We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay in Phu Quoc!”
Review of Mai House Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mai House Resort
Ranked #22 of 98 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay in Phu Quoc!”
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We arrived in Phu Quoc having researched many places prior to arriving but not one place really hit the spot so we decided to find a place on arrival - we are normally very lucky in finding great places. We had been recommended to try Mai Spa which offers wonderful treatments so we headed there initially but the room we were offered was very basic - a bed and a wardrobe and that was it! We travelled further down the beach stopping at places on the way and eventually arrived at Mai House. We were completely taken by the lovely coconut grove on the beach and we met Gerard the owner to see if there was a room free. We stayed in a garden bungalow and loved it. The room is well decorated with a comfortable platform bed and felt like a home from home. Beautiful tropical gardens, great staff who were so friendly, great service, good food and the delicious breakfast made our stay just perfect! This place is not exactly cheap but comparing it to other places it is worth every penny and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The only comment in terms of "room for improvement" would be that offer a few more chips with their sandwiches which are not inexpensive! At $85 a night it's worth paying it if you are looking for a little luxury that is not over the top.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueskycastlejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    164
    48
    33
    18
See reviews for
73
366
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

We stayed in both a garden room without AC and a sea view room with AC. The sea view room didn't really have a view of the sea, at least not once you were inside the room. The garden room was actualy nicer and at the time of year we stayed you didn't need AC. You might depending on the time of year.

The hotel and beach are lovely. The staff are poorly trained, but very nice people even though it can be a battle to get what you want. The restaurant has consistently good food and service is better than other options on the beach.

The hotel is definitely the nicest at this price range on the beach, partly because it's about the only one at this price. That is how it gets away with over charging for it's rooms - you don't have a better option. However compared to other places in the region at this price this hotel is seriously lacking.

The furnishings in the room are very poor quality for the money - bedding etc, no drawers. Things are cleaned thoroughly above Vietnamese eye height. Breakfast is poor and things run out and aren't replaced quick enough if at all.

It is a lovely beach and a lovely hotel, but the prices have clearly shot up over recent years and not enough has been done to justify the price increases. We had a lovely time and we'd recommend the hotel if you're staying on Phu Quoc, but only because the competition is more budget and not very good.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex_Sonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2010

I stayed at Mai House with my Partner at the end of March and wanted to comment as we had been looking forward to staying here (it was supposed to a be a bit of luxury at the end of our trip). I don't understand the reviews that say the staff were friendly because we have never suffered so much poor service anywhere before having travelled extensively. You always felt like you were being a pain whatever you asked for and they were actually rude. Also the bungalows are so overpriced - yes they are lovely inside but you cannot sleep in high season as it is far too hot and there is no air conditioning (or wasn't when we stayed). Our friends paid $11 per night for a room further down the beach which had aircon and lovely staff.

On the plus side the property is based on a lovely strip of the beach, in a good location and the grounds are beautiful. We thought the food was of a good standard but still wouldn't recommend people to stay at this hotel. (This is the first review I have ever written good or bad but really felt compelled to write about this place and it has taken me 7 months to do so!)

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank julietlewis81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

We arrived after the hustle and bustle of Saigon and were thrilled to arrive at Mai House. It was calm and peaceful with a beautiful view down to the beach. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a deluxe beach bungalow with air con which was worth every penny. The food was great but we also visited the night market which was a great experience and the food was very good and cheap! lovely fresh fish and seafood.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandaHorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

It is very good,authentic with many flowers. Staff is very good, they help to steam the scarab we buy in the market and even offer the free foot massage. Room is clean,and simple decoration, it has air condition now. The only noisy is many mosquito.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jin1169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

Mai House is everything SE Asian beach lodging should be. It is charming, sits on a beautiful beach and is affordable. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The restaurant is excellent - I was able to order Vietnamese dishes that weren't listed on the menu. In fact, I saw many guests of other resorts come to eat at the restaurant. The rooms are well appointed and charming. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, traveling on any budget.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ijetset2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

Gerard told us, about three times, that the rate for a bungalow is 17$ per night. he even said the words one-seven.
when we had to pay, he charged us 70$ per night. my english is not the best, but i can understand one and seven and i definitely know the difference between seventy and seventeen!!!
becareful with mai house resort and don´t pay 70$ per night!!! you can definitely find much better bunglowas for that price. i would not pay more that 20$ for that kind of bungalows (only with fen, no fridge, stinky, ... and unfriendly manager).

never, never, never again!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank p_mr_nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 47 in Duong Dong
1,097 reviews
10.2 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#9 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
569 reviews
14.5 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thanh Kieu Beach Resort
Thanh Kieu Beach Resort
#9 of 47 in Duong Dong
387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc
Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc
#8 of 47 in Duong Dong
658 reviews
0.9 mi away
Famiana Resort & Spa
Famiana Resort & Spa
#10 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai House Resort

Property: Mai House Resort
Address: Long Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mai House Resort is located on Long Beach, 5 kms away from Duong Dong city and the airport. The resort is located on a 2 hectares tropical garden, right on the beach with only 30 accommodations units (26 with AC&FAN, 4 with only FAN) each bungalow is separated from the others to preserve tranquility and privacy of our guests. A bar-restaurant right on the beach prepares Vietnamese seafood specialties, barbecue and Western food.A beach fully equipped with sunshades, sunloungers and beach towels. Each bungalow with thatched roof is private with a furnished balcony, a bungalow with king size 4 poster bed with mosquito net, a private bathroom (shower) with hot water and toilet and a closet with safety box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mai House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai House Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Mai Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Mai Phu Quoc Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing