We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mai House Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mai House Resort
Ranked #18 of 95 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Pinner, Middlesex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Everything you could need. The bungalows are lovely, the location is fab as is the beach. Beautiful. The resort also respects the natural habitat unlike the Veranda. They were really helpful. The bathrooms are lovely. Really happy!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samanthab1485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    161
    48
    33
    18
See reviews for
72
362
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

The MAI HOUSE is just a little Paradise on the white sand Long Beach with an excellent restaurant! The bungalows are very beautiful decorated with lots of love & elegant taste, embedded in an amazing very well keep tropical garden! Hold by a french-vietnamese couple Gérard & Tan the place is well known since years & calm, clean, relaxing & always welcoming with a very nice service!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

10 minutes taxi ride from the new International Airport and right in the middle of Long Beach Mai House is a fantastic base from which to enjoy this tropical paradise.

Although not cheap, the rooms at Mai House are excellent. Accommodation is in the form of self contained bungalows set back from the beach in immaculately maintained gardens. The price of the bungalow dictates how near the beach it is.

Many other places along the beach seem over developed but Mai House have resisted this instead limiting the bungalows on site to around 30 and keeping most of the place as gardens.

The service in all areas was fantastic. We arrived very early (8am) as we were on an early flight. We went to reception expecting to be able to drop our bags there while we wait until the afternoon when we could check in. Instead they told us to go grab a coffee in the restaurant and they cleaned a room for us there and then so we could check in early.

The food and drink in the restaurant was great. We never ate there at night however, choosing instead to eat out and about around the island. It's worth noting, like many have done before, that the small seafood restaurant next door is excellent!

Our room at Mai House was one of the best I've ever stayed in. No TV admittedly but this only encourages you to get out and go make the most of this stunning island.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markfromblackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in Feb 2013 and was very impressed by the property. The grounds are impeccably well-kept, the bungalows are tastefully set back from the beach, and our ocean-view bungalow (with A/C and mosquito net) served us really well. Of course you're staying in a thatch-roof bungalow, so mosquito netting is a major bonus. There are always a few other guests in your room with you.

Restaurant on-site is very good for salads and snacks, but we never did a full dinner here. Service is friendly and beach is very nice. It doesn't have a party vibe, which is welcome for us. Just mellow and relaxing. A cab into downtown will cost you a few bucks or you can take a long hike down the beach to get there.

I'd highly recommend this spot. Especially if you can score the rate we did ($80/night via Agoda.com).

Room Tip: Bungalow 9 (Ocean view) is very nice. Rooms in the back are crammed a little closer together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed in a garden bungalow with A/C for 5 nights in March 2013.

The bungalow came nicely furnished with a comfy porch, a big comfortable bed, good shower, and was clean, except from quite some stains of what looked like blood from violently deceased mosquitos on our mosquito net. Things one might want to know about the room: no TV, no fridge, no door but a curtain to the bathroom, laundry service expensive (lots of stores up to the main street do your laundry for a fifth of the Mai House price).

The garden is beautiful and taken care of, opening up towards a likewise beautiful part of long beach.

Breakfast is plenty and very good, variety felt ok, one might like to include some Vietnamese dishes, though. The restaurant is open the whole day until 10 pm. Very nice and observant service there. Also close to other places, just stroll along the beach!

We missed a pool a bit since the sea was sometimes full of stinging jellyfish cells - the beach area is however nice enough to spend a day there anyways - you can get your sundowner from the bar brought to your sun lounger and watch the sunset!

We'd stay in Mai House again, probably also opting for a garden bungalow since most sea views are quite far away from the sea and I am a bit shortsighted...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lagomguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Mai House is perfect representation of Long Beach PQ. The relationship of buildings to the beach is well considered and creates an open feel not available at most of the other resorts we walked past. The common areas have all the best vistas so that everyone enjoys the setting rather than a few high rollers. I was very happy we chose Mai House. The landscape also shows impeccable care. In general, a brilliant planning job on the site.

The bungalow is just that, nothing fancy. A bed, bathroom, and nice patio. Bugs were an issue but that is the price to pay for setting. They were spraying the day we left.

We stayed for five nights and I could have stayed a month. we loved the staff, Phuong helped us in the restaurant and with drinks and was super helpful. He remembered our names and drinks right away and always had a friendly smile or story to share. Mrs. Mai, you have a great employee there.

The breakfast that is included was the best in our three weeks. The restaurant and cocktails were at the high end of local market. We ate some meals but like Heiu next door better for seafood and price. We had a nightcap on the beach every night in part because of the wonderful music played in the restaurant. 60's soul, jazz, and reggae- one great choice after another. Wife had to get me out of there or I would have slept on beach lounger, falling asleep to great tunes.

Onsite laundry is pricey, the bungalows just above entrance offer 20000 per kilo and did a good job. about 20000 per item at MH.

These are at high end of bungalow units but worth it to me. If I ever get back to PQ I will stay at MH.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank soprisorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

All what i expect. Best accomondation for couples and family. The best beach on Long beach. Nearly a few restorans, supermarkets and rent a bike by walk. Perfect sunsets evry day))))!!!!! Like maldivian style!!!!!

Room Tip: Garden view from #11-14 bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julietta330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
14.5 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 95 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 44 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
10.2 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#8 of 95 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#1 of 44 in Duong Dong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
1.0 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#1 of 95 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.9 mi away
Famiana Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Famiana Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
#10 of 95 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai House Resort

Property: Mai House Resort
Address: Long Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mai House Resort is located on Long Beach, 5 kms away from Duong Dong city and the airport. The resort is located on a 2 hectares tropical garden, right on the beach with only 30 accommodations units (26 with AC&FAN, 4 with only FAN) each bungalow is separated from the others to preserve tranquility and privacy of our guests. A bar-restaurant right on the beach prepares Vietnamese seafood specialties, barbecue and Western food.A beach fully equipped with sunshades, sunloungers and beach towels. Each bungalow with thatched roof is private with a furnished balcony, a bungalow with king size 4 poster bed with mosquito net, a private bathroom (shower) with hot water and toilet and a closet with safety box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mai House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai House Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Mai Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Mai Phu Quoc Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing