We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Island paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mango Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mango Bay Resort
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire, England
Level Contributor
112 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Island paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Mango Bay resort chilling out after over 3 weeks touring Vietnam, before moving on to Cambodia. Our only regret is that we didn't stay for longer. It is a quiet resort with friendly, helpful staff and an excellent restaurant overlooking the sea. Some of the meals were most imaginative with wonderful Asian/French flavours. The food is a bit expensive but delicious although there wasn't a vast choice of simple meals for a light lunchtime snack.

We stayed in a Plantation bungalow with a part sea view. It was private, spacious and airy and good to be away from a/c, fridges and television. The outside bathroom was well designed and the small number of creepy-crawlies we encountered didn't not worry us. The wall fans were noisy at night but we subsequently discovered that they could have been changed.

The two beaches were never crowded and swimming perfect in the calm seas we experienced during our visit.

It is well worth visiting the local town of Duong Dong with its picturesque harbour and colourful market.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aldman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,138
    353
    81
    44
    13
See reviews for
269
969
59
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

this is great place to stay for total relaxation and without outside world disturbance. there are lovely rooms, with natural features and the staff offer great service to them, including the evening turn down service with mosquito nets lowered and citronella incense lit.
the food is delicious and there are a range of trips and activities to take part in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank v h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, NJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

After almost 3 weeks touring Vietnam it was wonderful to relax and chill out at Mango Bay. We loved our bungalow especially the outdoor bathroom. Loved showering with the sound of geckos and crickets.
Delicious food, I would only recommend adding a variety of cereals to the "Healthy" breakfast choice. Corn flakes may be the most tasteless cereal ever made, IMHO!
Lovely staff, great beach bar and I highly recommend eating next door at Blue Seas for a change of venue. The food is terrific and less expensive.
Our room was lovely and it was fun coming in after dinner to see the mosquito net down and looking so romantic.
A great four days and hard to leave.

Room Tip: Next time I would reserve a private bungalow although we really never heard our neighbors other than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you are looking for a place to chill out - then Mango Bay is for you.
Friendly staff, good food, excellent service all round. We travelled with our daughter, her husband and two small children. The staff could not do enough to prepare food for the baby and her big brother. The massage rooms (and staff) were great and very reasonably priced. No air conditioning, but fans were much better even if they were a little noisy. Walks along the beach, swimming in the warm water, relaxing in the sun - all good. Thank you Mango Bay...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dinkidi411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights and were very happy with the room, food and service. The resort is not in town center but there is shuttle bus service to town every day. We were also picked up and sent off to the airport for free. The room was lovely and clean. The bed was also very comfortable. There's no air conditioning but there's lots of breeze from the beach in front and the garden at the back. There's no telephone, fridge or TV in the room either but i didn't think it's a disadvantage. This resort is a good place for someone who would like to be close to nature and get away from their normal busy life. Food at the main restaurant was great although it was a bit expensive compared to the food in town. The staff there were very friendly and willing to help you with all your requests.

One thing that i didn't like much at the resort was the beach. Although you can swim and do snorkeling there, there's lots of rock so you must be careful when swimming.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherry_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

After a frantic 2 weeks of travel across Vietnam it was a real pleasure ti stay with the great folks at Mango Bay. The place is gorgeous. We paid to upgrade to a beachside villa - wow! Doors open at night with sound of waves crashing was simply great. No aircon makes for a hot nights sleep but that's not a problem. Restaurant was brilliant. Overall service could not be faulted and I highly recommend the days snorkelling - best I have ever done.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had an amazing experience at Mango Bay Resort. Highly recommended - Best quality price ratio!

The Mango Bay's employees make everything to enable you to have have a fantastic time:
- They welcome you at the airport,
- They take care of your bags,
- They give you a word of introduction about the resort at the restaurante and offer you a fresh juice.

The rooms are so romantic and the outdoor bathrooms make you feel like in heaven. In your room you have at your disposal a beach bag with towels. Moreover, the house keeping team makes twice a day your room.

The food (breakfast & dinner) and beverages (cocktails) are excellent. You enjoy it in a really nice surrounding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
10.0 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
4.6 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 44 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 44 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#8 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
5.6 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#1 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
4.8 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Resort

Property: Mango Bay Resort
Address: Ong Lang Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mango Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a low density resort, driven by a passion for the environment, intelligent use of materials, and strong support for island culture. Mango Bay is tucked away off the beaten track, with Vietnam's first rammed earth bungalows, enclosed by beach and protected forest. There are no air-cons, television sets or telephones in the rooms for a true fusion with nature at the island's first eco-friendly resort. All rooms and bungalows have open sea views and offer mosquito nets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Mango Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Hotel Mango Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing