We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great eco resort!”
Review of Mango Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mango Bay Resort
Ranked #9 of 111 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a great place to relax after the more hectic mainland! We finished our holiday in Vietnam at this resort. A great decision. We were able to relax in beautiful surroundings. We were met at the airport and transferred to the resort. Our room was lovely with a nice view of the ocean. The outdoor bathroom was a treat! You have to realise this is an eco resort, with some hot water but no air con. we didn't find this to be a major drawback at all.
The food was very good, with a BBQ grill at the beach bar a highlight. Breakfast was terrific, with a great choice and plenty to start the day. There were plenty of loungers and tables on the beach and good swimming, although quite rough, especially for children. Loved the sunsets and the night sounds of the surrounding woodlands. Recommend this as a hidden gem.

Room Tip: Lovely spa centre to use as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianandShelagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

697 - 703 of 1,766 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and i really enjoyed staying at Mango Bay Resort. We were picked up at the airport without any problems are drove straight there. (Some of the roads to the resort can be a bit rough, but it is part of the adventure). We were greeted with a cold drink and given a brief overview of the resort. We were taken to our room F01 (Fisherman Beach Front Bungalow) and was so happy with the room and bathroom. They did go the extra mile as it was my birthday and my husband requested champagne and flowers in the room and the roses were beautiful and the champagne cold. At dinner that night the staff came out with a birthday cake and sung happy birthday to me. So special.
The resort was beautiful, well kept and relaxing. The staff were amazing, friendly and very helpful. They greeted you every day as if they were your friends and would answer questions and organize trips or help with anything that may arise.The general manager was always on hand to see if there was anything he could do to make it a better experience or to recommend anything.
The food was great and the free breakfast in the morning was a fabulous choice. You could choose from 5 options and the abundance of food was staggering. Lunch and dinner were purchase separately but i found that it was not that expensive especially the cocktails. And i loved the fishermans platter from the Beach Bar.
There is a beach for swimming and lounge chairs around for relaxing. They had a computer room, with games and books.
Overall i would recommend this to familes (as children were catered for), couples or people who needed a time out. This is a eco resort so you need to keep that in mind. There is electricity but no a/c. There is hot water but of course you can't 10 minute showers.
I loved staying here and was so happy that we decided to we choose Mango Bay. Thank you to the staff, from the reception, to the servers, to gardeners.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 747Rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Mango Bay. Low impact wooden resort, hidden in the jungle on the edge of the shore. Great food at the restaurant with a selection of Vietnamese and western ( gorgeous crab curry!) the spa is in a lovely setting. Unfortunately the Vietnamese government appears to be developing phu quoc hell for leather and immediately next door an ugly brick and red roof development is now going up. Probably won't have as much impact once the jungle grows back

Room Tip: Ask for a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mnandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Phu Quoc is an island on the up and up, so while it is still rough around the edges, it offers a great respite from the mainland of Vietnam. Mango Bay is a wonderful place to stay. The service and staff were excellent. The restaurant is very good. The best part are the outdoor bathrooms in the bungalows- just an amazing experience. This is not a glamorous place, but it has everything you need and more. The beach is nice, but the water is rough- if you are looking for calm blue water and white sand head to the south of the island. Very romantic place with gorgeous sunsets and ambiance. Rent a motorbike and check out the island- don't be afraid of the dirt roads. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed in the Reef House with our kids for 8 nights. Fabulous experience! Staff are fantastic. Food beautiful. Beaches clean and fresh. Beach Bar awesome! Spa experience was extra special with serene atmosphere and very caring staff. Yoga classes every afternoon were beautiful!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayleypero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

What more can you ask for! A simple rustic in look eco lodge, sitting right on the beach front, surrounded by jungle, geckos and butterflys abound, warm sunsets and the most delicious food served all throughout the day!
This is Mango Bay Resort - the Team Members are faultless in their welcome and attentiveness to your needs. The beach water is a delight and the two restaurants casual in atmosphere but brilliant in their food preparation and ultimate tastes.
A delightful place to STOP, Relax, and just Chill Out! Nothing more.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful and offer a view of the beach and gardens. the outdoor showers are blissful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

After a few days of journey in the Mekong delta, we arrived in this haven of peace. Bungalows are very well studied, spacious and very clean. The staff is helpful, smiling, effective! The beach is magnificent and the water is very clean. The cooking is very sophisticated, just like the Vietnamese food generally anyway! I can only recommend a stay to Mango Bay, it will remain unforgettable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uyen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
9.8 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 111 in Phu Quoc Island
460 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 49 in Duong Dong
1,132 reviews
4.7 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#1 of 49 in Duong Dong
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#7 of 111 in Phu Quoc Island
615 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
#6 of 111 in Phu Quoc Island
1,026 reviews
5.6 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#3 of 111 in Phu Quoc Island
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Resort

Address: Ong Lang Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range: $120 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mango Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a low density resort, driven by a passion for the environment, intelligent use of materials, and strong support for island culture. Mango Bay is tucked away off the beaten track, with Vietnam's first rammed earth bungalows, enclosed by beach and protected forest. There are no air-cons, television sets or telephones in the rooms for a true fusion with nature at the island's first eco-friendly resort. All rooms and bungalows have open sea views and offer mosquito nets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Mango Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Hotel Mango Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing