We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique spin on old favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Flying Star Cafe - CLOSED

Flying Star Cafe
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout
Description: At the crossroads of four communities (Bernalillo, Placitas, Northern Rio Rancho, and Algodones), the eighth Flying Star is a 7,500 sq ft restaurant with panoramic mountain views, a dining area fanned with street-opening windows, and a beautiful patio with fireplace. On-site baking of Flying Star’s signature homemade breads, handcrafted pastries, and artisanal cakes and pies, returns Flying Star to its original Nob Hill roots as a neighborhood bakery. Hours:Sun-Thurs 7:00am-9:00pmFri & Sat 7:00am-10:00pm
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
307 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Unique spin on old favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We've eaten here many times and really enjoy it. Breakfast and lunch are outstanding here, along with their coffee and deserts. The meals are prepared with a flair and slight New Mexican spin that adds character to things like breakfast sausage and egg dishes. Prices are higher than most but worth it. Nice atmosphere and fun place.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Edmundo_de_ABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    37
    10
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Placitas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad now even worse”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

This chain is not worth trying. The food is substandard, soggy buns for hamburgers and VERY expensive.

The quality of service has declined over several months with the focus clearly on squeezing every potential penny from each customer.

Go to The Range just down the street, you'll get much more food, better quality and taste for your money. The staff actually waits on you, too.

Save your time and money by avoiding Flying Star, go somewhere else!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
233 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Ask for the Senior Discount”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Most folks are not aware that the Flying Star location in Bernallilo only offers a senior discount (which I believe is age 60 and over). You must order a beverage with your entree, but you basically get the beverage for free after the discount.
There is plenty of free, off the street parking available. You place your order at the front counter, get a number and your beverage. You pick a table and a server brings your food when it has been prepared.
They recently revamped their menu items so I stopped in on a Sunday night for the Cobb salad. I was not disappointed as it had plenty of real chunks of chicken (not cut-up luncheon meat as some chains do). The house dressing was very light.
I skipped dessert but they do have many choices for those that have any room left for dessert.
As others have noted, the Flying Star is pricey so the senior discount helps. There is free Wifi and the atmosphere in the seating area is very pleasant. In the colder months, be sure to find a seat in front of the massive fireplace.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikejack52pe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
726 reviews
398 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Good Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

I have been 3 or 4 times coming to and from Santa Fe. The food is good. The service is friendly. The pecan pie on the last visit was great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alec D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Over priced food does not make it taste better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is not my first visit to this restaurant. While the first time I found it a refreshing divergence from the usual south western fare, it soon became a world of sameness all its' own. In addition, the prices were, to me, a little high for what you are getting. If I am going to spend that much money I will go so other restaurants in the area and spend less or still other places and get a lot more for a few dollars more.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Tapiaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Star Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing