We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mango Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mango Bay Resort
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at the Mango bay for 6 nights and will definitely be going back! Food and drink prices are reasonable, especially given the location. Although if you're not a big eater, i would suggest asking for half portions. we ended up getting one main and sharing it towards the end!
It's about 230,000vd (one way) into the main town and Long beach, but the resort does offer a free shuttle at certain times of the day.The whole place has such a chilled vibe, there is a beach bar also which serves a different menu. Would recommend the tour of the south, the guide is very friendly and speaks good English. Can also recommend the cookery class as well, although be prepared to eat a 3 course meal in the hottest part of the day!
Overall though, the setting and atmosphere combined with friendly and welcoming staff, who again all speak good English, makes the Mango bay the perfect place to get away from it all. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Podgi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,065
    339
    78
    42
    13
See reviews for
241
922
56
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Mango Bay is situated in the perfect location, it has it's own beach (with it's own mini reef for snorkeling - which I hope can be preserved) beautifully designed buildings, ecologically friendly. I was very impressed with the service and food which was always well prepared. The staff had a birthday cake ready for my girlfriends birthday and organised flowers for her too. Having spent a lot of time in Vietnam, sometimes service and staff can be very changeable, however at Mango Bay they were always helpful, friendly and wanting to do better, though I was hard pressed to find anything to fault, for this I highly recommend Mango Bay. There are few places I would choose to stay at again - I like the change and variety of new places - however, Mango Bay is somewhere I could keep coming back to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Hotel shuttle to and from airport was a good plus to the resort. It is located further north of the main area of Phu Quoc but the isolation is a nice aspect of the resort but there a daily shuttle service to the town. We requested many months earlier a nice seaview plantation bungalow and were given the best bungalow in the resort overlooking the beach and close to the beach bar(P02). The room was large, simple and clean but to be honest a little hot as there is no AC but you get used to this.

There is a restaurant on the rocks and a beach bar which offer different menus with specials every day. We found the main restaurant very romantic at night but the beach bar lovely at sunset with happy hour 50,000VND special cocktails. The restaurant also does a happy hour with 150,000VND for any 2 cocktails. Food is a little pricey but main course servings are huge and overall we felt the prices were very reasonable! The breakfast is also nice with a good range of ordered items (I requested pancakes with bacon and they did this very easily). We had one issue with a grilled whole snapper being overcooked but it was dealt with accordingly as the fish was comped and we were given dessert on the house.

You can snorkel, kayak and swim at the amazing two beaches at the resort. Snorkelling is best in the morning when the water is still and we found the southern beach had better snorkelling at the rocks off the shore. We also got a couples aromatherapy massage for about $50 and this was very professional and relaxing. The wifi connection is fantastic if you get bored of reading. The thing that puts this place above any other is the quality of service by amazing staff. They are the friendliest and most professional staff I've ever encountered in Vietnam. I highly recommend this as a treat for those wanting a relaxing beach holiday.

Room Tip: If getting a seaview plantation bungalow, request P02.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sezstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I have been to Mango Bay before. It never loses its charm. It is an eco friendly oasis retaining simplicity with charm and comfort. The huts are built with rammed earth.(Any Western Australian will understand what that is.) Hence it is all in sympathy with the surrounding forest. Unfortunately that cannot be said of a lot of the development on parts of the island of Phu Quoc.
There are two very good restaurants. The food is delicious and the staff very friendly and helpful. The huts are simple, clean and comfortable. I love the bathrooms, open to the sky and who needs pot plants when you have your very own lush tropical garden in the bathroom?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a great eco-resort. The service is top notch, and the beaches and beach bar are awesome! We had a little health problem on our trip (stitches at a Vietnamese hospital caused at an event not related to the hotel), and the staff was so helpful in dealing with it. The only drawback is that it is hot at Mango Bay, and the rooms can get a bit uncomfortable in the heat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madison2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

After having stayed at another (same price category) resort on Long Beach the move to Mango Bay really fulfilled our expectations of a remote, relaxed, cool and friendly place with fantastic food. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We just love it!
There is shading trees everywhere, wastebaskets in bamboo discretely placed all around the ground. The bungalows are placed with good space around them. Everything is clean and neat. The beach is cleaned too, but hence the wind and sea brings in garbage every now and then, there may be bits and pieces lying around. Still the cleanest beach we have seen in Vietnam.
Food is excellent, a bit pricy compared to many other places, but then again this is a resort, so no complaints there.
Staff is really friendly and helpful. They work on their english, and we find it easy to talk with most of them.
The bungalow is really nice. We are two adults and three children, and they have made a very good solution with the beds, though the family bungalows are only meant for a family counting four people.
We would definitely recommend this place, but only if Eco-principles and the natural luxury feel matters to you.
If you want luxury in the ordinary sence; aircondition and white tiled bathrooms - go somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisbethskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
10.0 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 87 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
4.7 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 41 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
6.0 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#8 of 87 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House
5.6 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#2 of 87 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
4.8 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Resort

Property: Mango Bay Resort
Address: Ong Lang Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mango Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a low density resort, driven by a passion for the environment, intelligent use of materials, and strong support for island culture. Mango Bay is tucked away off the beaten track, with Vietnam's first rammed earth bungalows, enclosed by beach and protected forest. There are no air-cons, television sets or telephones in the rooms for a true fusion with nature at the island's first eco-friendly resort. All rooms and bungalows have open sea views and offer mosquito nets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mango Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Hotel Mango Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing