We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Stunning”
Review of COMO Uma Punakha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
COMO Uma Punakha
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Punakha
Certificate of Excellence
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Uma in Punakha was simply stunning. The locale couldn't have been chosen with greater care with the views breath taking. The hotel exudes calm with simple, yet elegant architecture and design. It is decorated beautifully with fine woods and just the right touch of color. The staff was exceedingly helpful without being intrusive. The fire alarm in our room went off in the early morning for no apparent reason and after mentioning such to the staff, it was tended too immediately. We were then moved to a suite. The food is simply fantastic, beyond our expectations. All we encountered on site were welcoming and helpful. Truly a gem.

Room Tip: There are no "bad" rooms--all are divine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at COMO Uma Punakha, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Ruland,

Greetings from Bhutan!

Thank you for recommending the TripAdvisor community about your recent stay with us at Uma Punakha. We appreciate all the praise and the good constructive comments about our new luxury resort in the Punakha Valley. We have addressed this areas where you think we could improve and work every day to make this new jewel of a hotel the best small luxury retreat in Bhutan.

We hope you will be able to come visit us again soon.
Best regards,
Thamu
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
138
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We checked in mid-December and were immediately charmed by the property. Although small the layout of the resort/hotel was impressive with rooms tucked away on one side of the property.

On arrival, we were greeted by friendly and rather helpful staff. The manager was most welcoming and sat down and chatted with us on arrival.

The deluxe room is decent size, with nice furniture and fittings. No complaints at all as the mattress was firm, bath and bed linens and amenities were all very clean and of high standard. Amenities were replenished each evening. All of this to be expected of a rather new property, which opened in Sept according to management. The view of the Punakha Valley from our room was breathtaking. Simply Wow!

The dinner and breakfast were just yummy and the chef is able to cater to your particular dietary requirements. Service staff at the restaurant were polite, friendly and helpful.

Uma Punakha is a must-try hotel, even if its for a two-night stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ac2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at COMO Uma Punakha, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear ac2011,
Best greetings from Bhutan!

Thank you for sharing and recommending your wonderful experience on your recent stay in Uma Punakha onTripAdvisor
We appreciated your great compliments on quality of food , products and services in Uma Punakha
We ,Uma Punakha team like to thank you for staying with us and looking forward for your next visit.
Best regards,
Thamu
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel is truly a gem. I've stayed with the Como group before and always have an excellent experience. The Uma at Punakha exceed my expectations. This hotel is very far of the beaten path, but once you arrive it's like you landed in heaven. The views are absolutely breathtaking and the service is wonderful. The staff is very polite and friendly, catering toward our every need.
I signed up for the Himalayan package, guided tour. The Uma, provided us with a knowledgeable, regal guide and driver. Two nights at the Uma Punakha was part of the package, although it didn't have all the amenities as Uma Paro. I preferred it over Paro.
My traveling companion and I were the only guest the first night, we stayed in the standard room. The next night the manager complimentarily offered us villa but we very comfortable our room we chose not switch, it was a very kind gesture.
I recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to explore Bhutan with casual luxury. The Aman resort is their main competitor, I visited the Aman, and the location of the Uma Punakha is far better.
Keep in mind that this a place if you truly want to disconnected, escape and retreat. Great for couples and solo travelers. I recommend to immerse yourself in the spiritual culture and live life beautifully.
Enjoy the Magical Kingdom!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaliJackson511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at COMO Uma Punakha, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear BaliJackson511,

Greetings from Bhutan!

Thank you for sharing with TripAdvisor community about your execellent experience in recent stay with us at Uma Punakha. We appreciate all the praise and recommedation on our services by new luxury resort in the Punakha Valley.

We hope you will be able to come visit us again soon.
Best regards,
Thamu
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel is a dream! The manager Thamu Krishnan is fantastic and his staff reflect his excellant management style! All very warm and friendly! The views from the rooms are drop dead amazing!
Very Zen and the spa treatments are fantastic! The food is incredible! Very Zen and lovely!

Room Tip: All rooms have fabulous views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elainevedette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at COMO Uma Punakha, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear elainevedette,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on your recent stay in Uma Punakha on
TripAdvisor
We appreciated your great compliments on quality of food ,spa ,rooms and service in Uma Punakha
We ,Uma Punakha team like to thank you for staying with us and looking forward for your next visit.
Best regards,
Thamu
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
265 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 694 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is one of the most spectacular room views we ever had! Unparallel views over the stunning valley. Brand-new Uma hotel at the top of Punakha valley.
Very good SPA. Perfect dining. Perfect staff.
Two nights - quite enough, but want to see this beauty even more :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alexzhdanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at COMO Uma Punakha, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear alexzhdanov,
Greetings from Bhutan!

Thank you for sharing with TripAdvisor community about your great experience in recent stay with us at Uma Punakha. We appreciate all the praise in food ,spa and staff on our new luxury resort in the Punakha Valley.

We hope you will be able to come visit us again soon.
Best regards,
Thamu
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This property is simply amazing. Everything - the breataking views from the terrace, the sound of the stream, the sun shining over the rice fields - makes this boutique hotel a unique luxurious experience. We visited Amankora Punakha (and normally big fans of Aman) but Uma Punakha property certainly is a notch above.

There are a few teething issues - not enough outdoor fireplaces, chilly lounge area, stiff door knobs - but the property manager was completely aware of these issues.

We have been planning a trip to Bhutan on and off for the last two years and our timing couldn't be more perfect as we got to experience this beautifully located property.

We chose the Himalayas explorer and Bumdra camp 7 night package and we would like to thank our wonderful guide KuenZhang who made this a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yeefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at COMO Uma Punakha, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Yeefa,
Greetings from Bhutan!

Thank you for sharing the TripAdvisor community about your recent stay with us at Uma Punakha. We appreciate all the praise and the good constructive comments about our new luxury resort in the Punakha Valley. We have addressed all the areas where you think we could improve and work every day to make this new jewel of a hotel the best small luxury retreat in Bhutan.

We hope you will be able to come visit us again soon.
Best regards,
Thamu
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Very beautiful location, cozy hotel, nice and new rooms, AMAZING food.
Hard to believe you can find such great cuisine in such a remote location.
Even better than UMA Paro. It is not a fancy hotel but very clean, quiet,
extremely comfortable and the service is truly excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodrigoMoraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at COMO Uma Punakha, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear RodrigoMoraes,
Greetings from Bhutan.
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on your recent stay in Uma Punakha on
TripAdvisor
We appreciated your great compliments on quality of cuisine in Uma Punakha as well
Thank you for staying with us and looking forward for your next visit.
Best regards,
Thamu
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakha
7.9 mi away
Dhensa Boutique Resort
Dhensa Boutique Resort
#2 of 4 in Punakha
172 reviews
14.8 mi away
Taj Tashi
Taj Tashi
#3 of 36 in Thimphu
702 reviews
15.1 mi away
Le Meridien Thimphu
Le Meridien Thimphu
#1 of 36 in Thimphu
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Hotel Thimphu Towers
Hotel Thimphu Towers
#2 of 36 in Thimphu
249 reviews
7.4 mi away
Damchen Resort
Damchen Resort
#3 of 4 in Punakha
210 reviews
15.0 mi away
Osel
Osel
#6 of 36 in Thimphu
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Uma Punakha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Uma Punakha

Property: COMO Uma Punakha
Address: Botokha Kabesa, Punakha 13001, Bhutan
Phone Number:
Location: Bhutan > Punakha District > Punakha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Punakha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Uma Punakha 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Uma Punakha is our second hotel in Bhutan after COMO Uma Paro. Positioned on a river bend in the Punakha Valley - one of Bhutan's key destinations - COMO Uma Punakha delivers soul-stirring views from its eight light-filled rooms. Two villas - an intimate one-bedroom villa and a family-friendly two-bedroom COMO Villa - provide more luxury in the wilderness, alongside our restaurant and COMO Shambhala spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BhutanBookings so you can book your COMO Uma Punakha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing