We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's exactly what you are looking for.”
Review of Mango Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mango Bay Resort
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's exactly what you are looking for.”
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Tucked away from the rest of the world. The choice to mingle or not to mingle. Very naturalistic and breath-taking sunsets. Hire scooters and plod around the island which is large enough to enjoy for a good week in exploration. Mango Bay Resort. All I can say is other than being a wonderful place to kick back and relax it is the SUPERB staff that make your stay a memorable one. Mr Doi couldn't do enough to help us with ANY of our requirements. He is a top-shelf facilitator and an all-round wonderful chap. We made so many friends with the staff and guests and I am still in touch with some of the guys from the resort who I will always remember for showing me how to play Volleyball Vietnam style. The place is romantic and I can't really fault it. A heaven, an idyllic piece of paradise.... catch it before the rest of the world does.

P.S The food is outstanding... and if you don't order the "special" omelette from Tai at breakfast then you haven't lived.

Thanks Mango Bay Resort.
Jamie and Geordie x

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamiepoetry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,181
    365
    82
    44
    15
See reviews for
275
1,005
62
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed here for a week and it was truly a tropical paradise. The food was delicious and imaginative, the staff very friendly, and the rooms very eco but comfortable. This was the first time we were really able to relax after a very busy year and will surely return. Loved the cocktails by Mr Tin!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaCSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Immaculate resort in an idyllic setting. Good value rooms, excellent value food and drinks. Attentive and very friendly staff.

Highly recommended, will come again.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robo_bey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2010

I came to Mango Bay with my girlfriend and we both had a really amazing stay. The location was amazing as you felt completely secluded from everything else on the island. What really made it was the helpfulness of the staff, who were always very efficient and always happy. They also managed to arrange all are departure plans which was so helpfull and worked perfectly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinArban000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

If you want somewhere away from the hussle and bussle and where the staff do everything for you and you love to eat, drink, sleep and swim, this is the place for you.

I just can't find fault with mango bay, I wish we could have spent longer. We stayed in the plantation bungalow and it was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liss22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2010

I really didn't like Mango Bay at all. Like a lot of these eco resorts its supposed commitment to saving the planet, on which there was very little concrete evidence or information, seemed to be an excuse for overpriced accommodation and disappointing facilities. We stayed in a room rather than a bungalow and it was poor.
The decor was grubby, the bathroom was dank and smelt of stagnant water, the furnishings were limited. No tv and there was no hot water either, they say it is heated by solar panel which should make it plentiful in this climate but the water was cold for the duration of our stay.
All of this would be just about acceptable in a cheap bungalow where you know what you're getting but for $75 a night we thought it made for very poor value.
Also the beach is pretty scrappy, it's unsurprising that the angle of the pics on their site is very judiciously chosen.
What made our stay even less enjoyable though was the attitude of the staff, which we thought was very poor.
They seemed surly and actively attempted guests to leave the resort to spend their money at any of their rivals, which is always an embarrassing experience.
On the plus side the food is bog standard, the wine list isn't bad and the cocktails are ok too.
My view is that Long Beach is a much better choice as you have a range of dining options at the different seafront bars and there is much more competition between the hotels on pricing. If you've decided you have to stay in that section of the island I'd go to Pleasantville, which has no beach but at least has cheery staff and good food.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2010

We visited Mango Bay resort for the first time in march 2010 and literally fell in love with the resort and the location with it's unigue style bungalows&bathrooms, low density setting, 1km of beach and ocean views and relaxed and romantic atmosphere. We were there just for a weekend getaway, but then decided we wanted to get married on this special place!!!
Ronan (manager) was very helpful and friendly and helped organize our wedding on the 30th of October 2010!! We had a 3 day wedding there and the resort&bungalows were great, the Cocktails were great (thanks Tintin), the food was outstanding (thanks Scottie!) and everything was perfect!! (except for a couple of drops of rain on our wedding day but according to the vietnamese that means good luck on your marriage)

Would recommend Mango Bay resort to everyone and hope this little gem on Phu Quoc Island will be able keep it's charm even when the Island develops itself further.

Rutger & Nadine

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RNTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
9.8 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
416 reviews
4.7 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 47 in Duong Dong
567 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 47 in Duong Dong
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#9 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
569 reviews
5.6 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#2 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
1,102 reviews
4.9 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Resort

Property: Mango Bay Resort
Address: Ong Lang Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mango Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a low density resort, driven by a passion for the environment, intelligent use of materials, and strong support for island culture. Mango Bay is tucked away off the beaten track, with Vietnam's first rammed earth bungalows, enclosed by beach and protected forest. There are no air-cons, television sets or telephones in the rooms for a true fusion with nature at the island's first eco-friendly resort. All rooms and bungalows have open sea views and offer mosquito nets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Mango Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Hotel Mango Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing