We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing - A Totally Unique Experience”
Review of COMO Uma Punakha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
COMO Uma Punakha
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Punakha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed as part of a trip set up through the Uma hotels. They got us a guide and a driver who were both really great guys, and they provided a nice new Hyundai SUV (which we appreciated on some of the rougher roads outside of the Thimpu / Paro valley. This hotel was only about 8 months old , but it was exquisite. After about a four hour drive over a 10,000+ foot pass with absolutely amazing views of the Bhutanese Himalayas (Note, winter is golder and drier, but it is clear and provides the best views), we arrived to this stunning hotel with only 11 rooms (they have zoning approval to build more. The hotel is located outside of Punakha on a road into a national park, and it is up on a hill side where every room has amazing views up a river and into the park and Himalayas.

I cannot imagine the logistical challenge of keeping this place running and supplied, but the hotel does it very well. Breakfast is a la carte and really good. We never made it to lunch because we were out and about, but dinner is a la carte and really good. The manager told us the chef is Balinese, and she does a great job. Usually there are three options for main courses and a couple of really good deserts to boot. Other little luxuries include cafe lattes upon request, a great main sitting room, and fast WiFi throughout.

Rooms were modern and well-appointed in light woods. Bed was comfortable and flat screen TVs carried satellite TV from around the world, and there was plenty of hot water in the shower. Combined with the amazing view, I couldn't ask for more from a hotel room. From the hotel you can walk through villages on the mountainside, or walk about 30 min across the river to a very new and intricate temple. I would absolutely go back again any time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 451MSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at COMO Uma Punakha, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear 451MSH

Greetings from Bhutan!

Thank you for recommending the TripAdvisor community about your recent stay with us at Uma Punakha. We appreciate all the praise about our new luxury resort in the Punakha Valley.Glad to hear that you have enjoyed the food especially breakfast ,dinner and all the services .I like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and hope you will be able to come visit us again soon.

Best regards,
Thamu
Lodge Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for COMO Uma Punakha
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 252 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel has amazing location, views from the terraces are really impresive, besides it is decorated with attention to detail and good taste. The food is really good, high fine cuisine, friendly service, in conclusion, a quiet hotel to stay for resting after few days of trekking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KapitanTomAte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at COMO Uma Punakha, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear Valle c,

Greetings from Bhutan!

Thank you for recommending the TripAdvisor community about your recent stay with us at Uma Punakha. We appreciate all the praise about our new luxury resort in the Punakha Valley.Glad to hear that you have enjoyed the food and all services .
Uma Punakha Management and the staff like to thank you for staying with us and hope you will be able to come visit us again soon.

Best regards,
Thamu
Lodge Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Look no further - as there are no words to explain fully the experience I had at this lodge.

The lodge has simple, clean-line architecture and design which fully supplements the stunning views from the room! I stayed for three nights at Room 1 and I was blown away once I walked onto the property. I have nothing but high compliments on the understated elegant design of the main lobby, patio, dining area, spa and the room.

The lodge is located off the main area, but that does not matter as in exchange, you will be rewarded with the most surreal view!

Thamu, the GM, came to greet me upon arrival and made me feel very welcome. All the staff at the property were attentive and helpful. I understand that there is a staff complement of 50 for the 11 rooms at the lodge.

The room is good-sized and well stocked with amenities. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The restaurant served extra-ordinary meals that were first rate! They also did excellent picnic lunches to-go.

I tried out the hot-stone bath and Shambala massage. It was quite relaxing, especially perfect after a day of hiking.

I booked a 6 night Himalayan Odyssey private tour with Uma and they handled the whole process efficiently and professionally. (The other 3 nights were spent at Uma Paro.) The guide and driver assigned to me were both wonderful - always checking if I was comfortable or if there is something I prefer to change.

I was quite sad the day I was transferring to Paro as I have been smitten by this hotel, it's location and it's staff!

Room Tip: Room 1 has excellent views, though it looks like most of them do.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at COMO Uma Punakha, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Anonymous8,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience on your recent stay in Uma Punakha on TripAdvisor
We are so glad to hear that you have enjoy every services in Uma Punakha and appreciated your great compliments on quality of food and the spa in Uma Punakha
Uma Punakha Management and the staff like to thank you for staying with us and looking forward for your next visit.
Best regards,
Thamu
Lodge Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed at the swish new Uma Punakha for two nights with my husband in Dec. The location with views of the valley and river from the balcony is the show stealer! The manager is a very friendly person who raises service to a new level along with his staff. The rooms could have been a little larger, but the views make up for it. The breakfast is an amazing spread of fresh breads, preserves and fruits, especially the muffins. Uma Punakha offers many activities including cultural trips to the Temple of Fertility and the Dzong as well as treks and walks. Great property especially for a romantic retreat!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarryDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at COMO Uma Punakha, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear BarryDelhi,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on your recent stay in Uma Punakha on
TripAdvisor
We appreciated your great compliments on quality of breakfast and services in Uma Punakha
We ,Uma Punakha team like to thank you for staying with us and looking forward for your next visit.
Best regards,

Thamu
Lodge Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Uma in Punakha was simply stunning. The locale couldn't have been chosen with greater care with the views breath taking. The hotel exudes calm with simple, yet elegant architecture and design. It is decorated beautifully with fine woods and just the right touch of color. The staff was exceedingly helpful without being intrusive. The fire alarm in our room went off in the early morning for no apparent reason and after mentioning such to the staff, it was tended too immediately. We were then moved to a suite. The food is simply fantastic, beyond our expectations. All we encountered on site were welcoming and helpful. Truly a gem.

Room Tip: There are no "bad" rooms--all are divine.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at COMO Uma Punakha, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Ruland,

Greetings from Bhutan!

Thank you for recommending the TripAdvisor community about your recent stay with us at Uma Punakha. We appreciate all the praise and the good constructive comments about our new luxury resort in the Punakha Valley. We have addressed this areas where you think we could improve and work every day to make this new jewel of a hotel the best small luxury retreat in Bhutan.

We hope you will be able to come visit us again soon.
Best regards,
Thamu
Lodge Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We checked in mid-December and were immediately charmed by the property. Although small the layout of the resort/hotel was impressive with rooms tucked away on one side of the property.

On arrival, we were greeted by friendly and rather helpful staff. The manager was most welcoming and sat down and chatted with us on arrival.

The deluxe room is decent size, with nice furniture and fittings. No complaints at all as the mattress was firm, bath and bed linens and amenities were all very clean and of high standard. Amenities were replenished each evening. All of this to be expected of a rather new property, which opened in Sept according to management. The view of the Punakha Valley from our room was breathtaking. Simply Wow!

The dinner and breakfast were just yummy and the chef is able to cater to your particular dietary requirements. Service staff at the restaurant were polite, friendly and helpful.

Uma Punakha is a must-try hotel, even if its for a two-night stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ac2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at COMO Uma Punakha, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear ac2011,
Best greetings from Bhutan!

Thank you for sharing and recommending your wonderful experience on your recent stay in Uma Punakha onTripAdvisor
We appreciated your great compliments on quality of food , products and services in Uma Punakha
We ,Uma Punakha team like to thank you for staying with us and looking forward for your next visit.
Best regards,
Thamu
Lodge Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel is truly a gem. I've stayed with the Como group before and always have an excellent experience. The Uma at Punakha exceed my expectations. This hotel is very far of the beaten path, but once you arrive it's like you landed in heaven. The views are absolutely breathtaking and the service is wonderful. The staff is very polite and friendly, catering toward our every need.
I signed up for the Himalayan package, guided tour. The Uma, provided us with a knowledgeable, regal guide and driver. Two nights at the Uma Punakha was part of the package, although it didn't have all the amenities as Uma Paro. I preferred it over Paro.
My traveling companion and I were the only guest the first night, we stayed in the standard room. The next night the manager complimentarily offered us villa but we very comfortable our room we chose not switch, it was a very kind gesture.
I recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to explore Bhutan with casual luxury. The Aman resort is their main competitor, I visited the Aman, and the location of the Uma Punakha is far better.
Keep in mind that this a place if you truly want to disconnected, escape and retreat. Great for couples and solo travelers. I recommend to immerse yourself in the spiritual culture and live life beautifully.
Enjoy the Magical Kingdom!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaliJackson511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at COMO Uma Punakha, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear BaliJackson511,

Greetings from Bhutan!

Thank you for sharing with TripAdvisor community about your execellent experience in recent stay with us at Uma Punakha. We appreciate all the praise and recommedation on our services by new luxury resort in the Punakha Valley.

We hope you will be able to come visit us again soon.
Best regards,
Thamu
Lodge Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakha
7.9 mi away
Dhensa Boutique Resort
Dhensa Boutique Resort
#2 of 4 in Punakha
181 reviews
14.8 mi away
Taj Tashi
Taj Tashi
#3 of 38 in Thimphu
715 reviews
15.1 mi away
Le Meridien Thimphu
Le Meridien Thimphu
#1 of 38 in Thimphu
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Damchen Resort
Damchen Resort
#3 of 4 in Punakha
213 reviews
17.5 mi away
Terma Linca Resort & Spa
15.1 mi away
Hotel Norbuling
Hotel Norbuling
#4 of 38 in Thimphu
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Uma Punakha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Uma Punakha

Address: Botokha Kabesa, Punakha 13001, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Punakha District > Punakha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Punakha
Price Range: $893 - $906 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Uma Punakha 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Uma Punakha is our second hotel in Bhutan after COMO Uma Paro. Positioned on a river bend in the Punakha Valley - one of Bhutan's key destinations - COMO Uma Punakha delivers soul-stirring views from its eight light-filled rooms. Two villas - an intimate one-bedroom villa and a family-friendly two-bedroom COMO Villa - provide more luxury in the wilderness, alongside our restaurant and COMO Shambhala spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BhutanBookings so you can book your COMO Uma Punakha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing