We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Aldo's of Wyckoff

Aldo's of Wyckoff
Ranked #11 of 38 Restaurants in Wyckoff
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edgewater, Maryland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner with my parents and sister with high expectations based on reviews and reputation. The service was ok but without exception all four appetizers and all four entree were, in a word, awful. Improperly shucked clams on the half shell with no flavor, tasteless salads, mussels totally overpowered with far too much garlic, bland bread, the seafood combo presentation was terrible, and you couldn't distinguish the flavor of the overcooked scallops from the poorly breaded mushy tilapia from the under seasoned shrimp. Pork chops were over cooked and dry. Both Veal dishes were described as "cookie cutter" and the leftovers left behind. Worst part was the insanely expensive check which even for NJ was ridiculous. We left very unhappy and hungry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TopCat390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    18
    13
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Didn't miss a beat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The new restaurant is beautiful but the food was great. The service, like in the previous location is excellent. We all agreed our meals were perfect.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cody2465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Soft opening?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Aldo's was busy as it returns but it is not finished and neither is the food or service. Fair at best

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chico m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldwick, NJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great food- superb service- and even though it has a full bar and wine cellar, you can bring your own wine with no corkage fee.
However, if you wish it's wines, see Maria, the Sommelier - she's terrific.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank silverfox1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level Contributor
260 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Aldo's opened with a soft menu. They renovated the restaurant and it looks stunning. The restaurant can hold private dinners without interrupting other guests due to different rooms. The menu was limited due to soft opening menu. The food was great, the service was great and we had a good evening. We tried the gnocchi and the penne arabiata which was delicious. We will return here again in a few weeks to try the full menu.

They have a great bar and wine section too. Outdoor seating. Reservations are only accepted for party of 6 and more. I am not to crazy about this.

(I believe Aldo's was located somewhere else in before they moved to this new location).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GregLynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aldo's of Wyckoff also viewed

 

Been to Aldo's of Wyckoff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing