We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different place to stay”
Review of Swiss Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swiss Guest House
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Bumthang
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A different place to stay”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The location is great. Very helpful staff. They gave us a great room with 3 side opening in windows. It was the last room facing the valley and dzong on first floor. There is no intercom. The place has apple orchard surrounding it. Family run. You need to give order in advance even if you are arriving that evening. We has a nice and simple food - some fern and home made pasta. Heating in room was good. wood flooring and wood ceiling. Romm size was right. No tea but kettle was there. If you are fussy Indian and can't stay away from your food even for a few days stay somewhere else. Otherwise a gorgeous experience.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RJOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    33
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
10
27
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
104 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The 4 of us stayed here for 1 night as a part of our motor-biking tour of Bhutan.

Cons: Breakfast was a bit expensive for it's simplicity but then it *was* all 'homemade'

Pros: Clean & spacious rooms.
A nice fireplace with ample of firewood. The room was instantly warm & tucky!
Bathroom was spacious, the shower had excellent pressure & the hot water didn't run cold.
Excellent location

Overall we liked the place quite a bit & would readily recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nips_manny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
navi mumbai
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

i went to bhutan in 1st week of may, 2013. i stay there for one night in new building. non-availability of indian food in swiss guest house is a major problem. the room service is not available there. They dont have a good breakfast. only bread and butter available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shantanuparadkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Having lived in Asia for the last couple of years, raclette is not on the menu as often as it was when I lived in Switzerland: Swiss Guest house have a great raclette, with excellent "G'schwellti" [Swiss for cooked potatoes] and tasty ham and pickles. Also have some the locally brewed Panda Beer!! And all that surrounded by the mountains of Bumthang Valley: Melancholy, when it hits you.... ;-)

And to help digestion, they also serve a very nice home-made apple brandy: No hesitation, we took a bottle back home to Hong Kong!!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jod_mod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I went to bhutan in spring and love it! Although I am fine with bhutanese food, I found that western food at the hotel is very delicious. The hotel is rustic as expected and The owner and staff were very helpful and friendly. I will be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank achra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
151 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed there during my motorbike travels and we have been so well taken care of by the family. I could not imagine a better place.

We stayed in the new building.

Food was awesome, they even have a locally brewed beer.

Go and be amazed!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abu-Ashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

A warm , cozy family run enterprise. The food is great ! Butanese, Indian, Continental & Swiss specialties - they have them all. It is a small place run in a dignified manner - don't expect to be fawned over. You will be served well and soon left to your privacy. It is too far to walk to the town - but we loved to be away from Bumthang's one horse street.

The plumbing is iffy as it is in most hotels in Bhutan. Tip - buy your own hot water bottle from Thimphu or Paro pharmacy stores for about $10 apiece. Fill it up and sleep with it when the heater gives up. But I must add the power situation all over Bhutan has improved and we experienced no power shut downs.

Room Tip: Choose the corner rooms with windows on 3 sides. They are bigger & warmer due to the orientation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingStar2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bumthang
0.8 mi away
Jakar Village Lodge
Jakar Village Lodge
#2 of 7 in Bumthang
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tashi Namgay Grand
Tashi Namgay Grand
#3 of 10 in Phuntsholing
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dorjee-Ling
Hotel Dorjee-Ling
#15 of 17 in Paro
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Chumey Nature Resort
Chumey Nature Resort
#2 of 12 in Bumthang
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bongde Goma Resort
Bongde Goma Resort
#2 of 14 in Paro
28 reviews
54.2 mi away
Khuru Resort
Khuru Resort
#10 of 11 in Punakha
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Guest House

Property: Swiss Guest House
Address: Kharsumphe, Bumthang 32001, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Bumthang District > Bumthang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Bumthang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest and longest serving classic Bhutanese lodges in Bumthang, Swiss Guest House continues to serve its long-honored traditions of hospitality and specialties for all those seeking respite and peace. It offers a fine dining with its home-made Swiss cuisine in a delightfully refreshing setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BhutanBookings so you can book your Swiss Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Guest House Hotel Bumthang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing