We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of COMO Uma Punakha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
COMO Uma Punakha
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Punakha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2013

A lovely small hotel, just like a lodge, with a great view of the valley.
Great ambience and super food. Super personalised and fast service. Great view of the valley from every nook and corner of the hotel.
Choice of breakfast for vegetarians was a challenge

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jchitlangia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at COMO Uma Punakha, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Jchitlangia,
Firstly, I would like to thank you for the kind correspondence you penned upon your departure to all of us at Uma by COMO, Punakha. Thank you also for joining Trip Advisor and for making Uma in your review.

I'm very happy to know that the time you spent with us was so memorable and you have enjoy every services in Uma Punakha even you mention that super personalize and fast service and I apologies that your had challenged on vegetarian option for breakfast, the organizer of your functions decide to go with Uma menu but we do special meals upon request .
The entire Uma team joins me in saying that we cannot wait to welcome you back.

With warmest regards and Tashi Delek.
Thamu Krishnan
Lodge Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 259 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2013

Great small new hotel. Very peaceful setting. Room was great, small but pleasant sitting area overlooking the Punakha river through a wall of windows. Great modern bathroom. It would be worth using the hotel for 2 nights as a base to travel but it's location more typically would be used for one night. The service was great and food very good but limited to one of two set menues for dinner. Great choices for breakfast. The main building has a fantastic view of the valley, wonderful place to sit, relax and enjoy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtraveler34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at COMO Uma Punakha, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear worldtraveler34,
Greetings from Bhutan, Land of thunder dragon.
Thank you for taking the time to share those wonderful comments on your recent stay with us. I am surely glad to hear your holiday was memorable and that each and every one of our team members meets your service expectations.
I am also pleased that you are recommending other guest to stay two nights instead of one in Uma by COMO, Punakha.
Your comments and words of encouragement will inspire us to continue our effort for service excellence. Thank you again for your patronage Uma Punakha.
Best regards and Tashi Delek.
Thamu Krishnan
Lodge manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Just returned from our trip in Bhutan. The Oma in Pinaka was our first hotel in the country: what a blast! The staff was Very helpful.. the general manager introduced himself immediately and told us how to contact him should we need anything...very nice but completely unnecessary as the place is fantastic. I managed to include two nights there in our normal tour package by swapping down some other hotels, and it was worth it. Location to die for, rooms were 5 star for real, fastest wifi I think I've ever had, food was excellent...what else can I say? You get what you pay for! If you're even THINKING about staying here, just do it..you will not be sorry.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank PKChang8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at COMO Uma Punakha, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear P K,
Greetings from Hidden Paradise, Punakha Valley
Many thanks indeed for your comments following your recent stay with us in Uma by COMO, Punakha.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and thank you for your recommendation. I am particularly pleased to hear your comments that you rated, Uma By COMO, Punakha “Five star room, excellent cuisine and fastest WIFI and very helpful staff.

Looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit. Do stay in contact if I can be of any help

Warmest regards and Tashi Delek.
Thamu Krishnan
Lodge Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were absolutely floored by the beauty of this amazing place in Bhutan. The hotel is amazing, the views breathtaking and the staff so attentive but not intrusive. The location is so peaceful and inviting to explore. The deck of the hotel looks out on the valley below. they had a really nice wine selection and dinner was excellent. There were many choices from local Bhutanese cuisine to steaks, etc. We had a corner deluxe room with drop dead gorgeous views. We wish we would have had more time here. If we can, we could spend a week just in this area.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at COMO Uma Punakha, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Sue J
Greeting form Punakha Valley, Bhutan
It's such a pleasure to read your kind and generous review of Uma by COMO, Punakha. We hope your time in Bhutan, and then your long journey home was easy and complication free.

We appreciate your taking the time to write about your experience at Uma by COMO, Punakha and for acknowledging that view from your room was gorgeous , attentive staff ,fine Bhutanese ,western cuisine and wine.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit and stay longer . Do stay in contact if I can be of any help.

With warmest regards and Tashi Delek,
Thamu Krishnan
Lodge Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Very calming, relaxing and tranquil. Service unbelievably attentive - asked for additional bottled water for room – delivered in minutes. Had very good Bhutanese dinner. Wines were good. Offers turn-down service. Small shower. Free Wi-Fi. Rooms small but attractive/adequate. Our “deluxe” room was #8 and had a nice, but small, deck. Our view looked over terraced fields. It opened in September 2012.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at COMO Uma Punakha, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear Ted B
Firstly, I would like to thank you for the kind correspondence you penned upon your departure to all of us at Uma by COMO, Punakha. Thank you also for joining Trip Advisor and for making Uma in your review.

I'm very happy to know that the time you spent with us was so memorable and you have enjoy the unbelievable attentive service, wine and good Bhutanese dinner
I apologized that you experience that your deluxe room is small with balcony , we do have COMO villa and single villa hope you can booked villa in your future visit .
The entire Uma team joins me in saying that we cannot wait to welcome you back.

With warmest regards and Tashi Delek.
Thamu Krishnan
Lodge Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Uma Hotel in Punaka is a delightful surprise in every respect - the location is unique and outstanding, the architecture is modern and local at the same time, the rooms are spacious and open up to the fantastic landscape in full privacy, and the staff are all very friendly, helpful and natural in their ways. Usually one would expect this level of service, luxury and sophistication in a more affluent setting; so considering that the hotel is in Bhutan, a low-middle income country with all sorts of socio-economic struggles, this place deserves all praise and is well worth the hefty surcharge to the usual daily tourist rates. A great introduction to UMA's hotel brand!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hbdutytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at COMO Uma Punakha, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear HBDutytravel,
Greetings from Bhutan, Land of thunder dragon.
Thank you for taking the time to share those wonderful comments on your recent stay with us. I am surely glad to hear your holiday was memorable and that each and every one of our team members meets your service expectations.
I am also pleased that you are recommending to other guest that Uma is great brand, great service , luxury and sophistication
Your comments and words of encouragement will inspire us to continue our effort for service excellence. Thank you again for your patronage Uma Punakha.
Best regards and Tashi Delek.
Thamu Krishnan
Lodge manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is quite possibly one of the world's best hotels......not a "grand hotel" in the traditional sense but a marvellous place to spend a few days.
Up a quiet valley with snow covered mountains in the distance...interesting history nearby, and lovely walks around (go over the little suspension bridge).
The rooms are just everything you would wish for. The staff are delightful...and speak excellent English.
The food is good....wholesome..not fancy..
You will wish like us,that you had chosen to spend a few more days!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kattyukres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at COMO Uma Punakha, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear kattyukres,
Greeting from Punakha Valley
Many thanks indeed for your comments following your recent stay with us in Uma Punakha. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and thank you for your recommendation. I am particularly pleased to hear your comments that you rated, Uma by COMO, Punakha “ONE OF THE WORLD’S BEST HOTEL and as well as the food and friendly staff

Looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit. Do stay in contact if I can be of any help

Warmest regards and Tashi Delek.
Thamu Krishnan
Lodge Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakha
7.9 mi away
Dhensa Boutique Resort
Dhensa Boutique Resort
#2 of 4 in Punakha
193 reviews
14.8 mi away
Taj Tashi
Taj Tashi
#3 of 38 in Thimphu
722 reviews
15.1 mi away
Le Meridien Thimphu
Le Meridien Thimphu
#1 of 38 in Thimphu
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Damchen Resort
Damchen Resort
#3 of 4 in Punakha
215 reviews
17.5 mi away
Terma Linca Resort & Spa
15.1 mi away
Hotel Norbuling
Hotel Norbuling
#4 of 38 in Thimphu
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Uma Punakha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Uma Punakha

Address: Botokha Kabesa, Punakha 13001, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Punakha District > Punakha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Punakha
Price Range: $876 - $889 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Uma Punakha 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Uma Punakha is our second hotel in Bhutan after COMO Uma Paro. Positioned on a river bend in the Punakha Valley - one of Bhutan's key destinations - COMO Uma Punakha delivers soul-stirring views from its eight light-filled rooms. Two villas - an intimate one-bedroom villa and a family-friendly two-bedroom COMO Villa - provide more luxury in the wilderness, alongside our restaurant and COMO Shambhala spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BhutanBookings so you can book your COMO Uma Punakha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing