We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant choice in Bumthang”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kaila Choenzem Guest House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Bumthang
on the road
Level Contributor
338 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Good restaurant choice in Bumthang”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The owner here was previously employed as the chef at the Swiss Farm, which makes the restaurant at this hotel a god choice in Bumthang when one wants a break from Bhutan food.
Rosti potatoes are a specialty.
Ice cream available.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    30
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
17
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This property offers pine walls and wood fired heat. The feeling is cozy. The rooms can be stuffy when the wood fire is warming up the room. The back balcony was a great place to keep drinks chilled. The food was good and fresh. The soup offered was flavorful. The buildings are painted in traditional motifs. The rooms were clean but the bathroom was chilly! WiFi does not work well in the area. Seems to work best in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mickiehaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We recently spent eight days in Bhutan, staying in six different hotels. This one was pretty average among that group.

Bumthang is arguably the most special place in Bhutan. It is the cultural heartland of the country, with many of the traditions and spirituality originating here . So it is worth a stay, even if the trek to get here is daunting. (About a 10 hour drive from Thimphu, largely on a one lane road with frequent unpaved portions and scary ascents/descents).

The hotel has positives:

1) Friendly hosts. This is a family run place, and everyone is lovely and helpful. The owner will even come sit with you at dinner and explain Bumthang. Really nice atmosphere based on this.

2) Nice outside architecture. The hotel is built in the traditional way, and is beautifully decorated on the outside. The garden could use a bit of work, but the buildings are beautiful.

3) Central location. Very close to the dzong and to downtown. Both are walkable.

4) Great dogs. There are two dogs that live on the hotel grounds, and they are both great fun. It was nice to be able to play with the dogs in the mornings, especially since I was missing my own.

However, it also has some negatives:

1) Unlike most of the other reviewers on this site, I didn't find the food here to be any good. In fact, I thought it was below-average by Bhutanese standards. Breakfasts consisted of two scrambled eggs and some white toast with butter and jam. Dinner was bony chicken and vegetarian chow mein. Nothing to write home about. Plus, I got a case of Montezuma's Revenge here, which I doubt was carried over from one of the prior hotels.

2) No amenities. Even though it is advertised, there is essentially no wifi service...at least that can be used. There is no TV on premise. There is no stone bath. Nothing. Just the restaurant (see above) and your room. We were in bed by 8pm most nights because there was nothing else to do. You will read that the restaurant is a hangout for local NGO workers, but we didn't ever see any to talk to.

3) Room is pretty uncomfortable. Bad bed. Dingy sheets. Uninspiring decor. Electricity that would work sometimes and not others.

4) Heating is an issue. The only heat (which you will definitely need in October) comes from a fireplace that will make the place 110 degrees in about 5 minutes. They will help you light it, but we could never get the temperature right and ended up getting colds...I think it was because we went from freezing to boiling and back to freezing in the course of the night.

5) Bad plumbing. Once again, the shower had almost no water pressure and would vacillate from boiling to freezing second-by-second.

So, if friendly hosts is what you're looking for, this is a good place for you. Not so good if you want a little more creature comfort...which does exist in Bhutan despite what others will tell you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMBINCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here for one night in September 2012. The room was very comfortable and cosy. We had read good reviews of the restaurant in Lonely Planet but the food was just above average in our opinion. It is a very homely experience as it is a family run establishment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akshay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

While there are many other places to stay in Bumthang, Kaila Choenzem is special. I doubt any other place would give you a personable and homely experience like this one in Bumthang.

We stayed here for two nights and I had nothing to complain about. Hosts are really hospitable and makes sure you feel at home.

Restaurant typically serves local cuisine and also has local beer on tap. I would recommend sticking to local food and definitely give Red Panda a try.

Rooms come with a fire place. They are very basic but comes with good comfortable beds. Rooms are pretty large in size and comes with enough plug points to charge your gadgets. There are no TV's in the room which is a good thing. Bathrooms are clean and functional.

Do not expect luxury here, but a very down to earth basic place to stay and eat. Its a good idea to book rooms well in advance. Bumthang is a major transport hub where long distance buses and other vehicles take an overnight stopover bringing in travelers for overnight stay.

I would definitely recommend Kaila Choenzen Guest House without a doubt. I am giving an excellent fo rKaila.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InsaneNirvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed there during March last to last year with a group of 7 friends..

the hotel rooms were reasonably priced and cozy with fully wooden interiors..wood fed steel fireplaces are a very charming add on..staff was helpful in lighting up the mini fireplaces..

Only complain was that the restaurant food was a bit pricey for the quality.. preferred eating at one of the outlets in the main city.. try out local hangouts which serve amazing pakodas and maggis...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YatinTyagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Kaila guest house is a family run hotel. The hosts are very hospitable and nice.
Located about half a kilometer from Jakar town centre and also very close to the Dzong.

Guest house is probably new with clean rooms. We were given perhaps the best room with a very good view of Dzong from the balcony. The Dzong looks beautiful in the night.
Rooms are fitted with ingenious room heater- bhukhari (stove). You need to request them to
fire it up.

Room Tip: First floor - corner room. The balcony opens towards Dzong. The Dzong looks amazing in the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srikanth_kumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bumthang
0.0 mi away
Jakar Village Lodge
Jakar Village Lodge
#1 of 7 in Bumthang
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gangtey Palace Hotel
0.0 mi away
Dhensa Boutique Resort
Dhensa Boutique Resort
#2 of 4 in Punakha
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kichu Resort Wangduephodrang
0.0 mi away
Naksel Boutique Hotel & SPA
0.0 mi away
Hotel Norbuling
Hotel Norbuling
#4 of 36 in Thimphu
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaila Choenzem Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaila Choenzem Guest House

Property: Kaila Choenzem Guest House
Address: Bumthang, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Bumthang District > Bumthang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Bumthang
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BhutanBookings so you can book your Kaila Choenzem Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing