We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good in Rach Gia.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hoa Bien

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rach Gia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Hoa Bien
Ranked #5 of 35 Rach Gia B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
274 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good in Rach Gia.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights before our flight to Phu Quoc. The hotel is in a quiet part of the city with residential housing and only a short walk to the ferries and shops. The staff is kind but speaks no English. The owner who speaks English was away at the time but they phoned him to translate if there was a problem. The rooms are a good size and clean - and serviced daily. Breakfast is not included but can be arranged for 2.5 $ per person.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NZfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I flew into Rach Gia from HCMC to begin our land journey to Cambodia (Rach Gia - Ha Tien - Kep). We arrived in Rach Gia at 7:00 AM, grabbed motos in the rain (quintessential Vietnam!), and headed to Hotel Hoa Bien. Even though we didn't have reservations, the owner, who speaks English (he previously lived in Texas), came to meet us out front and helped settle up our moto tabs. He gave us a clean, spotless room even though it was hours before check in, which was a blessing, since we had been traveling on international over night flights non-stop for 4 days at that point. We grabbed some pho in Rach Gia town center, then crashed for a few hours in our spotless quiet A/C room. We spent a day and 1/2 exploring Rach Gia, which was a great chance to explore a non-touristy slice of Vietnam. I highly recommend leaving the waterfront area and heading into town from some food and coffee. The language barrier can be a challenge, but with a little patience and gesturing, you'll quickly get to see the hospitality and warmth of the town. Finally, when it was time for us to leave, the owner helped coordinate our bus tickets to Ha Tien, and made us a delicious breakfast (including lovely Vietnamese iced coffee - "cafe sua da"!) I can't recommend Hotel Hoa Bien and the town of Rach Gia enough for those who are interested in getting off the beaten (touristy) path in Vietnam!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BelleScarpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saigon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Clean, comfortable, cheap etc etc. Exceptional service and very friendly, helpful and welcoming staff. Easy walk to the ferry for Phu Quoc Island. Great place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanchee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

We spent one night at Hoa Bien Hotel on our way to Phu Quoc (the hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the docks from which the ferry to Phu Quoc leaves). All the great reviews we had read about it on TA were soon confirmed: beautiful, modern interiors, large, well-furnished rooms, spotlessly clean, with all the comforts you would expect in a four-star European hotel. The location of Hoan Bien is of equally high standards: a quiet, elegant neighborhood with pretty houses, clean streets and a well-kept small park where kids play. We slept like kings. The owner is extremely nice and helpful (he can provide ferry tickets to Phu Quoc, for example), speaks excellent English and prepares a very good breakfast, Vietnamese or international according to your preferences. The quality/price ratio of the hotel is immense.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ggg79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

After having accomidation from hell, this place is a slice of heaven. English speaking host & the place is spotless Clean ! Really nice in general. Felt a bit like a 4star hotel.
It did coat us 440,000vnd including a fantastic scrambled egg breakfast & Vietnams finest coffee :D
Located in a very new suburban area in Rach Gia - almost a copie cat of an American setting the way the place is set. On the ocean front with a awsome seafood restaurant (cheap) $7 for the two of us including drinks. With sum English speaking service.
Even if you havent had bad experiences in Vietnam, still this one is a top pick from me & this dosent happen often as I can be rather fussy.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyWildey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

we needed a place to stay in rach gia so that we could catch the ferry the next morning. coming from can tho after a long day, we didn't expect much and were basically hoping for a clean bed. we had the best surprise! This lovely little hotel has fantastic, tasteful rooms that make you feel immediately at home (possibly nicer than at home!). The hotel is located in a nice neighborhood near the ferry and across from - hands down - the BEST shrimp in tamarind sauce in all of Vietnam.
The owner of Hoa Bien is a nice, resourceful and helpful man who clearly takes great pride in his fantastic establishment. He recommended a great restaurant for that evening (see above), got us the last two available ferry tickets for the next morning, and possibly most importantly - recommended what was a great place to stay in phu quoc island (the family hotel), which we were very, very happy about. It was such a nice surprise, a great respite from traveling after a long day and just a lovely place to spend the night. Highly, highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stnzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rach Gia, Vietnam
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

The Hoa Bien Hotel is run by an exceptional man named Mr Chau. He is always helpful for me and ever willing to make my stay convenient and pleasurable. For example he helped me to get my phone unlocked at a local shop. His English is very good having previously come back to Rach Gia from living in USA. I recommend this hotel to any traveller coming to stay in Rach Gia

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rach Gia hotels
0.4 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#2 of 8 in Rach Gia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea Stars Hotel
Sea Stars Hotel
#6 of 8 in Rach Gia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hoa Binh - Rach Gia Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sai Gon Rach Gia Hotel
Sai Gon Rach Gia Hotel
#3 of 8 in Rach Gia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiet Hong Hotel
Kiet Hong Hotel
#1 of 35 in Rach Gia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kim Co Hotel
Kim Co Hotel
#13 of 35 in Rach Gia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hoa Bien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hoa Bien

Property: Hotel Hoa Bien
Address: L15 - No:1-2 Dinh Liet Street | 16ha Ward, Rach Gia, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Rach Gia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Rach Gia
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing