We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wangdicholing Guest House
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Bumthang
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The positives about this hotel are the size of the room and the wood oven - very charming.

The restaurant, however, was very average with a strong gas smell and quite average food. There was an electricity blackout for close to 3 hours which made everything here very difficult.

While the hotel is ok generally, I will say that Bumthang is a pretty miserable place in the off-season - extremely cold and windy, not much to do and the altitude doesn't help. I'd recommend to not bother with Bumthang in winter other than at festival time where apparently the town comes alive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaffiTenenbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Wangdicholing Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 40 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

The tiny wood stove holds about one piece of kindling. The theory is that once you go to sleep under a blanket it doesn't matter if the fire goes out. The reality is that it's way too cold once the fire goes out. Also, if it goes totally out you are left with a book of matches where if you are lucky one out of ten will actually light, and that for such a brief moment you can't even get paper lit.
The staff was friendly and was helpful in giving us a thermos of tea for the room.
YES, there are choices in Bumthang. Try Samden Guest House. Clean and WARM with electric heat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roseleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

You don't really have much choice in Bumthang, so this one is acceptable. The views are wonderful from most of the rooms, but the rooms are a bit primitive. There is no bottled water in the rooms, and they are heated by a wood stove. They're also a bit small and have two small beds. But the service is good and you should certainly come here at festival time. The food is fine, but is the usual buffet, and you will certainly get tired of the buffets while you're in Bhutan. All in all, you're in Bhutan, a wonderful country that seems lost in time.

Room Tip: Pick the top floor if you can, better views and no noise from above.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Incognito-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Just before you enter Bumthang district capital Jakar, you find this RESORT on your left. Beautiful view over the valley. Large spacious rooms. Food is Ok. But when they have trout from the river it is Great!
Breakfast the best served in Bumthang I think: fresh local cheese and wild strawberry jam!

Ask the staff to light the bukhari in your room when you go for dinner.

Get a room on the first floor for the best views.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RolfTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

we stayed in a first floor room with the inconveniences of hearing our upstairs neighbors, and losing heat extremely fast because of the inefficient wood stove (I used to have the same type of stove in my summer cabin, the heat lasts max 2 hours)
so definitively stay on the second floor; you won't hear your neighbors and you will receive the heat from downstairs :)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

First, my immediate previous reviewer "ksamread" has written nearly every word I was going to write (independently). I won't repeat them except that the wood burning furnace was definitely the highest point of our stay; you simply can't forget the charm of it. You get struck by the simplicity and goodness of the people who run the hotel. Nice comfortable large bed, warm room in October chill and the whole splendour of Bumthang valley with the curly river sprawled in front of you, readily visible from your window. Beautiful common sitting area in the first floor. I did not take food there; took it in a nearby restaurant; that was a small issue. There are a few similar hotels around, but Wangdicholing appeared to give the best view and the ambience. (I have posted a couple of snaps, taken by a cheap camera). If you are travelling to Bhutan, I strongly advise to add 3 extra days to your itinerary, do not get peeved by the long drive from Thimpu to Bumthang, you will love every moment of the panorama it offers and Bumthang will stick to your head for years together. And, if you are in Bumthang, this house gives you the perfect feel of your holiday in Bhutan.

Room Tip: All rooms look over the beautiful valley. Book early.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drdebasisbiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

What some reviewers seem to forget is that this hotel in Bumthang is in a country not visited by thousands of foreign tourists. We found the service provided by the family staff to be outstanding. The wood-burning stoves in the bedrooms were excellent and most welcome. Our shower provided hot water in a powerful stream and the remainder of the bathroom was perfectly adequate. The situation of the hotel was delightful. Porridge was produced on request at breakfast and the buckwheat pancakes were delicious. Wifi was free even in the bedroom. The garden was lovely (with resident cow) and there was wisteria and clematis growing at the front.
After 3 nights here we were sorry to leave and can only recommend the hotel to any visitors who realise they are in Bhutan and not New York.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ksamread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bumthang
0.9 mi away
Jakar Village Lodge
Jakar Village Lodge
#1 of 7 in Bumthang
139 reviews
16.3 mi away
Yangkhil Resort
Yangkhil Resort
#1 of 3 in Trongsa
182 reviews
9.1 mi away
Chumey Nature Resort
Chumey Nature Resort
#2 of 13 in Bumthang
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Swiss Guest House
Swiss Guest House
#4 of 7 in Bumthang
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kaila Choenzem Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wangdicholing Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wangdicholing Guest House

Address: Bumthang, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Bumthang District > Bumthang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Bumthang
Price Range: $50 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BhutanBookings so you can book your Wangdicholing Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wangdicholing Guest House Hotel Bumthang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing