We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of the real Albania !”
Review of Hotel Mangalemi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mangalemi
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Berat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This lovely hotel ,in an old building which has been given a complete makeover, was unlike any of the other hotels we stayed in on a recent trip . Not only were the rooms comfortable and tastefully decorated , with state of the art bathrooms , but the restaurant produced a number of traditional dishes which were much appreciated by our group . Have to say the service was a bit on the slow side . Breakfast was a cut above any of the other hotels we stayed in . I gather this is a family owned hotel and it showed in the attention to guests and their needs . A place with plenty of atmosphere which other hotels , particularly those built during the dictatorship , can't compete . Can't comment on 'value' as we were part of a travel agency tour .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALISON H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mangalemi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 390 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night during our tour of Albania and enjoyed it very much. The building is lovely, the room was very good with a huge bathroom. We had an enjoyable lunch and dinner on the roof terrace with professional service, and the manager/owner Valter was friendly and helpful with a good command of English. The breakfast was good and we would certainly stay at this hotel if we are ever in Berat again

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank global traveller number one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a HF Holiday. Fantastic room and excellent service. Family run business where they really care. The only two suggestions I could make to the owners was that they need a toilet roll holder in the bathroom. They had not put one as they thought it would spoil the theme of the bathroom but I hope that they take up my suggestion. The other suggestion I made was more towel hooks in the bathroom. The towels are too large for the current hooks. These two changes and the room would be perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiantBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Very close to the center of the city, reachable by car (and you'll have free parking) or on foot, the hotel is an amazing reality where you will be welcomed as if you're visiting an old friend!!

Rooms are precious, luxury, of course clean and you'll have enough space for you luggages, while the terrace (where you could eat fantastic food, drink, have a dessert or ..just relax hearing the Muezzin from the lead mosque) and the courtyard are enriched by statues scultures and more..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lor_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Really nice rooms with big (excellent) bathrooms. Wifi throughout with good signal. Quiet, well located. Had a meal here too - which was very good but the service needed a kick start. They ignored us for a while and looked like it would be too much trouble to smile. They slowly got the hang of it and weren't even too grudging about splitting the bill and making change. The hotel was a bit snotty about our guide and tried to put him in another hotel instead. Not really sure they valued everyone equally. The hotel was comfortable though.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincethefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

After looking at 6 other hotels and being disappointed one way or another I found Mangalemi. I was lucky because without a reservation it isn't easy to get in here, but I was lucky. I could only get a room for two nights but oh, those two nights were lovely. The room was a little small but so many charming details and tasteful touches! The bed was comfortable and it was absolutely quiet for a wonderful sleep after a day of walking around the castle.

The staff were all stellar, well-trained, always smiling and offering to do more. First rate service and most people spoke English, it seemed like some spoke Italian as well as I noticed some speak to Italian guests.

The restaurant too was wonderful and it was the best breakfast buffet and coffee I found while traveling in Albania.

My only disappointment was having to leave after two nights as I could have spent one more night here.

Room Tip: Room 14 was small but quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night only (it was booked out, otherwise we would have stayed longer) during August. Overall it was a fantastic stay. The staff were kind, helpful and courteous. The rooms, although small, were clean and ambient. There was a terrace overlooking the street a which to relax with a drink. Even better one of the waiters was very helpful with tips on the roads, tips on the town, and could recommend us a lovely place close by to stay our second night. We Also booked him for a Guided tour of the citadel the next morning. All in all he was great! There was secure parking aswell at the hotel, which they let us use the following night (as the was none at the second place). and The restaurant in the hotel was great (as was the place across the road).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berat hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand White City
Grand White City
#2 of 5 in Berat
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belgrad Mangalem
1.0 mi away
Castle Park
Castle Park
#10 of 39 in Berat
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Klea
0.1 mi away
Rezidenca Desaret
Rezidenca Desaret
#3 of 39 in Berat
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nasho Vruho
Hotel Nasho Vruho
#8 of 39 in Berat
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mangalemi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mangalemi

Address: Rruga Mihal Komneno, Berat, Albania
Location: Albania > Berat County > Berat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Berat
Price Range: $40 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mangalemi 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mangalemi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing