We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice railroad information”

Belen Harvey House Museum
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Belen
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Socorro, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice railroad information”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I toured this museum after we ate at Pete's restaurant across the street. They have a nice 15 minute DVD movie about the history of the site and the Harvey House. While we were there a five engine BNSF freight train pulled out just on the east side of the museum.

The staff was informative and friendly. There is also a small gift shop selling railroad books and souvenirs. The Belen Model Railroad Club maintains a large working model train exhibit inside the Harvey House. The building was constructed in 1910 as a Harvey House.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank VLA-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    11
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Interesting if you have read about the history of the Harvey Houses and the Harvey Girls. The parking is not that great, it is in a strange part of Belen. there is a great place to eat across the street (Pete's Cafe). They have art exhibits sometimes. It's just an ok place..the attituides of the people who are there volunteering are kind of off putting. We kind of felt we were intruding when we were there. I suppose it is good for an hour of entertainment.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank vodaelixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masonville, CO
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Visit Harvey House for a Trip Back in Time”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a wonderful museum that will help you understand how important Belen was in the early development of railroad transportation in New Mexico. It not only walks you through the history of Harvey Houses around the country but also the enormous impact of the rail roads. Don't miss the Harvey House Museum!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Harvey Girls at railroad museum”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Very well kept museum & person tending to the museum was very helpful with answering questions. Very interesting step back in history. Most people now never heard of the Harvey Girls. My husband visited here on his lunch break during a business trip. He wants to go back to learn more. Fascinating stories & place.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Charming visit to the past”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This Harvey House museum once had fine dining and a fully staffed cafe. The trains still go by as you watch the miniature trains inside and view the museum first and second floors. They are still changing and adding the exhibits. It's a nice quiet place to browse the past in this small quaint town and it's great to hear the creaking floors and staircase. The only thing is the upstairs rooms are roped off so I would have liked to been able to get closer to read everything. The museum staff were pleasant and helpful. She was even an extra in one of many films made there.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Angell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belen Harvey House Museum also viewed

 

Been to Belen Harvey House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing