We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with character, ideal location.”
Review of Hotel Mangalemi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mangalemi
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Berat
Certificate of Excellence
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with character, ideal location.”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a beautiful Ottoman style hotel, our room was in the attic, so the ceilings were a little low, but the guy on reception checked that we were OK with this. We went for a standard room at €35, the room was en-suite with aircon and wifi, over looking a lovely little courtyard and the price included breakfast. The hotel is in a great location just at the bottom of the hill from the castle, and just a short walk into town for the daily Xhiro and the bridges across the river.
Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lI0ve2h0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    66
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
140
40
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

An absolutely wonderful place to stay & eat. Very charming, clean, & ideally located to everything you might want to see in Berat. Good wi-fi. Very friendly & helpful staff in both the hotel & restaurant. The breakfast selection was definitely one of the best I have ever had in all of my travels. A place not to miss if in this part of the world.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7469moog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel, staff, dining and location was the very best we had throughout our travels in Albania. Can't fault it in any way..it was fantastic. The views from the dining area were great and the walk into the town was easy as it was to the two beautiful bridges. I am slightly disabled and they arranged a taxi for us to the castle and for it to return for us. If you do make a booking and have difficulty in walking there are steps in the hotel but always someone available to give me a helping hand. Nothing was too much trouble. Thank you Valter and your staff for the best night we had in Albania.

Room Tip: Ours was lovely and so was the bathroom I'm sure all rooms are good judging by the first step in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerylinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We didn't know what to expect on our drive through Albania, but when we arrived in Berat, we were very surprised and happy at the hotel. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. The bathrooms were very nicely done. If you can, try to get a room in the newer part. Be aware that there is a school next door, so if you are wanting R&R and a sleep-in, then don't get room 11 or 12. The food at the restaurant is fantastic! The staff were also very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBuck85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Their webside may give the impression of an ordinary hotel, but you will get surprised. The whole place is so well laid out that you want to stay for more. Their restaurant is partially outside with magnificent views of the city, the staff is more than friendly and the food lovely. And when you go to bed, you may well lokk up at a beautiful carved wooden ceiling. Don't be in doubt, this is the place to stay when in Berat.

Room Tip: Those in the back are less noisy and very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrCurious60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel offered really tip top accommodation. Beautifully restored and extended. Our room was in a little court yard to the rear of the main hotel; very traditional in style, complete with open fire place....but with modern bathroom and good air conditioning and fridge. The roof top restaurant served good food at very reasonable prices and had amazing views in three directions over town, river and mountains. Very well located for town, busses, river walks and castle. Would also like to visit in winter!

Room Tip: Upper rooms for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolandRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deggendorf
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The hotel is built in traditional style and fits harmoniously into the existing line of houses along the street leading to the old town on the hill. You immediately feel comfortably both inside and outside the hotel. Parking is available right in the street outside the hotel.

The Hotel Mangalemi is easy to find. It is conveniently located in relation to the old and new town of Berat. However, one should not underestimate the 300-meter long steep rise of the street to the historic centre if you prefer to walk. Alternatively, you can also take your car to a parking lot just outside the gate to the Old Town.
The new town of Berat is quite near to the hotel but was not very attractive at the time of our visit due to extensive construction work going on. The footbridge across the Osum River, from where the postcard motives of Berat are usually taken is only a short walk from the hotel.
The hotel restaurant on the rooftop terrace of the hotel is highly recommended because of its nice views.

The staff at the reception were very friendly and spoke English. The waiters in the restaurant were committed people, too.

Both the buffet breakfast and the evening meals were of good quality.

We were given a quiet superior room in a back part of the hotel. It was furnished in traditional style, very spacious, somewhat dark and had a private, secluded terrace. The mattresses of the bed were good, there was a refrigerator and the air conditioning worked perfectly. The only problem was that the wireless signal in the room was rather weak.

The hotel can really be recommended and is probably one of the best houses among those in traditional style in Albania. Watch your step when you walk around in the hotel as there are many steps. The room rates are quite appropriate.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sumavax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berat hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belgrad Mangalem
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nasho Vruho
Hotel Nasho Vruho
#6 of 38 in Berat
149 reviews
1.0 mi away
Castle Park
Castle Park
#9 of 38 in Berat
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Klea
Hotel Restaurant Klea
#1 of 38 in Berat
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vila Aleksander
Hotel Vila Aleksander
#5 of 38 in Berat
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
White City
White City
#3 of 19 in Berat
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mangalemi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mangalemi

Property: Hotel Mangalemi
Address: Rruga Mihal Komneno, Berat, Albania
Location: Albania > Berat County > Berat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Berat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mangalemi 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mangalemi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing