We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful great value eco-lodge”
Review of Mango Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mango Bay Resort
Ranked #6 of 98 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
TLV
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful great value eco-lodge”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Phu Quoc is an island on the up and up, so while it is still rough around the edges, it offers a great respite from the mainland of Vietnam. Mango Bay is a wonderful place to stay. The service and staff were excellent. The restaurant is very good. The best part are the outdoor bathrooms in the bungalows- just an amazing experience. This is not a glamorous place, but it has everything you need and more. The beach is nice, but the water is rough- if you are looking for calm blue water and white sand head to the south of the island. Very romantic place with gorgeous sunsets and ambiance. Rent a motorbike and check out the island- don't be afraid of the dirt roads. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,176
    360
    82
    44
    15
See reviews for
272
1,000
61
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed in the Reef House with our kids for 8 nights. Fabulous experience! Staff are fantastic. Food beautiful. Beaches clean and fresh. Beach Bar awesome! Spa experience was extra special with serene atmosphere and very caring staff. Yoga classes every afternoon were beautiful!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayleypero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
272 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

What more can you ask for! A simple rustic in look eco lodge, sitting right on the beach front, surrounded by jungle, geckos and butterflys abound, warm sunsets and the most delicious food served all throughout the day!
This is Mango Bay Resort - the Team Members are faultless in their welcome and attentiveness to your needs. The beach water is a delight and the two restaurants casual in atmosphere but brilliant in their food preparation and ultimate tastes.
A delightful place to STOP, Relax, and just Chill Out! Nothing more.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful and offer a view of the beach and gardens. the outdoor showers are blissful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShaunMcKeoghHCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

After a few days of journey in the Mekong delta, we arrived in this haven of peace. Bungalows are very well studied, spacious and very clean. The staff is helpful, smiling, effective! The beach is magnificent and the water is very clean. The cooking is very sophisticated, just like the Vietnamese food generally anyway! I can only recommend a stay to Mango Bay, it will remain unforgettable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uyen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Perfect experiençe at Mango Bay. The bungalows are elegant and energy-efficient. Both beaches are scenic and immaculately clean, and the whole place surrounded by native flora and even fauna. Each moment here was a treat, so cocktails and the well-selected wine list as many cherries on top! Chef Linh's food is very fresh and tasty. We actually got gluten-free, vegetarian food, thanks to the attentive and caring kitchen, management and staff! We did not miss air conditioning - there was enough breeze and the fans provide plenty of ventilation. We actually had enough warm water for four people - provided that it comes from solar sources, another achievement from Mango Bay. The resort's commitment to preserving the environment and helping build the local community is authentic, and makes for wonderful holidays that felt complete and carefree all at once. Very happy to have been there. Gladly recommend to couples, families and solo travellers alike.

Room Tip: Go for the Plantation villas by the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anu Maarit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We loved the relaxing experience in this resort. Although there is plenty to do on Phu Quoc, as we had been traveling a lot, we chose just to stay on site. we enjoyed the lovely room and resident Gecko, including the outside shower/toilet with its host of wildlife! The atmosphere was informal, two restaurants and a Spa with easily available appointments. We enjoyed massages within the sight and sound of the sea. We also participated in a complimentary yoga class which was lovely being held close to the beach and was of a beginners standard so anyone could join in.
Many of the onsite activities attracted an extra cost, which was a surprise. There were plenty of trips of sight which had we stayed longer we would have tried.

Room Tip: We had a small bungalow which was in easy walking distance to the restaurant and bar, but larger hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend did a three week tour of Vietnam and we came here towards the end of it. This was the ideal way to unwind after the sensory overload of the various cities and towns and recharge for another few days of touring. Phu Quoc itself is great if you are looking for a tranquil, secluded paradise to escape to; there isn't a huge amount to do or see, but I was ready for that after the tour that we had done.

The resort provide a car from the airport, so don't get a taxi like we almost did.

Even though it is an eco-resort it feels very plush and luxurious. It is a small resort so it feels quite exclusive.

Each couple is given their own wooden hut with a little porch area; the roof is covered but there is a large gap between the walls and the roof at the top so that it feels like you are almost outside. It is completely private, but the feeling of being exposed took a while to get used to, especially when it came to the bathroom which actually is outside (but again is walled in and completely private). It feels lovely to shower in the fresh air! The room is simply but beautifully decorated in natural materials. We had a tiny problem with ants but the secret is to leave them be. We killed one and then ten more came in to check out his corpse for some reason; we killed them and the cycle continued- it is a battle you cannot win, so don't even try!

The food and the cockails at this resort are absolutely fabulous; whatever I ordered (and the choice on offer was fantastic) I enjoyed it. Breakfast is included in the price of the room and it is delicious and varied.

The resort is on its own private beach. The sand is white and fine, the water is clear blue and the loungers are comfortable.

The only criticism I would have is that considerable warnings should be given to caucasian Westerners who go on the snorkeling expedition in relation to sunscreen. We aren't naive, we have always been careful in the sun, and we had done a two week trip thus far without getting any sunburn at all, but we still got caught out. Myself, my partner and a number of others went on the snorkeling trip and we thoroughly enjoyed the day. We applied our factor 50 and reapplied it but the sun was so strong; but even with reapplication we were in the water for so long that it washed of halfway through; his back was most badly burnt as it was only centimetres under the water at all times as we swam and the sun's rays seem to have been magnified through it. All of us were burnt heading back on the boat despite wearing sunscreen. However, I think I got a lesser scorching as I covered myself in a wrap in between swims. My boyfriend ended up with sunstroke and I understand another of our group also got ill. I had a terrible night worrying about him and nursing him; and he really suffered. It did put a dampener on our last evening there and it also marred our memories of this beautiful place. The moral of the story, if going snorkeling- keep topping up on sunscreen (the highest factor you can get) get the most water resistant stuff you can and don't go into the water for the full day, bring a hat, stay in the shade where possible or bring something to throw over yourself when you can. We had a lovely lunch on the boat; and the snorkeling itself was great so I advise doing it, just be very very careful!

In all I highly recommend this resort if you want to really relax, three nights is enough to wind down, if (like us) you like to go and see and do a lot of things on holiday. It might become boring after any longer and by the third day, though we had thoroughly enjoyed it, we were ready to get back to the business of exploring Vietnam.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KitKatDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
9.8 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 47 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
4.7 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#1 of 47 in Duong Dong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#8 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
5.6 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#1 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
4.9 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Resort

Property: Mango Bay Resort
Address: Ong Lang Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mango Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a low density resort, driven by a passion for the environment, intelligent use of materials, and strong support for island culture. Mango Bay is tucked away off the beaten track, with Vietnam's first rammed earth bungalows, enclosed by beach and protected forest. There are no air-cons, television sets or telephones in the rooms for a true fusion with nature at the island's first eco-friendly resort. All rooms and bungalows have open sea views and offer mosquito nets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mango Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Hotel Mango Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing