We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food with reasonable prices”
Review of Sakura

Sakura
Ranked #6 of 38 Restaurants in Wyckoff
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are so lucky that Sakura's is in our our hometown. We used to travel about 15 minutes to other Japanese restaurants until one day about a year ago our son tried out Sakura's and recommended we do the same. It's been one of our favorite spots ever since. Their reputation for excellent Japanese food is spreading like wildfire. Every time we go now; there's usually a short wait; especially on the weekends. Sakura's is a BYOB which makes it even more attractive and their food is superior quality. Trust me - it's worth the wait!!! Sushi portions are very generous with thick cuts of sushi and sashimi. They have plenty of specialty rolls and dinner boxes at lunch and dinner. Some of my friends aren't into sushi; but we got them to try out some other dishes like stir fry terriyaki's; tempura; etc. and now many of them are hooked on this local eatery as well. Nicely decorated; pleasant staff and very reasonably priced for the quality and portions you receive. All dinners come with miso soup and a salad with ginger dressing. And if you like soup and noodles; they make they best Nabe Yaki Udon I've ever had. They also do a lot of take-out and have delivery service as well. If you live in this area; make sure you try Sakura's; even if you don't like sushi!!!
Franklin Lakes
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good food with reasonable prices”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Have eaten in Sakura and have had take-out and can say that the food is above average for New Jersey (can't compare with Japanese in NYC, however). Sushi is good, appetizers are good, nothing is incredible however, but they make some tasty food. My girlfriend and I really love their avocado salad with ginger dressing and their vegetable gyoza. I would definitely go again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doofrevol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Love the sushi and all the dishes at this place. Their fried rice is amazing.

Helpful?
Thank Busybee3465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, Ny
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

This place is a gem. The sushi is ultra-fresh and well -prepared. The cooked food is also good. The owners and staff are also wonderful, always on-site and making sure that standards remain high.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sgh956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Boxed Lunches!!”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We live locally and work in Wyckoff, and we frequent here for their amazing boxed lunches!! Sushi Roll, (Steak, Chicken, Negimaki or Salmon) Rice, Salad, soup, etc.... they are unbeliveable! Great price too!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Print_Whiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“So glad to have Sakura's in our hometown!”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We used to travel about 30 min. plus to find good sushi. A few years ago Sakura's opened up in Wyckoff. I was hesitant to try it out but my son went with his girlfriend and brought home a menu. He kept telling me to give it a try and one day we did. Sorry we didn't try it sooner. Haven't gone anywhere else for sushi since!!! Service is excellent. Food is fresh and delicious and generous portions. They do not skimp!!! With dinner you get miso soup; salad with their own yummy ginger dressing and your entree. This is a BYOB. We've been here many times and have returned as a couple; with family and with friends. Everyone loves Sakura's!!!! Not only is their sushi fantastic; so are their other dishes. We've had their box dinners; Udon soups; some appetizers as well; and everything is excellent. So give it a try. Expect a wait on weekends; but it's well worth the wait.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RKNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura also viewed

 

Been to Sakura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing