We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pick a clear day!”
Review of Dochula Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Punakha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dochula Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Punakha
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My sole purpose of staying overnight here was to see the sunrise at Dochu La the following day. Unfortunately, it was extremely cloudy and the weather forecast called for more of the same for a couple more days.. But the hotel itself is nice and the staff are charming and very helpful. My room was HUGE: it could have fit four people quite comfortably. The only downside is, there was a rather musty smell throughout the hotel when I was there; it could do with a good airing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NimsM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Dochula Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 31 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2011

Lonely Planet refers to this as a Hotel & I think this is an important distinction otherwise readers might have unrealistic expectations. Having said this, I really liked this place. We stopped briefly here for a cup of tea & biscuits on our way to Punakha (where we stayed at Hotel Zangto Pelri which I thought was quite ordinary - see another review). I was shown one of the rooms - large, airy, sun coming in & lighting up the polished floor, nice bathroom. I thought "what a nice place this would be to stay!". We went on to travel through Central Bhutan for a week and on the return journey I said I did not want to stay at the hotel in Punakha again so we pushed on back up the Dochula Pass and arrived to a room they already had heated, a big king-sized bed, very pleasant welcoming staff and a nice meal. It IS very high here (3140 m) & our night was a bit restless with shortness of breath (no, not because of the king-sized bed!!) but I really liked the stay here. It was wonderful to see the sun set over the Bhutanese Himalayas and then rise again in the morning. The powerful binocular telescope donated by a university in Japan is great (especially if you haven't brought your own).

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamAlbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Berlinpeter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2015, traveled with friends
1  Thank azarashi_azarashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mina★
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michi123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V_S_Luca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakha
7.3 mi away
Dhensa Boutique Resort
Dhensa Boutique Resort
#2 of 4 in Punakha
180 reviews
8.3 mi away
Damchen Resort
Damchen Resort
#3 of 4 in Punakha
213 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Norbuling
Hotel Norbuling
#4 of 37 in Thimphu
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Terma Linca Resort & Spa
7.5 mi away
Osel
Osel
#6 of 37 in Thimphu
181 reviews
8.5 mi away
Punatsangchhu Cottages
Punatsangchhu Cottages
#2 of 3 in Wangdue
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dochula Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dochula Resort

Address: Pox Box No.1007, Punakha, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Punakha District > Punakha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Punakha
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing