We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lonely out of season”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sasco Blue Lagoon Resort
Ranked #80 of 98 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lonely out of season”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Just on the edge of the peak seaon, still very quiet at this resort, but most others nearby seemed the same. Weather apparently responsible for rough waves and murky seas on the nearby beach meaning swimming in the pool, which was spotless and lovely, a better option.
Staff helpful overall, though often relaxing as a group until a guest had a request, as they didnt seem to have much to do..Needs a bit of a freshen up overall but our rooms clean and comfortable. Didnt think in was as bad as previous reviews...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OConnells8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    62
    58
    47
    26
See reviews for
61
88
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
404 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

N10°12'26.39" E103°57'41.35" The peak tourist season on Phu Quoc Island starts in October, so Blue Lagoon resort in September of 2010 was in deep hibernation. Except for the weekends when wealthy Vietnamese jet set fly in to enjoy their new acquired status. But during midweek we were left with one other couple, little staff to look after the guests (no life guard at the pool or beach and nobody cleaning the beach), no breakfast buffet, no Internet (wireless is available according to the reception), nobody dining in the Neptune restaurant, no pool bar (out of order for a long time) and no Twilight beach bar too (same reason). So we joined the neighbors at the fully operational and fully booked Saigion Phu Quoc resort next door. Splendid resort.
The bungalow inside looks clean and maintained and has A/C. Only the design of the bathroom is a bit strange. It’s one big shower including toilet and sink. After showering there is no dry space left.
The Blue Lagoon resort has three different kind of accommodation, so know what you are booking: a hotel with balconies overlooking the sea, two-story apartment blocks with 4 apartments each and bungalow blocks with 4 bungalows each.
Next to the hotel and tennis court is a small building with a big and loud diesel engine, running long hours and spreading noise and diesel fumes over the resort. Is it a power generator? We don’t know, because it didn’t protect us from frequent power outages off-season. We don’t want to know what happens during high season.
The resort itself, build in 2007, is clean but maintenance is lacking behind. The pool is very nice and clean (we were the only guests at the pool) and the garden looks lovely, but the bridge over the pool is on the verge of collapse. Overall, much maintenance, refurbishment and staff training is needed to become a serious contender to the Saigon Phu Quoc resort next door. We don’t see this happening.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goyourownway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phu Quoc Island hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We have visited this hotel twice, last November and in June this year. Our November visit was not quite as bad due to the peak tourist season and fantastic weather. this meant we did not really use the hotels appalling resources as all the resturants and bars within walking distance were all open. In June which is low season the apparent lack of service and facilities does become far more noticeable as there are not too many other places to go to. The breakfast was appalling and as it was low season it was as if doing breakfast for the guests was too much trouble.
As other have commented this resort is seriously run down and sadly no one seems to care if guests stay there or not. From my second visit in particular I did notice the focus of the resort has moved towards Vietnamese package tours from Hanoi and this seems to be where the have set there marketing strategy. Great shame really because it could be great, if only the management cared about their guests.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeepMovin255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

hardly anyone else around; we were the only ones at the pool most days. This hotel has obviously seen better days, we saw sunbeds lying rotting on the beach and round the pool, the water feature round the restaurant was empty and dirty and the pool bar the same. Filthy barbecues outside the restaurant which wasn't particularly clean, nor were the public area toilets. Our room was okay although the shower was pretty grotty. The gardens were beautiful and clearly well maintained. We soon got fed up with the karaoke going on next door; seemed to go on for days. Wouldn't recommend which is a shame because if they took their finger out...................

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilly00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We went to the Blue Lagoon because it was closest to the Moon Resort (which is horrible) and our little 1,5 year old daughter needed a break. We paid 70 USD for a garden view room, next to a karaoke bar. If you decide to stay here, ask for a room that is far away from this karaoke bar except if you like singing and swinging in your bed.

Good points about this resort: nice swimming pool, nice beach, very cool (airco) reception area, huge breakfast.

Bad points: bad maintenance, not value for money, karaoke bar next to hotel, lots of stairs and bad paths what makes walking for a little kid quite tough.

After having checked in, I rented a bicyle and made a tour along Long Beach, to discover if I was able to find the paradise I was looking for. And I did: the Mai House Resort (85 USD for sea view bungalow). Other good choices are: Paris Beach Resort (around 35 USD a night, owned by two French that are most of the time in Paris which might be a disadvantage because it will probably be run by Vietnamese then), the Beach Resort next door, Cuu Long Resort (only ask for the bungalows, very friendly staff, around 70 USD), Eden Resort (expensive, at least 108 USD a night, there are still constructing the place).

Enjoy Phu Quoc and rent a moto-bike or a normal bike!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank soeske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We were supposed to stay 7 days but after two in this dirt hole, we fleed. The restaurant tables with cigarette burns, chairs cut and soiled with bubble gum. Walking from our room to the restaurant, broken glasses in the grass. Cigarette butts in the swimming pool. The socalled business center consists of two computers in the lobby. Right beside the computer desk, the wall was completely moldy. Behind the couch in the lobby, on the wall the same thing - black mold. Wanted to quickly check my emails, and luckily noted that the chair was completed wet from someones wet bathing suit. We had a socalled luxury bungalow but it was a disaster. No closed shower cabin so that one could pooh and take a shower at the same time. This lead to water getting into the bedroom part. Moved into a normal room but at least it was modern with enclosed shower. Then there were extra matresses everything outside out rooms. Saw rats because the people eat in their rooms and then just through the excess food over the balcony! Checked out after two days. Had an early flight so went for breakfast at 6:00am. Thats apparently when they were supposed to be open. Only half the food was out and the staff was having breakfast themselves and didnt bother with us. Went into the kitchen myself and got plain toast bread to toast. The coldcuts and cheese were simply left open and everybody took their bare hands to put onto their plates. Disgusting manners. Ate out around the corner. Cannot recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mapleleaves49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We booked an all-inclusive from Ho Chi Minh, including the flight and transfer to the hotel. The breakfast was included, but not the rest of the meals. The breakfast was buffet style and was very good, the food variety was large, occidental and asian. One member of the staff spoke good english, the others didn't. The beach was very private, since we went there during low season, we had almost the whole beach to ourselves.
Major plus: bungalow style rooms, staff very helpful.
Major minus: beach were not the cleanest, everything was pricey.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jollchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Kim Hoa Resort
Kim Hoa Resort
#17 of 47 in Duong Dong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hoa Binh Phu Quoc Hotel
Hoa Binh Phu Quoc Hotel
#65 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort
Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort
#34 of 47 in Duong Dong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tropicana Resort Phu Quoc
Tropicana Resort Phu Quoc
#10 of 47 in Duong Dong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orange Resort
Orange Resort
#22 of 119 in Duong Dong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Richis Beach Resort
Richis Beach Resort
#6 of 47 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sasco Blue Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sasco Blue Lagoon Resort

Property: Sasco Blue Lagoon Resort
Address: 64 Tran Hung Dao St Duong Dong Town, Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang, Vietnam, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sasco Blue Lagoon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sasco Blue Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sasco Blue Lagoon Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing