We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well organised hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rinchenling Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bumthang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rinchenling Lodge
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“well organised hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

The hotel was fully booked when I visited, because of the Jampey Lakhang festival. Therefore they also used the conference room as a diner: a long table with nameplates for all the guests. Perfect to chat with other guests about their Bhutan experiences.
My room was a delight as I arrived from (badly) sleeping in a dirty farmhouse. Nice and warm and welcome, lots of wood, big comfy beds, huge modern bathroom with bath and a great hot shower, every day nice clean towels and a watercooker to make myself a cup of tea. A candle was provided for and in need as the electricity fell out twice during my 4 day stay. Wifi worked swell.
Staff was very kind and helpful. Everything went smoothly, and that considering they had a full house, I was impressed. I had all my laundry done for a very reasonable price. The hot stone bath was perfect, pity I did not have time for more than once.
Food was delicious and very Bhumtang: buckweit noodles and pancakes, lots of veggies, mushrooms, cheese from the Swiss factory.
Walking into town, mainstreet, took me 40 minutes. It's a nice walk and you meet up with all sorts of people going to and fro the festival, lots in their Sunday bests.
I can highly recommend the Swiss factory: I bought gouda cheese and delicious yoghurt! All in all Jakar, the festivals and the hikes in beautiful Tang valley were a great experience. I would definitely come back to this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myriam28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    16
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
19
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We always appreciate hotels/lodges where the owners/managers understand what they are about, and the Rinchenling Lodge is a good example of that. It is a family-run operation with rooms built around a pretty courtyard with apple trees. The dining room is comfortable and laidback, and the overall ambiance of the lodge is pleasant, albeit rustic. Staff was warm and friendly. We used the Wi-Fi in the dining room before breakfast and dinner, where we enjoyed complimentary tea.

Our wood-paneled room was comfortable, spacious, and rustic. The nights were chilly, so staff made a fire in the room each night after dinner, which made it cozier and more comfortable.

We liked the food, especially the mushrooms and cabbage. And everyone had seconds of the delicious cinnamon-apple dessert. The cook, by request and out of curiosity on our part, prepared their buckwheat pancakes for us one morning.

I think the only minor downside was our bathroom. it was spacious but would be more comfortable with nicer towels, a few more amenities, and a fresh bathmat. On the plus side, it had a shower, which I always prefer to a bathtub.

Also the lodge is conveniently located (and I didn't hear barking dogs) within walking distance of Jambay Lhakhang and Kurjey Lhakhang. We walked to both, and then our driver picked us up at the latter so we could head into the town of Jakar and walk around. Jakar is an interesting town with one main street, but the locals were very friendly and the variety of shops offered a nice selection if you enjoy browsing and/or shopping.

We used the lodge as a base for driving to and visiting Burning Lake and the beautiful Tang Valley (we especially enjoyed the Ugyen Choling Palace, now a museum) and then the Ura Valley where we walked around the village. All three were highlights of our stay in the Bumthang area, which was my favorite area in Bhutan. Not only were these all worthwhile visits for us, but also the scenery, villages, and locals while driving to/from the destinations were also interesting.

Room Tip: If you appreciate rustic, then I think you'll be very happy staying at the Rinchenling Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
140 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

The good:
There were both the traditional wood fireplace as well as electric heater in our room, and hot water bags and extra blankets were also available, so we were kept nice and warm if we stick to the main room. If you have trouble getting the fire started or to keep it going, ask your guide / the staff for some easily flammable materials instead of just the big blocks of wood. It can be a lot of fun :) Alternatively, the staff could help you set up the fire whenever required.

We loved the food here the most! We got to try local buckwheat noodles for dinner and buckwheat pancakes for breakfast, which was something very different from all other foods that we had tried. We had different foods for breakfast and dinner each day, and we were most delighted with the food served here. They even managed to whip up a very quick and delicious late lunch for us on the day our car broke down and cell phone signal was also down, so we couldn't call back to order lunch in advanced (or get help for that matter). We also liked that the food portion served during set meals was not too huge, so we didn't have to waste much food. You could always ask for more if required.

We did laundry because we stayed here for 3 nights, but actually, our clothes were returned back to us on the same day that we sent them for laundry. I think the clothes were hand-washed and sun-dried, so it really depended on the weather. The prices were also extremely reasonable.

The little courtyard where the rooms were located, the cat lazing by the fireplace, the friendly staff, and the lodge being situated right in the middle of all the farms... it was a beautiful experience. The cold got to us a little, but it was winter after all.

The not-so-good.:
The staff, though very friendly and pleasant, seemed quite unsure on what to do during the city blackout on the first night that we arrived. There was some maintenance on-going, so the entire city was out of electricity. There were 2 candles in the room, but the lights were so dim, we couldn't really see anything. So, it will be a good idea to bring your own torchlight or download an easy-to-use torchlight app in your smart phone, and bring along a fully charged power bank for the trip, like we did.

Also, it seemed that the staff, who spoke some English, proceeded to get us extra blankets, hot water bags, bottled water and hot drinking water for the room only after our very excellent guide spoke to them. Just a side note that the locals do drink direct from the tap but our guide advised that foreigners should probably just drink from bottled water, or you could always boil the tap water using the electric kettle in the room, if electricity is available.

We were told that hot water for shower was available even during black-out, because a different heat source was used. Thankfully, the electricity came back on after our late dinner, so we did not have to test it out, but it would have been too dark to shower anyway. However, on the remaining days, the hot water for shower and water pressure were quite inconsistent, sometimes the water would be either very hot or very cold; other times it would reduce to a trickle. There was also no heating in the bathroom, so it was really tough trying to get a proper shower in winter, and it was much colder here as compared to Thimphu and Punakha where we came from earlier. There was no telephone in the room, so once, we had to go out to look for someone to help us with the shower... and the staff said "Wait 5 minutes". No one came to our room after 5 minutes, neither did the water level nor water pressure improve, so we were not sure what the 5 minutes meant... However, on another occasion when we went to ask for help with setting up fire in our room, help came very swiftly.

We suspected that the inconsistency of the shower might be because other guests were using the hot water at the same time, so try to plan your showers. Only 1 piece of soap was provided, so bring your own toiletries. Also, the bathroom was very huge and the flooring extremely cold, so it might be a good idea to bring along your slippers...

In summary, we will pick a different season to return to this lovely place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lendeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
129 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

As the name suggests, it is a lodge, so I was expecting it to be rustic. Upon first entry to the reception, there was a sense of cosiness in the place, and the rooms looked interesting with a real working fireplace right in front of the bed. However, the bathroom was really sad looking and they didn't even provide even basic packet soap and shampoo. There was also no water provided and neither was there a boiler or kettle that we can make water with, so you can forget about coffee and tea! There is also no TV in the room, so bring a book! Wifi was extremely patchy and I didn't manage to get any signals in the room throughout my 2 nights' stay even though they said there is Wifi in the room. Best place for that is located near the entrance to the dining hall from the cottages.

Breakfast is forgettable and dinner was inconsistent. Dinner on the first night was barely passable, but it turned out quite decent on the 2nd night. Wonder if they changed the chef? Manager of the lodge is service oriented and did try to please, but I really do think they should at least provide water for their hotel guests. Upside for me is that I didn't have any barking dog problems here! I was told there aren't many options for lodging here, but do try to look around first before you decide to settle for this one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thewhimsicaltrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenzin86, General Manager at Rinchenling Lodge, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very glad to receive such a vital review in a very long time. I personally thank you for letting the management know about whats going wrong in our Hotel. Firstly i would like to let you and all our future guest know that 99.9% of our booking comes through travel agents and it is most likely that you will be surprised on reaching your destination. Subsequently, we reserve rooms depending on the obligations of the travel agents and not through the requirement of the guest. This often becomes tricky and we have to bear the prize on Trip Advisor. Not to forget, the room you stayed in was a standard room with minimum amenities booked by your concerned Agent. We have Rooms starting from Deluxe up to Luxury Suites where you can enjoy abundance of all the modern technology. We also have photos of all the categories of rooms on Facebook as well as Trip Advisor for you sighting. I am sure guest reading this would make an effort to ask the management if you need to change to a better room.
lastly,thank you for giving us room for improvement in future and at all cost we will try to come up with some better ways of dealing with the concerned Travel Agents to make your stay more pleasant. Thank you and Tashi Delek.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The lodge is situated quite far outside Jakar village and far from the Jakar dzong (about 5 km). The resort is rather old and would need renovation (a criticism valid for nearly all Bhutanese hotels). The room was furnished in a notedly practical manner, not really looking nice. In the bathroom everything was working fine. All the hotel was perfectly clean. The restaurant was o.k. but a little bit looking like a canteen. Service staff was very friendly and willing to help everywhere. One flaw: the stairs to my room (in about 1.5 m height) were without any handrail, very annoying when you return in the night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Review314159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
246 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Buddhist festival time means hotels in Bumthang are full and that might explain the sadness of the food at Rincheling: poor breakfast choice and identical tasteless bhutanese buffet at lunch and dinner. Sad, because otherwise, this place is really nice. The bedrooms are large, comfortable and well thought of, wifi is available, as well as hot stone baths (against paiement) and laudry can be done atvthe cheapest ever prices. Sounds trivial, but very useful after a few days of hiking !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allschwil, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Excellent place, everything fits nicely together:
Friendly run, alert and efficient staff, good rooms, nicely cooked food. We can't single out one key highlight, just everything fitted nicely together to make it the best place we stayed during our 17 day trip.
We had 4 nights at the place and a 6 day trek around Bumthang with Tahsi Jambee (the owner). He is an excellent guide with in depths knowledge about people, culture and nature. If you manage to arrange a trek with him as your guide, you are luky. You may stay in Dhur village, visit some of his friends in Tang Value and plunge into local village life. (this seems however to be difficult as usually you are book with one of the travel agents).
We will go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building, they are modern and come with electric heater and electric boile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Domenic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bumthang
80.4 mi away
Mandala Resort
Mandala Resort
#3 of 34 in Paro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Rinchenling Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rinchenling Lodge

Property: Rinchenling Lodge
Address: Tashi Gatshel | Jambey Lhakhang, Bumthang 34005, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Bumthang District > Bumthang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Bumthang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rinchenling Lodge is a unique family owned hotel in a safe environment rendering special care to our guest. It is located at the edge of pristine blue pine forest near the oldest temple(Jampa lhakhang)built in 746 AD by Tibetan King Songtsen Gyempo. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing