We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic”
Review of Mango Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mango Bay Resort
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
N Yorks
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

An idyllic retreat in a special location. Properties were scattered throughout the resort so it did not feel cluttered. the staff were superb. Always friendly, smiling and keen to help and assist either practically or with advice. We stayed in a single room, one of five connected together, looking out onto the ocean less than 100 metres away. Being an eco-resort it does not have air conditioning but does have large open windows and fans. The downside is that the fans made, for me, too much noise and disturbed my sleep, however, such is the nature of the place that it was always possible to catch up on sleep sometime else! The humidity and heat probably contributed to a stomach upset which persisted throughout my stay, however staff were brilliant in advising drinking ginger tea (it helped) and in finding me medication when necessary. (I did ask for extra toilet rolls and drew a picture to help in the interpretation, however something got lost in the translation as a man with a plunger arrived on the doorstep!). The breakfasts were excellent - never seen so much fruit, bread, and local food as well as more international, continental products. The restaurants were equally excellent. The only problem we encountered was an order at the beach bar that did not arrive one evening so we shared the food that did! My wife used the spa treatment facilities and found these very good. Overall this is a lovely resort for peace and quiet, calmness and as a base for exploring Phu Quoc. We were able to hire a car and driver/guide to take us to points of interest.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrevorNYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,181
    365
    82
    44
    15
See reviews for
275
1,005
62
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We loved Mango Bay, it was really peaceful, very clean and totally relaxing. We stayed for 7 nights in a rammed earth bungalow which was really comfortable and had very few wildlife 'visitors'. It's lovely that all the buildings are made from natural materials and there is no AC or TV. All the staff on the site were really friendly and helpful and couldn't have done more for us. The food was lovely and the Happy Hour cocktails great and very reasonably priced. We went on Tin Tin's trip round the South of the island, which was really interesting, and also on a Flippers snorkelling trip to the coral reef at Turtle Island which was like swimming in an aquarium.

If you want a change the Sakura restaurant is 10 minutes walk (turn left when you get back to the main road) and very cheap. There is also a shop just up the road selling cheap alcohol and snacks.

As others have stated it would have been nice to have free snorkelling gear loan and to have Vietnamese wine in the restaurant (Sakura does and it's very nice). Also we would have liked to borrow/hire bikes to explore the area a bit.

Finally just a comment on a couple of reviews saying there is rubbish on the beach - we were disappointed by this when we first arrived but it was because there was a storm at sea causing big waves (also making snorkelling dangerous). After our first 2 days this settled down and the sea was calm and very clean so I think these visitors were just unlucky.

Room Tip: We were in R02 which was a little too near reception and joined to R01. It would have been nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We spent 6 nights in one of the rammed earth bungalows. The resort was great especially the beach. Food in the resort is great and high quality. Only one other restaurant within walking distance and you'll need a torch after dark.

Don't be put off by the toilet in the garden. It is actually refreshing to have a shower in full sun shine each morning.

Get to Phu Quoc before it gets over developed. At the moment it is lovely, but this will change in time.

p.s. Hire a scooter as soon as possible - £6 a day - £2 for a full tank of fuel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djwaudby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton Tablelands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at the Mango Bay resort and wished we had stayed longer.
Our thatched roof bungalow overlooking the water was comfortable and quiet.
Staff were excellent and very friendly and all spoke very good English. There are cooking classes, day tours and snorkelling and diving to do. Do them all if you have the time.
The massage rooms overlook the beach which is very relaxing. The restaurant has excellent food.The breakfast is fantastic. We had a fabulous stay at this resort and would highly recommend it to anyone who likes a more natural resort experience without airconditioning etc. We would go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a plantation bungalow overlooking the water (number 31) is in a great position, very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acoupledownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
Level Contributor
113 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Mango Bay resort chilling out after over 3 weeks touring Vietnam, before moving on to Cambodia. Our only regret is that we didn't stay for longer. It is a quiet resort with friendly, helpful staff and an excellent restaurant overlooking the sea. Some of the meals were most imaginative with wonderful Asian/French flavours. The food is a bit expensive but delicious although there wasn't a vast choice of simple meals for a light lunchtime snack.

We stayed in a Plantation bungalow with a part sea view. It was private, spacious and airy and good to be away from a/c, fridges and television. The outside bathroom was well designed and the small number of creepy-crawlies we encountered didn't not worry us. The wall fans were noisy at night but we subsequently discovered that they could have been changed.

The two beaches were never crowded and swimming perfect in the calm seas we experienced during our visit.

It is well worth visiting the local town of Duong Dong with its picturesque harbour and colourful market.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aldman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2013

this is great place to stay for total relaxation and without outside world disturbance. there are lovely rooms, with natural features and the staff offer great service to them, including the evening turn down service with mosquito nets lowered and citronella incense lit.
the food is delicious and there are a range of trips and activities to take part in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, NJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

After almost 3 weeks touring Vietnam it was wonderful to relax and chill out at Mango Bay. We loved our bungalow especially the outdoor bathroom. Loved showering with the sound of geckos and crickets.
Delicious food, I would only recommend adding a variety of cereals to the "Healthy" breakfast choice. Corn flakes may be the most tasteless cereal ever made, IMHO!
Lovely staff, great beach bar and I highly recommend eating next door at Blue Seas for a change of venue. The food is terrific and less expensive.
Our room was lovely and it was fun coming in after dinner to see the mosquito net down and looking so romantic.
A great four days and hard to leave.

Room Tip: Next time I would reserve a private bungalow although we really never heard our neighbors other than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
9.8 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
416 reviews
4.7 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 47 in Duong Dong
567 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 47 in Duong Dong
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#9 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
569 reviews
5.6 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#2 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
1,102 reviews
4.9 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Resort

Property: Mango Bay Resort
Address: Ong Lang Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mango Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a low density resort, driven by a passion for the environment, intelligent use of materials, and strong support for island culture. Mango Bay is tucked away off the beaten track, with Vietnam's first rammed earth bungalows, enclosed by beach and protected forest. There are no air-cons, television sets or telephones in the rooms for a true fusion with nature at the island's first eco-friendly resort. All rooms and bungalows have open sea views and offer mosquito nets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Mango Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Hotel Mango Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing