We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is pure magic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mango Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mango Bay Resort
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place is pure magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2008

This place is incredible. I recommend it very highly. The snorkelling is great, the room we stayed in (a fishermans bungalow) was really lovely, no aircon but the fans were enough to keep most of the heat out. It was terribly romantic. The food at the resort restaurant was superb. The only thing I would say was that the facilities at the resort were very expensive (50,000VND for a large water, when it is normally 5,000!) but really that is still very cheap. I could not recommend this place more highly.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NZlandess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,139
    355
    81
    44
    13
See reviews for
269
972
59
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2008

So after we spent 4 weeks traveling throughout Vietnam and Cambodia, we decided that the last 4 nights we would spend on Phu Quoc relaxing and lazing about before our long flight home.

Since most of our choice hotels were fully booked, we decided that we would pay more to stay in a secluded, rustic and most of all quiet setting. And beautiful and quiet it was! The beach was fabulous and serene, the water was just the right temperature, we had no issues with the quality of the beach and water. The scenery was just beautiful.

The restaurant on the premises was very pricey for Asian standards (for 2 drinks, 2 large bottles of water, appetizer, and 2 entrees, it came to about $30USD), but the food was spectacular and the specials changed nightly. The restaraunt staff were extremely attentive and made sure your experience there was very comfortably, relaxing, non-hurried and clean. And as long as you made it up in the morning berfore 10am or so, the breakfasts were free and very filling.

However, our problems occurred b/c the actual bungalow that we stayed in (the Fisherman's Bungalow), was very old. Now I'm the kind of gal who likes to be around nature, and we had our fair share of it, you expect to see frogs, lizards, anoles, geckos and birds around in this setting. It should not be a surprise to you if you decided to stay here to see any of these little friends, especially knowing that the bathroom is outside!

My issue was that the first night we stayed in the $100USD bungalow that was very clean inside and out and much newer. But our remainder nights we were moved to the much more dated and less private Fisherman's Bungalow which was old, missing thatching, very dingy with dirty looking tile floors and walls and the bathroom was much worse . (New paint, flooring, and new thatching would have helped.) Especially given the price you're paying to stay here, $80USD! However, the no air conditioner that the website boasts you don't need b/c of the island winds is bogus! At night it was so still and sticky you needed the plug in fan and the ceiling fan and even then you couldn't feel it inside the mosquito netting on the bed. We got clever and rigged our netting with the floor fan to have it inside the bed with us just to try and keep cool!

Our last night the problems really showed, we had a downpour lasting from 4:30pm until sometime in the early morning hours. The thatching on the roof was missing in places and water started to penetrate through onto our bed, not to mention the bathroom was flooded up to your ankles and it was raining over the missing thatching above the toilet! We told Ronan, the manager about this issue, and nothing was done to help us. So we had to take a plastic bag we had and plugged the hole up with it, we also had to move the bed far away from the holes in the ceiling.

Since there's no phones or anything there, we couldn't leave the room due to the excessive lightening and thunder, so contacting the manager again was out of the question. Heck, we couldn't even use the bathroom for fear of getting electricuted from the lightening and large pool we were walking in. There probably wouldn't have been a pool in the bathroom if the clogged drained had worked properly but since it didn't we were stuck.

Other problems we noted:

They don't tell you this when you check in, but the power is extremely low during the day, and so any lighting in the room is dim and the fans pretty much stop running. Until about 5-5:30pm when the hotel turns on their own generators (mainly for dinner) and then turns it off again between 9:30pm-10:30pm, from which you are back on city power and the room is once again dark so you can't even read and hot b/c the fans aren't moving.

We also didn't like the fact that despite being at a resort, that we were gouged on everything. From the canoe rental of $8USD an hour (which we could rent at that price here in WA), and the $1 USD that they charged for use of their cruddy snorkles and masks. It seemed to us that letting us use the snorkles or canoes for no additional charge would be a minimal cost to the hotel. Yes, they give you a total of 4 free little waters a day, but if you want a cold large one it's double of what you'd pay elsewhere in the country.

Mango Bay is what it is. Your enjoyment will depend on what you are looking for. The food and beach are wonderful, but the lodging left a lot to be desired. Perhaps at $40/night one would overlook a leaking roof and flooded bathroom, but at their rates I think a higher level of maintenance, confort, and cleanliness should be expected. We expected a rustic environement, but to me, rustic does not equal unclean and unsafe.

  • Liked — The Beach and Restaraunt
  • Disliked — The room's overall lack of cleanliness, privacy, dinginess, the hard bed, and the flooding
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank shelkcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2008

So as you can imagine, you didn't really feel comfortable bathing and walking on the beach.
The rooms were big, but you really have to like bugs to stay there, as the rooms are wide open for all types and sizes of creep. Also, the bathrooms are outdoors, which is ok, except for when you have to pee at night... and when you have to check for bugs on the toilet before you sit down.
As the place is so far away everything is very expensive. The food and service is fine, but all in all its too expensive for what you get.
After 3 days at Mango Bay we moved on to Beach Club further south along the coast. A much better deal. Same type of rooms but only 20$ and the food was half price.
Like many other places in Nam, they should teach the staff just the basic phrases in English. It would just make everything a whole lot easier.
By the way; don't use the spa. Expensive and poor.
But to end on a positive note, the view was fantastic.

  • Liked — The view and calm
  • Disliked — Dirty beach and bugs in room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SweetnessCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2008

As a boutique tour operater based in Australia we are very critical of where we stay. Mango Bay is a haven of quiet serenity away from the incessant noise of Vietnam that is hard to escape from.
The staff were superb and friendly, rooms were very clean with great beach views. The food is to die for and to sit with your feet in the sand on a comfy couch sipping frozen Margaritas at sunset with the ocean metres away is hard to beat.

The French management keep a good reign over the efficiency of service and the cleanliness of the property. Every week they pull every stick of furniture out of the restaurant and scrub the place from top to bottom - not too often have I seen this in Asia over the past 25 years of travel - great work guys.
If I could find a negative it is the mattresses, they are a little hard otherwise don't hesitate to pull up stumps for a few days there. Think of me when you are downing an icy Saigon with a glowing Phu Quoc sunset - cheers. Pedro O'C

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank PedrosAmigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempten
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2008

We spent three days at Mango Bay Resort. The hut No 16 with a great seaview seemed to be romantic but we didn´t like the big spiders ("no die - only a swollen arm etc") which seemed to feel home in our room. I had to kill five big spiders and I couldn´t feel comfortable in a room with doors having open gaps and gaps at the top of its walls in the bathroom. I also killed a black spider which I was told would be more poisonous.......By the way, the doors could not be locked, but that was no problem because the blinds of the windows could be opened easily. Snorkeling trips were never offered, we were explained that there was low season, so no trips would take place.....So we had to spend all the time at the resort and the prices at the restaurant were rather high. So we enjoyed the wonderful scenery but we didn´t really relax due to the bugs and after three days we left because no trips were offered

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Prices at restauran, bugs
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank StefanieAllgaeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle,Washington USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2008

We stayed at the Mango Bay Resort a month ago and it was nice and sunny all day. Air conditioning is not needed! With ceiling fan and or floor fan is more then enough. There is a breeze coming off the ocean most of the time. Do not center your hotel or resort choice around a swimming pool. Just not needed there like on the mainland of Vietnam. If you like private secluded beach away from it all in a natural location with super good choice foods in there restaurant...Then give the Mango Bay a go. Dine outside there and see the sunset every night right in front of you! There were no bugs and the rooms were clean with great service all around. They have there own boat to take you to the 2 reefs for snorkling. Have a car pick you up for the day to see the island for $55. Have them take you to visit the pepper farm,water park,market and South Beach for local swimming and restaurants right on the beach.

  • Liked — Peaceful get away with sun and swimming
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank goldpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2008

We've just spend 5 weeks in Vietnam and our stay in Phu Quoc's Mango Bay Resort was a highlight.
We consulted tripadvisor and originally wanted to stay at Bo resort, since we saw comments about a bad manager in Mango Bay. However, since our first choice was fully booked, we tried Mango Bay and were really pleased! The old manager is gone for nearly one year (!) and the French person who is now in charge is outstanding: discrete and higly efficient when needed. He is assisted by a Vietnamese person who is also very friendly and helpfull.
We appreciated details such as free beach towels, free bottles of water twice a day...
It's a lovely place to swim, read and unwind.

  • Liked — beautifull views
  • Disliked — price of the rent of a kayak
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BelgiumVero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
10.0 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
4.6 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#1 of 44 in Duong Dong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 44 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#8 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
5.6 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#1 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
4.8 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Resort

Property: Mango Bay Resort
Address: Ong Lang Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mango Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a low density resort, driven by a passion for the environment, intelligent use of materials, and strong support for island culture. Mango Bay is tucked away off the beaten track, with Vietnam's first rammed earth bungalows, enclosed by beach and protected forest. There are no air-cons, television sets or telephones in the rooms for a true fusion with nature at the island's first eco-friendly resort. All rooms and bungalows have open sea views and offer mosquito nets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Mango Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Hotel Mango Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing