We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit For Purpose”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punakha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Meri Punesum Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Punakha B&B and Inns
KualaLumpur
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fit For Purpose”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

First of all I will recommend all the Bhutan travelers to visit Punakha. This place is little less popular as compared to Thimpu and Paro, but Punakha is heaven . The dzong is awesome , the views are breathtaking .There is no sound accept the sound of the flowing river. I stayed in this hotel around a year back . From our room , we did not get the view of the dzong but we got the view of the river. It was very serene and you don’t get any sound except the sound of the nature. The room was clean, food was okay and people served us with a smile in their face. I wasn’t looking for anything more at that cost.

Room Tip: Good value for Money. The place to be if you are looking for serenity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atalanta_kar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    159
    105
    14
    5
See reviews for
72
147
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

The food was nice. The gazebo outside was a nice touch. The availability of wifi was very welcome. There were many flies dead and alive in the room. The towels were not very clean. Rooms could've been cleaner though. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The location on top of the mountain was nice with a beautiful view

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Khatulistiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

With nothing much to do in punakha this is a great place to stay. Good sized rooms with clean toilets. Food is good. The outdoor sitting has free wifi and is an amazing place to unwind. Due to lower altitude and surrounding greenery mosquitoes are abound.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamanumenorean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Nice resort on a hilltop. Not much option in Punakha, this is the best . It is run by a family it has small cottages with huge rooms, big clean bathrooms and an excellent view of punakha valley. their food is quite nice. They have a beautiful sitting area in the front of the hotel. They also give a huge discount to those who book them directly without the tour operators. I would surely like to visit again

Room Tip: Meri delux rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharmila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel just for 1 night. Our room is deluxe twin bed room and we got a very wonderful nature view though the window. There is no wifi in the room. The wifi is only available at the rest area near the coutyard. I shoud have bring the mosquito repel. I got so many mosquito bites on my legs when I was using wifi at the rest area. The dinner and the breakfast are just so so, but here is Punakha, so it can be understandable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Odysseyprivatetours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This resort is located right at the top of hill and covers a nice view of the valley. We stayed 2 in this resort at different dates. Some of the rooms are very large and nice and some are very small. The room amenities have a decent coverage. The smaller rooms were really small and one could feel a bit cramped. All the room are a different levels hence if you have elderly people travelling along there might be quite a few steps to climb depending on room. WIFI is freely available but only in the common areas. Restaurant is good and they serve decent food and good breakfast. The view from the rooms is very good and covers the whole valley

Room Tip: Rooms higher from the reception have good view. Lower in the valley have depleting view. The farther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyager1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is our first hotel out of Thimphu, at Punakha, for our 7-days Essential Bhutan Tour (23 April, 3rd night). Not much of service here! Our tour guide did the check-in for us, and we left immediately for our afternoon tour to Punakha Dzong. We stay at Room No.121, which is almost the end of the resort! The resort have a pleasant surround, with lot of pretty flowers!

Room size is satisfactory. Ours came with 2 single beds. Mattress was nice and firm, with 2 pillows each. Study act as TV stand, with an old 20 inch CRT TV. Do have BBC news but we have no time to watch. Small closet, certainly not for unpacking!

Toilet is small and crammed, with dimmed lighting. There was a loose power point with hair dryer, which was quite closed to the shower! I thought that was kind of dangerous! Just remember to pull the shower curtain to prevent splashing. Water heater also took ages to heat up.

Dinner was buffet style while breakfast was table service. Adequate and serviceable.

Wi-Fi connection only available at front of the resort around the reception area. Open network, no password required. Connection was intermittent or slow at 35 Kbps. Able to Facebook a little, and uploaded a few pictures. It was totally out the following morning.

I consider it the worst hotel throughout our trip! Since it's just for 1 night (we check-out pretty early the next day), we can bear with it! Definitely NOT another day!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Allan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakha
0.3 mi away
Dhensa Boutique Resort
Dhensa Boutique Resort
#2 of 4 in Punakha
167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Damchen Resort
Damchen Resort
#3 of 4 in Punakha
206 reviews
3.3 mi away
Punatsangchhu Cottages
Punatsangchhu Cottages
#2 of 3 in Wangdue
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Hotel Norbuling
Hotel Norbuling
#4 of 36 in Thimphu
316 reviews
16.0 mi away
Peaceful Resort
Peaceful Resort
#14 of 36 in Thimphu
215 reviews
14.9 mi away
Osel
Osel
#6 of 36 in Thimphu
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meri Punesum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meri Punesum Resort

Property: Meri Punesum Resort
Address: Punakha, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Punakha District > Punakha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Punakha
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Meri Punsum Hotel Punakha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing