We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Working Ottoman history....”
Review of Hotel Mangalemi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mangalemi
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Berat
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton England
Level Contributor
278 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Working Ottoman history....”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

A hotel at the foot of the old district formed for an old traditional house. This combines though with things working - friendly service....a dinner still available even though arriving late...good food...reliable wifi. Recommended. Just be aware that if you're tall, some of the rooms have sloping roofs which may have you bending a lot.

Room Tip: If you're tall, say so in order to get a room that's appropriate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waldea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    66
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
132
39
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This charming little hotel seems to have been converted from an old traditional house similar to others in this beautiful city. Our bathroom had a little tiled roof and the internal decor was in keeping with the exterior. We even had a little private courtyard instead of a balcony. The lighting was also very good, in contrast with many hotels we stayed in. The public areas consisted of little nooks and crannies and this was not always convenient for bar service, but the food was wonderful - by far the best we had in our 2-week tour of Albania. The hotel manager made it clear that customer service was a primary concern. My only criticism is that the bath/shower is not sealed so the water runs out onto the bathroom floor. Luckily this is also tiled and dries quickly and there is a drainage point to make sure the water doesn't pool for long.

Room Tip: The rooms in the annex seem to be larger than the ones in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archaeology_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a beautiful Ottoman style hotel, our room was in the attic, so the ceilings were a little low, but the guy on reception checked that we were OK with this. We went for a standard room at €35, the room was en-suite with aircon and wifi, over looking a lovely little courtyard and the price included breakfast. The hotel is in a great location just at the bottom of the hill from the castle, and just a short walk into town for the daily Xhiro and the bridges across the river.
Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lI0ve2h0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

An absolutely wonderful place to stay & eat. Very charming, clean, & ideally located to everything you might want to see in Berat. Good wi-fi. Very friendly & helpful staff in both the hotel & restaurant. The breakfast selection was definitely one of the best I have ever had in all of my travels. A place not to miss if in this part of the world.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7469moog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel, staff, dining and location was the very best we had throughout our travels in Albania. Can't fault it in any way..it was fantastic. The views from the dining area were great and the walk into the town was easy as it was to the two beautiful bridges. I am slightly disabled and they arranged a taxi for us to the castle and for it to return for us. If you do make a booking and have difficulty in walking there are steps in the hotel but always someone available to give me a helping hand. Nothing was too much trouble. Thank you Valter and your staff for the best night we had in Albania.

Room Tip: Ours was lovely and so was the bathroom I'm sure all rooms are good judging by the first step in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerylinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We didn't know what to expect on our drive through Albania, but when we arrived in Berat, we were very surprised and happy at the hotel. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. The bathrooms were very nicely done. If you can, try to get a room in the newer part. Be aware that there is a school next door, so if you are wanting R&R and a sleep-in, then don't get room 11 or 12. The food at the restaurant is fantastic! The staff were also very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBuck85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Their webside may give the impression of an ordinary hotel, but you will get surprised. The whole place is so well laid out that you want to stay for more. Their restaurant is partially outside with magnificent views of the city, the staff is more than friendly and the food lovely. And when you go to bed, you may well lokk up at a beautiful carved wooden ceiling. Don't be in doubt, this is the place to stay when in Berat.

Room Tip: Those in the back are less noisy and very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrCurious60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berat hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand White City
Grand White City
#2 of 5 in Berat
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belgrad Mangalem
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Klea
Hotel Restaurant Klea
#1 of 36 in Berat
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Osumi
Hotel Osumi
#7 of 36 in Berat
82 reviews
1.0 mi away
Castle Park
Castle Park
#9 of 36 in Berat
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
White City
White City
#4 of 18 in Berat
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mangalemi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mangalemi

Property: Hotel Mangalemi
Address: Rruga Mihal Komneno, Berat, Albania
Location: Albania > Berat County > Berat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Berat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mangalemi 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mangalemi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing