couple of days eating in Carlsbad. Just delicious. Everyone was so friendly, everything was so delicious! Nothing beats a good, small town cafe. This place reminded me of growing up. It was like walking into the little cafe in my home town. I half expected to see my old boss flipping burgers through the window. Well done, Capitan.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennykw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We walked in for lunch on Easter Sunday minutes before an early closing for the holiday. No problem and no rush. Fantastic Easter ham meal with all the trimmings. Some of the best food I have eaten. Great, friendly service. Wish I was a local!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kbarofenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most delicious!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Every time I go to Capitan (even if I take only a shortcut up to Ruidoso), I make a point to visit Smokey Bear Restaurant! Their Taco-Salad is the best I have ever had - and that says a lot! Last week I tried the new Chickenfried Steak with Green Chile Sauce instead of gravy! Why didn't anybody else have that idea yet! Love, love, love! On top of that friendly family service - always a smile for you. And they have home-made pies! Tried the Pecan Pie - need I say more? ;)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PecosAreaGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokey Bear Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Smokey Bear Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing