We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe a 4-star in the region, but not a true 4-star”
Review of Sea Light Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Light Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Rach Gia
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Sea Light Hotel is suppose to be a 4-star, but my experience with it was closer towards a 2 or 3 star (and that is reflected in the price). However, Rach Gia by itself is a fairly small and undeveloped town, so it won't surprise me if Sea Light is one of the best hotels in the area. First off, it is not situated in the core of the city; it is off to the side a bit. When I was there (April 2014), the whole area was still being developed - there was construction being done on a bridge near by. Maybe the area will be more developed in 5 years or so. The lobby area was pretty dark and had no A/C. Thank god there was A/C in our room though. We also saw a dead bat in the hall way, and we were surprised it was still there the next day. The room was spacious, but a bit dim. The bathroom looked a bit old. We did get a nice view of the city though. The hotel was also really quiet, not sure how many other guests were staying with us.

We had an early flight to catch the next day, so we asked if we can get breakfast around 6 AM, but unfortunately breakfast starts at 6:30 AM here. They did call us a cab to get us to the airport on time.

Overall, don't expect too much from this hotel. Then again, you are in Rach Gia, which is not exactly a developed town (they are trying to boost the night life along the beach though).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhtraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea_Light_Hotel, Sales Staff at Sea Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2015

Dear guest,
I'm very sorry that some trouble while you stay in our hotel. To improve the better services and customer satisfaction we have changed many things in our hotel. The staff is trained more .
Now we are applying the promotions about the room rate and service. I hope to have a chance to serve you again.
Have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 62 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

I booked for the gym, and the running machines are sitting there with a sign that says “broken”, yesterday there wasn’t towels in the room, but that’s probably because I arrived earlier. Today for breakfast there was no bread, 5 minutes ago I wanted a Club Sandwich and there’s no Club Sandwich. Finally got back to my room, it’s 14.40 (left at 8.45) and the room is not done. I hoped that in a 4 stars the language barrier was not there but they barely speak any english.

Tomorrow I’m checking out, there’s no way I’m spending 14 nights in a place like this.

Room Tip: I booked 15 nights at the Sea Light Hotel in Rach Gia, Vietnam. However the hotel is really, really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dataset_fail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea_Light_Hotel, Sales Staff at Sea Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2015

Dear guest,
The food problem is improved better and we also get many positive feedback about it. We are applying the promotion about the room rate and it acttract many visitors. We are still listening the opinions of customer everyday to gradually improve.
I hope next time you will more satisfaction.
Have a good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed here for a night- I think we may have been the only guests in this large hotel!
It's in the middle of no where land, although one day a new bridge is opening nearby which may improve things. Room was ok, large with a view as we were in the 6 th floor in this low rise city.
Need to get a good price to stay here. We ate out on the street.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PKC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea_Light_Hotel, Sales Staff at Sea Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2015

Dear guest,
Thanks for your review. I will pay attentions to problems that you prompted and complete it better.
Now tourists staying at the hotel I have risen more. Beside that, we have a new chef for restaurant so the quality of food is improved. We are looking forward to hear many comments to improve more.
I hope you will feel more comfortable when you stay in Sealight hotel next time.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Everything about being here was incredible. The service was amazing. The deluxe room that we were upgraded to was perfect and modern. The reception and staff were really friendly and helpful. Close to the port that connects rach gia and phu quoc. Would def recommend to everyone and will stay here again!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sabihah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea_Light_Hotel, Sales Staff at Sea Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2015

Dear guest,
Thank for your choice to stay in Sealight hotel. And we had a new chef in restaurant and we also received many feedbacks. Now we are applying the promotions about the room rate and the service.
We hope to serve you again in next time.
With regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our overall experience with this hotel was disappointing!! General atmosphere and environment was depressing as there were few customers there. The rooms smelled unfresh. Breakfast was included but no much was offered except for poor quality coffee!!!!! We'll never stay there again....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluedovePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea_Light_Hotel, Sales Staff at Sea Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2015

Dear guest,
Sorry for take a long time to reply to your comments. We always record customer's assessment about our hotel. The chef in restaurant is changed and we also get many better feedbacks from clients. Promotional campaign is being widely applied in our company. We hope to serve you again.
With regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stay for one night at this resort.2 couples and one single .The couples ended up with twin beds and the single with a king size.The showers were cold.cups and kettle in room but no tea or coffee avaiable in rooms.The swimming pool very disapointing no towels, only hard chairs to sit on.Not the cleaniss ether.The mini bar as we were warned by others only had water and Pepsi available.Breakfast more for the local tourist when asking if there was any butter for toast noone knew what I wanted and brought out cheese later.Over all disapointing.

Room Tip: Rooms with view of sunset over the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glenda55255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea_Light_Hotel, Sales Staff at Sea Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2015

Dear guest,
Thank for your valuable comments about Sealight hotel. I'm so sorry for many trouble that make you unhappy. We have many big change to improve the quality of room as the service. We hope to serve you again and give you a better impression.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Was in town to visit my sick grandmother and chose this hotel because it looked the most modern and safest. We stayed there for 3 nights and on the second night we realized that we were missing money from our luggage. A total of $900 CAD was taken right out of our bag. We even put the Do Not Disturb sign on throughout the trip to avoid this situation.

After talking to hotel management, they checked the cameras and said that there was nothing suspicious but there was no way anybody could've entered without being seen. They would not let us see the video footage. Instead, they blamed us and said that we probably used it and forgot bout it. We heard that this was NOT the first time this has happened at this hotel.

We are very disappointed that such a horrible thing would happen at such a "nice" hotel. We HIGHLY recommend that you DO NOT stay here and keep your luggage locked at all times.

I am not satisfied with how the situation was dealt with and handled.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea_Light_Hotel, Sales Staff at Sea Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2015

Dear guest,
Sorry for reply lately. The security issues is improved more. Now we have the big promotions about the rate and service. But we still ensuring quality will make you satisfied.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rach Gia hotels
0.7 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#2 of 8 in Rach Gia
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoa Binh - Rach Gia Resort
1 mi away
Sea Stars Hotel
Sea Stars Hotel
#6 of 8 in Rach Gia
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Sai Gon Rach Gia Hotel
Sai Gon Rach Gia Hotel
#3 of 8 in Rach Gia
17 reviews
0.7 mi away
Henry Hotel  (Khach San Henry)
0.7 mi away
Kiet Hong Hotel
Kiet Hong Hotel
#1 of 37 in Rach Gia
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Light Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Light Hotel

Address: A11 - 3/2 Street, Rach Gia, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Rach Gia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Rach Gia
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Light Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Sea Light Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing