We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel but nothing special”
Review of Cuu Long A Hotel

Cuu Long A Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vinh Long
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cuu Long A Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vinh Long
Pensacola, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Decent hotel but nothing special”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with my brother. The hotel is a very good value- about $15 a night for a twin room which also included breakfast. The room was clean, the air conditioner worked quite well and I felt pretty safe there. The staff at the front desk was polite but seemed uninterested and not exactly willing to help. I'm not sure if this was the language barrier or what. The food at the breakfast buffett was a bit of a mystery. They only things I could identify were eggs, fried rice, and pineapple. Everything else was unfamiliar to me and since the signs were in Vietnamese and not English, I had no way of figuring out what they were. They food was decent but I was craving a greasy, Western breakfast by the time we left.

Even though I felt pretty safe there, the door from my room to the hallway at to the balcony had no deadbolts on them. The door to the balcony was very flimsy and had a space underneath it of about 2 inches where insects, heat, and LOTS OF NOISE could easily infiltrate our room.

There is WiFi in the hotel and it worked pretty well. The hotel is also in a good location, right across the street from the Mekong River and the dock where you catch river cruises. It is also right down the street from a bustling food market.

Considering the limited amount of hotels to choose from in Vinh Long, I'd say this hotel was decent and I would stay there again, but it wasn't anything spectacular.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle_p630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
12
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed here for a night and I found it good value. $15 dollars for a massive twin room with sweeping views of the river. Had decent TV channels and good air-con....clean towels and a well kept toilet. There was a very nice lady at reception and I found the place to be very safe. Would definitely stay here again if I was passing through Vinh Long....

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

There is little choice in Vinh Long and after a very long day travelling we just wanted to hit the sack. The room was on the ground floor near to the kitchen, there were employees smoking outside of our room and it was obstructed by chairs.
The room was dirty, ciggerette butts on the floor and hadnt been swept in a long time. All night party upstairs until around 3am, wouldnt recommend.

Room Tip: Wouldnt eat here.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sahrialoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vinh Long hotels

Brighouse,West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Nice hotel with lovely spacious room with balcony overlooking river. Not many places to eat in town but ended up spending one night at their restaurant across the road and the next night having a picnic on our balcony watching all the boats on the rivet which was great fun. There's a big supermarket nearby and markets just round the corner. Bear in mind that everywhere closes by 10pm.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heppies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We had a double overlooking the river. The room was ok for the price. Good size. Beds comfortable. Bath. But shower head way too low (and I'm short!).
The location is good in terms of being on the river for tours and nice view. But terrible for noise. No problem with karaoke noise, but the river noise starts up at about 5am, very loud. (Hotel is opposite ferry.)
Staff uninterested and unhelpful. Only 1 seemed to have any English. We had a problem with our booking (agent's fault, not the hotel's) and they didn't seem at all interested in trying to help sort it out.
Ok Vietnamese breakfast options but terrible western options (eg. coffee without sugar).
For dinner, the only restaurant nearby seems to be the one across the road where breakfast is provided. But it's worth taking a taxi to Thien Tan.
Before you book this hotel, check out the newish hotel opposite the Coop Mart which is cheaper (and can't be worse).

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shepfamile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We stayed in the new wing of this hotel for one. The rooms are OK, especially taking into acoount the price you pay. They are big, clean, the bathroom is OK as well and I found the bed to be quite comfortable. Nothing special but nothing really bad either. Contrary to the other reviews, the stuff we delt with did speak some English. The breakfast was served in the restaurant next door and didn't look too attractive. We organized some baot trips and a minibus to Ho Chi Minh via Cuu Long tourist office - everything as promised with no problems at all.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdmdmd_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weeki Wachee, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stay in Vinh Long every two months. We have stayed in many hotels in the area and this hotel is a good hotel in the area. Do NOT expect 5 star service as this is a 2 star hotel. The rooms are large and spacious which is rare for Vietnam. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and in good condition. Beds are hard as they are in most of this country. This hotel is centrally located and right across from the Mekong River. Breakfast is acceptable but far from exceptional. Hotel staff is friendly BUT they do not speak English. I am lucky because my fiancee is Vietnamese. If you want to take tours stay away from Cuu travel because they will charge you more. To take a boat tour go across the street from the hotel, to the right of the restaurant and negotiate a boat tour. We took a tour, which lasted half the day, for the equivalent of 10USD.

Room Tip: Speak Vietnamese for the best deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RichieRich2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vinh Long
19.8 mi away
Kimtho Hotel
Kimtho Hotel
#11 of 46 in Can Tho
31 reviews
5.6 mi away
Mekong Riverside Boutique Resort & Spa
19.4 mi away
Victoria Can Tho Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cuu Long Hotel Vinh Long
Cuu Long Hotel Vinh Long
#6 of 15 in Vinh Long
3 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mekong Lodge
Mekong Lodge
#1 of 3 in Cai Be
624 reviews
1.2 mi away
Phuong Thao Homestay
Phuong Thao Homestay
#2 of 16 in Vinh Long
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuu Long A Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuu Long A Hotel

Property: Cuu Long A Hotel
Address: 1, 1/5 St. Province, Vinh Long 91000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Vinh Long Province > Vinh Long
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vinh Long
Number of rooms: 349

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing