We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amankora Punakha
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Dragons Nest Hotel(Wangdue)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gakyil(Thimphu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bhutan(Thimphu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveler rating
84
6
3
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
6
3
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaman lodgessuspension bridgeaman experiencemain buildingtraditional farmhousegolf buggydining roomthe riverintimate hotelelectric cartthese pricesprayer roomgrounds are lovelycooking classstay nightsbhutanese foodsix senses
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 97 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2008

This is far-out the most beautiful lodge of the Amankora group.
There is a terrific old farmhouse fully redecorated and divided in dining room and 3 or 4 lounge rooms and bar.
See also our review of Amankora Thimpu.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dd220786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

This was our fourth stop of 5 Aman resorts in Bhutan. Each resort offers something different and unique. You arrive via an extension bridge and then are taken by golf cart to the resort. The weather here is a bit warmer than the rest of Bhutan, which is a nice change after the crisp mountain air.

The rooms are identical to all of the other Aman lodges in Bhutan... beautiful and comfortable. The best part of the resort is the traditional farmhouse and tearoom. This is where you dine and relax. The staff is inviting and kind. On our arrival we went to the spa to relax after the long drive. On our way back through the teahouse my partner and I noticed they had set a beautiful private table in the tearoom with flower petals around and had a musician playing traditional music. We both assumed it was for honeymooners. Much to our surprise the table was set for us!

This lodge probably has the best food and setting for dining. This is also the only lodge that offers traditional Bhutanese food. We ate most of our meals outside in the courtyard of the farmhouse…a beautiful backdrop.

There is lots of hiking and biking here. I am not usually a big bike rider but it was an amazing ride through the villages. In typical Aman style when you are ready for a break your driver magically appears with tea and cookies.

Once again the Aman does not disappoint!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgh60660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

My husband and I just returned from 9 wonderful days in Bhutan. We stayed at a series of Aman Resorts and we could not have made a better choice. We were picked up at the airport by our wonderful driver and excellent guide who were with us until they dropped us at the airport. They and all of the other Aman staff made us feel like members of their family. The first and last two nights we spent at Amanparo, outside of Paro town.

We then drove to Punakha and to the Aman property there. It is a magical place which was once the Queen Mother's farmhouse. The car arrives at the parking place on one side of the river. The hotel is on the other side. You cross a walking bridge decorated with prayer flags fluttering in the breeze. Then you have the choice of a winding walk through fields still owned by the former king or a ride in the golf cart which delivers you to this small and intimate hotel (only 8 rooms.) The hotel has kept the small farmhouse the way it was when used by the royal family. The new, spacious, beautiful rooms are in adjacent buildings. The rooms at all the Aman Bhutan properities are basically the same, which is soothing. After the first night you know where everything is. Each room is wonderfully decorated and comes with homemade cookies!

The best part of the hotel property is the sunny courtyard and its views of the valley and orchards. We had breakfast and enjoyed drinks in the court yard each evening. Invariably, the hotel's managers would stop by to enquire about our day to assure themselves that everything was going perfectly for us. Each evening there was traditional Bhutanese music played in the courtyard. There is even a spa. While our Bhutan stay included a massage, we didn't take advantage of the spa until we got to the Aman property in Ganty.

The food was super. We had a choice between western and Bhutanese dishes. You can order some of each if that is your desire. The chief came out to see how we were liking the food. Every day our driver and guide provided snacks and picnic lunch if we wanted it. When my husband indicated an interest in the homemade chips, they were included in our snack from then on.

Everything was perfect -- there were no glitches. The laundry, which was included, was done beautifully and quickly returned. Laundry service is 24 hours of the day.

We could not have asked for anything more from this hotel in terms of service.

Before we arrived in Bhutan we had indicated an interest in seeking the spring festival dances. The staff arranged for us to visit a local festival, which was colorful and delightful! We were among the six non-Bhutanese faces in the crowd.

The only bad thing about leaving Aman Punakha was having to leave. But, we will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sleds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews