We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unlucky for a reason”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Santa Ana Star Casino
Attraction details
new mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Unlucky for a reason”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Induced to go with a small group as hadn't been there for a while. Soon after entering, my wife and I queried a floor attendant as to the location of "hand pay" machines. She gave us a blank look. We explained we were interested in the slot machines that paid off amounts requiring the patron to receive an IRS 1099G receipt. Again she looked puzzled and stated they must be the $5 wager machines for high rollers. Other casinos in the area do have payouts occasionally for the one cent machines. BEWARE. Sad commentary.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank greenchilikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    27
    20
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springtown, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OK fun while in town”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Not to busy, bu ample play. Only one craps table, several Blackjack and TX hold'm. Black jack here has the "push bet" pays 10-1 which I liked and did quite well on.

Buffet your average stuff, but get it early, fresher and warmer. I got in late once and it wasn't what I expected for $13. Friday evening I was at the Buffet at opening, 4pm($21 on weekend) Was better, but for me not worth $21. Did see a few "folk" who apparently came for the $21 dollar all u can eat crab, seeing the over stuffed plates made me think "trailer park". (meant some of them where sloppy and should have been fed outside).LOL

Alcohol only served at the bar, coffee and soda,tea available at kiosk. Poker roo and one large area Smoke free for those that prefer that.,

No storage for you, means coats or anything else. General facilities very clean as where the bathrooms. Good security presence as you'd expect.

Was fun for a couple of evenings goofing off.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMARILLO
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Had a blast”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Had a great time. Very smokey though. Buffet not as good as it has been in the past. Selection was not what it used to be.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank rickdama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
737 reviews
210 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,292 helpful votes
“Nice Casino But Heavy Smoke”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We were staying at The Hyatt Tamaya which is next door and the casino provides a shuttle(provided in the resort fee at the hotel) It was handy as a thunderstorm was rolling in and we did not want to drive our own car.

The casino is a fair size with a good choice of slots. You do not get comp. cocktails but you can get soda, water, coffee, tea, etc. There is a cocktail lounge...actually more like a glass room with the doors shut and MANY people were smoking in there, so it was not an option for us. Too bad really. The entire casino has heavy smoke.

There is a buffet in the casino too. Staff was friendly. Spent about 2 hours this time. It was fun.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank HawaiiKaiGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Colorado
Level Contributor
286 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“We visit when we're in the area!”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

There are great restaurants in this casino and we also enjoy the bowling alley. We're in the area a couple of times each year and always visit and play the slots. It's a fun time!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank sanjuanmountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Ana Star Casino also viewed

 

Been to Santa Ana Star Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing