We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first time here, satisfied, would go back”
Review of Aldo's of Wyckoff

Aldo's of Wyckoff
Ranked #11 of 38 Restaurants in Wyckoff
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
227 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“first time here, satisfied, would go back”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

First time dining at Aldo’s in Wyckoff. Tried going to Rosario’s in Midland Park but the wait was 45 minutes at 6.00 pm on a Saturday night…. Not bad there but not worth that long a wait. We drove up to Wyckoff only 5 minutes away and the valet told us no wait so we went in for dinner.

Big, big plus is that they have a liquor license with some fabulous (and expensive) selections, but no problem with BYOB. The server, Letizia, spoke to me in a Sicilian dialect and that was so much fun. Yes, I do speak and understand the dialect. Every entrée comes with an excellent and large side salad. The rolls were quite good. Susie ordered the pasta special, penne with lobster meat, broccoli and mushrooms and I ordered the sausage giambotta. My dish include five, yes five large sausages with onions and peppers in a delicious red sauce. Too much and ate only two. Dinner tonight at home! Susie’s pasta special was also excellent, with not a lot of lobster but who could complain at $22 for a plate that could easily feed two or three people. Total bill inc tax and tip, $55… thought it was an excellent deal.

We walked into the wine bar after dinner and looked at the multi-wine dispenser machine where you can order a 1oz, 3oz or glass of wine using a wine card that can be purchased and preloaded with cash. If you like the wine, buy the bottle. It’s a great idea. Bottom line is that we liked Aldo’s and indeed it was very crowded, but we would definitely go back on a weekday night. Bravo Aldo!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank alfnot1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    13
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stony Point, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Downhill....”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

So disappointed! Have gone to the old location on several occasions and even had my mother's 70th birthday party there. First time at new location. Beautiful decor and ambiance but the food was not as good as I remember. Let's start with the hot antipasto. The stuffed mushrooms tasted like they had been prepared a week ago and the baked clams had all filling and a small dried out piece of clam. Both were rather tasteless. The mussels were burnt and so was the shrimp. My
sole francaise was in a pinkish colored sauce. Very strange and not what I expected or remembered. I don't know if I would return again as the expense is not comparable to the quality of the food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah
Level Contributor
82 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food but long wait!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We went to Aldo's last night. We had made a reservation for 7pm. We got arrived at 6:45 and we were told our table wasn't ready so we went to the bar. At 7:30 one of the people from our party went to the hostess and was told the people were paying and our table would be ready soon. We noticed that the host kept getting people from the bar and seating them. Many of these people had come in much after our group. At 7:45 we decided to bring our entire group to the front of the restaurant and wait for our table. We were then seated aproximately 5 minutes later. The food is great. The service is great. But, a reservation means absolutely nothing to the staff at Aldo's. If they could not accomodate our reservation they should not have taken our reservation. We have called other restaurants and have been told there are no tables at that time and we appreciate their honesty. We simply call again. There are too many great restaurants in our area to stand and wait for a table at Aldo's. Sorry not worth the wait!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonnaJeanNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Finally reopened”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Was at Aldo's once for dinner and again for lunch. Aldo personally greeted us. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The swordfish genovase is soo good, and the minestrone soup and Sicilian salad are excellent lunch choices. The new pizza bar has so many choices. Bravo to Aldo and his staff.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valentine209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franklin lakes nj
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food WHEN you can get a table”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Way to crowded. Good food WHEN you can get a table. Always a crowd, bar chairs are so crowded you can not even get in the bar. Seating was poorly planned. I have moved on.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank renFranklinLakesNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aldo's of Wyckoff also viewed

 

Been to Aldo's of Wyckoff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing