We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Murals” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coronado Historic Site

Coronado Historic Site
Certificate of Excellence
Woodway, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Murals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stumbled on this State Monument and decided to pull in at the last minute. While the "ruins" are interesting, the stunner is the small museum with the kiva murals that are over 600 years old and were taken from a square kiva excavated in the Kuaua pueblo. These murals are considered the finest example of pre-contact (before Columbus) art to be found in the United States.

We understood that the actual ruins were buried after they had been excavated and studied and what is in place now is a faithful representation of what was found. The outside area, along the Rio Grande River, is lovely and there are picnic tables and restroom facilities as well as the obligatory gift shop. This is very definitely worth a few hours visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JillTraveler43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    50
    17
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
“Coronado State Monument”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

A great place to spend a couple of hours. The trails are easy to walk and markers tell the history of the monument.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Traveled to this place in order to see the famous kiva murals. Well, you can sort of look at them, but heaven help you if you make a sketch and obviously no photos allowed. Had to buy a pamphlet to get the story but there are no reproductions -- we heard the restorations are almost complete. Maybe that will help.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank R00catt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
525 reviews
336 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
“Ruins, paintings and RV park”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I were not impressed with the ruins at Coronado State Monument because they looked new and is small. There were many very interesting original paintings in the museum that were taken from a Kiva on the premises. It took about 30 minutes to see the ruins and paintings. Cost was $3 for adults. We stayed overnight at the Coronado State Monument RV park. The RV park was nice. The area we stayed in had water and electric at each site and the park was full by 2 pm on Friday. Cost was $20. There was a dump station. The north area was dry camping and no one camped there. Both bath houses were clean.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
213 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Kuaua Pueblo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a small but important site to visit should you be at the Hyatt Regency Tamaya. In the early 1300s Kuauans began building their multi-storied village of adobe. By 1500 over 1200 rooms connected together to form a pueblo. The preserved murals are a must see as well as Colonial artifacts exhibits. I found a cookbook that I could not resist in the gift shop, can't wait to try some of the recipes.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coronado Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Coronado Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing