We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Punakha”
Review of COMO Uma Punakha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
COMO Uma Punakha
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Punakha
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise in Punakha”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

A gorgeous,new,wonderfully well run hotel. Excellent food. Nice sized clean rooms with amazing views. Ask for a room with a balcony and order room service breakfast! This is a way to see the real Bhutan and, by a simple stroll to run into real people who will be excited to see and welcome visitors. GO TO THIS PLACE!

Room Tip: Get a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at COMO Uma Punakha, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Bert D,
Kuzu Zangpo La,
Greeting from Land of Thunder Dragon, Bhutan!
Thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your wonderful experience on your recent stay in Uma Punakha in TripAdvisor
We are so glad to hear that you have enjoy the accommodation on the balcony room, services and cuisine especially room service in Uma Punakha and appreciated your great compliments on our luxury Uma Punakha.
I like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and looking forward for your next visit.
Tashi Delek,
Best regards,
Thamu
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
138
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Decided for a lunch at Uma Punakha with my family .We arrived and was greeted by staffs with a smile .The dinning was with simple decor with an amazing view of the paddy fields and nearby villages .The service was prompt ,staffs were eager to serve and provide the best of service .I was particularly impressed with Tara who showed us around the property and made us feel welcomed and left us good memories of what a star property should be like .Thankyou & it's definite I would be going back for some more fine dinning.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhup2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at COMO Uma Punakha, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Dhup2013,
Kuzu Zangpo La,
Greeting from Land of Thunder Dragon, Bhutan!
Thank you choosing our Bhukari Restaurant to have lunch and sharing your recent experience in TripAdvisor
We are so glad to hear that you have enjoy the cuisine especially lunch in our Bhukari restaurant and the services in particular by Tara at Uma Punakha and we appreciated your great compliments on our luxury Uma Punakha
I like to take this opportunity to thank you for patronize our Bhukari Restaurant and looking forward for your next visit.
Tashi Delek,
Best regards,
Thamu
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We arrived at Uma Punakha after one day at Uma Paro. The staff at Uma paro were all excited about the new hotel. We raised our expectations and were not disappointed.

The hotel is a little oasis on a beautiful bend in the Mother river. The lobby has a stunning view, but they save the best views for your room.

We had some downtime one afternoon so I found a corner in the lobby to have some coffee. Lovely house made cookies were served with it. These little details accompanied everything at the hotel. The staff was genuine, friendly and attentive. The food at the restaurant was outstanding (if the Bhutanese porridge is on the breakfast menu try it, yum!)

Have you ever had a view of the Himalayas while you shower? I have now... it was like the whole thing was a bit of a dream.

The manager spoke with us several times and gave us some tips for things to do and see and made sure we were satisfied with everything. Super friendly and accommodating.

My one quibble, and it is more funny than serious, that bathroom door is so confusing, the staff should probably show you how to use it when you check in....silly but true.... It takes two hands to open the door!

We stayed 2 nights, I really wish we had stayed 3 (or 4). Uma is not cheap by any means, but this one stay that felt like a really good value.

Room Tip: There are only about 10 rooms... I can't imagine there is a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at COMO Uma Punakha, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear mdande,
Kuzu Zangpo La,
Greeting from Land of Thunder Dragon, Bhutan!
Thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your wonderful experience on your recent stay in Uma Punakha in TripAdvisor
We are so glad to hear that you have enjoy the accommodation, services and cuisine especially rated as outstanding in Uma Punakha and appreciated your great compliments on our luxury Uma Punakha
Thank you for the advice on the door knob, we are aware and in progress of improved
I like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and looking forward for your next visit.
Tashi Delek,
Best regards,
Thamu
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Had a lot of expectations going to Uma and it was not a disappointment at all. The location is remote although you have the luxury of the great scenic views in the mountains. If you are a big fan of photography, you will need to take a stroll down in the morning from the drive way up to the hotel.

We were overwhelmed by the hospitality and service by the staffs. The hotel manager would come around to chit chat and obtain comment from us at breakfast and dinner time where we felt that they do care about their customers.

When you have had a few Bhutanese dinners and looking for something western, the hotel restaurant will not let you down as well! The breakfast and dinner were fantastic and their menu will change everyday for better selection.

In terms of the room and facilities, the room was a little smaller than expected. We had a ground floor room with balcony which was great for a cup of coffee outdoor. My other friends had an upper room with bigger room size but no balcony. The place is perfect for yoga although they don't have any studio in place. Lastly, the WIFI speed was quite good as generally, the speed was quite slow elsewhere in Bhutan.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at COMO Uma Punakha, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Winnie L,
Kuzu Zangpo La,
Greeting from Land of Thunder Dragon, Bhutan!
Thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your wonderful experience on your recent stay in Uma Punakha in TripAdvisor
We are so glad to hear that you have enjoy the Room, Wi-Fi and Cuisine especially, breakfast in Uma Punakha and appreciated your great compliments on our luxury Uma Punakha
I like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and looking forward for your next visit.
Tashi Delek,
Best regards,
Thamu
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Some years ago my husband red about Bhutan for the first time and decided that, sooner or later, we should have gone there. Actually we did it this year, at the end of March, and we definitely fell in love with this incredible country: a pristine nature, gentle and kind people, majestic Dzongs and monasteries, gorgeously decorated temples, chanting and praying monks, sacred festivals with beautiful women dressed in amazing colourful Kira dresses and, above all, a peaceful and magic atmosphere…
We stayed one week and we chose Uma by Como since we know Como's style from Como Shambala in Bali and we like it very much. The choice has revealed to be the perfect one. Both in Paro and Punaka locations the staff is gentle, kind and supportive, the flavoured organic food- made by Balinese chefs – excellent, and Como Shambala spa....absolutely first class. Try the hot stone bath….it’s fantastic. Uma offers different packages but they can tailor-made them accordingly to your wish.
From our arrival up to our departure we were accompanied and looked after by two very nice and clever Buthanese guys, as guide and driver. They were so proud of their culture and so in love with their country that they succeeded in letting us understand both much better. We are really grateful to them for this and we will always remember them with great respect and affection.
Uma Punaka is a brand new cosy design resort perched on a hill in a tropical valley. Rooms have an absolutely amazing view and you can have an excellent dinner on the terrace, warmed up by a nice fire, while enjoying the Himalayas' night….
Uma Paro is a beautiful Bhutanese style building in an amazing position overlooking Paro valley . Ask for a room at second or third floor…the view is spectacular! The round-shaped restaurant is excellent and, by the way, a favourite choice of the Royal Bhutanese family who, by chance, come there for lunch during our staying. Uma Paro is a peaceful, charming hotel, absolutely comfortable but don t' wait for things like lifts or central heating... Up to 60 years ago Bhutan was absolutely untouched by western culture and way of life...and this is one of the reason to go there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at COMO Uma Punakha, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Emma1954,
Kuzu Zangpo La,
Greetings from Land of Thunder Dragon, Bhutan!
Thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your wonderful experience on your recent stay in Uma Punakha in TripAdvisor
We are so glad to hear that you have enjoy every Services and Cuisine in Uma Punakha and Paro and appreciated your great compliments on our luxury Uma Punakha
I like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and looking forward for your next visit.
Tashi Delek,
Best regards,
Thamu
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hotel is an excellent location with great views across the valley. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. When we experienced a continuous slight humming noise in our room, the manager offered us a villa when they could not quickly take care of the problem. The staff were very efficient in moving us to the villa, including plugging our devices into the lead extension available in all the rooms.
Breafast in our room was great, including views of snow capped peaks. Service in the restaurant was friendly. The food was quality wise probably the best we had in Bhutan.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hendrik549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at COMO Uma Punakha, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Hendrik549,
Kuzu zangpo la !
Greeting from Land of Thunder Dragon, Bhutan!
Thank you for taking your time and sharing the experience on your recent stayed in Uma Punakha our luxury Lodge in TripAdvisor
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food, service and the accommodation very much as well rated Uma Punakha had the best cuisine in Bhutan.
I like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and looking forward for your next visit.
Tashi Delek,
Best Regards,
Thamu
Lodge Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The arrival was different.

Driving on winding road along the valley of Mo Chhu river, through a so called 'cowboy' town, an empty rice terrace with nomadic mountain people tents and their herds, a port holed road section and over the narrow bridge, up the earthen slopes there sits high Uma Punakha.

The low ochre architecture of flared roof, its wooden cornices and two large wooden doors is understated. The hospitality continued, a smiling young man in the same color gho came out greeting my name. These doors open into a minimal courtyard looking at the well proportioned and symmetrical main building with the two storey guest rooms blocks on one side, in between the majestic mountains loom. Take in your breath.

There was standing this good looking smiling woman in blue blouse white collared and cuffed plus the signature earth red, blue and gold yellow striped kira. I was wowed upfront and beyond by the living room space. Framed by all wooden interiors plus the complementing orange, white and dark wood furniture, the view through two storey height windows was just beckoning. We quickly went out for the welcoming spice tea at this large slate terrace. It was just so breathtaking, the majestic mountains and light blue sky seemed so near, and I was totally mesmerized by everywhere I looked. I could imagine how more beautiful it would be in Spring and Summer where the rice terraces would be green and lush. Afterwards and the next day I returned sitting at this terrace for more and more views, at the same time enjoying the ever delicious pomegranates juice and cashew nuts.

The villa is half the size of the one at Uma Paro. The furnishing is more on the rustic side and the one I stayed has no bukhari in the living area but it has substantial terrace with earthen bukhari looking at the winding river and the mountains beyond.

Everyone was so welcoming and attentive. They were always there but at the same time leaving myself with my own thoughts. When the evening came, all the earthen bukhari fire places were burning, the food was satisfying and interesting dining by the brown wall with white lined druk artwork or outside on the terraces, it was indeed a beautiful place to stay. I did wish that I had more nights to enjoy at Uma Punakha.

Room Tip: The guest rooms on the upper floors off the courtyard may have higher views than the villa I stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at COMO Uma Punakha, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear woodbeam,
Greetings from Punakha valley , Bhutan

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience on your recent stay in Uma Punakha on TripAdvisor
We are so glad to hear that you have enjoy every services in Uma Punakha and appreciated your great compliments on our luxury Uma Punakha
I like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and looking forward for your next visit.
Best regards,
Thamu
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakha
7.9 mi away
Dhensa Boutique Resort
Dhensa Boutique Resort
#2 of 4 in Punakha
167 reviews
14.8 mi away
Taj Tashi
Taj Tashi
#3 of 36 in Thimphu
691 reviews
15.1 mi away
Le Meridien Thimphu
Le Meridien Thimphu
#1 of 36 in Thimphu
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Hotel Thimphu Towers
Hotel Thimphu Towers
#2 of 36 in Thimphu
249 reviews
7.4 mi away
Damchen Resort
Damchen Resort
#3 of 4 in Punakha
206 reviews
15.0 mi away
Osel
Osel
#6 of 36 in Thimphu
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Uma Punakha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Uma Punakha

Property: COMO Uma Punakha
Address: Botokha Kabesa, Punakha 13001, Bhutan
Phone Number:
Location: Bhutan > Punakha District > Punakha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Punakha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Uma Punakha 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Uma Punakha is our second hotel in Bhutan after COMO Uma Paro. Positioned on a river bend in the Punakha Valley - one of Bhutan's key destinations - COMO Uma Punakha delivers soul-stirring views from its eight light-filled rooms. Two villas - an intimate one-bedroom villa and a family-friendly two-bedroom COMO Villa - provide more luxury in the wilderness, alongside our restaurant and COMO Shambhala spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BhutanBookings so you can book your COMO Uma Punakha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing