We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb sunsets”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mango Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mango Bay Resort
Ranked #6 of 95 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Superb sunsets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Loved our stay in this eco-lodge. The restaurant looked over the sea and every night there would be a beautiful sunset without fail. The food was lovely. The staff were kind and helpful. The beaches were perfect. It's not near town but has a shuttle bus. It's a great place some peace and quiet.
It is an ecolodge though and has parts of the ceiling/walls exposed so you will get woken up by birds/geckos/people in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,157
    358
    81
    44
    14
See reviews for
269
985
60
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just ended a fabulous stay at Mango Bay and were sad to leave. Not much else to add besides what others have said. Staff were super friendly, loved the bed 'turn down' service at night. Dragon Margaritas are delicious.

Room Tip: I preferred the Fisherman Bungalow to the Family Bungalow because of the fab outdoor bathroom the Fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ts010199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

That is one of those “eco” resorts, that plays on the word ECO, in order to better rip you off. Absolutely no value for money. Overpriced.
The location is so far away from town and from any other point of interest that you would need to hire a moto, and budget at least 20 minutes in order to reach anywhere.
I was so hot at might (once again, this eco, label, means no AC), so they put us a fan at the bottom of our bed, that simply makes the whole mosquito net, wiggle the whole night on your face, legs, and body, that we cannot sleep. On top of it, imagine having the air of the fan hitting you directly from the bottom of the bed….
The bathroom, is once again, the eco style, so it is an opened concept, where every time I had to go at night, and would put the light, I would be attacked by all types of bugs, that were already crawling everywhere (toilet, my toiletry bag, etc…)
Will not return. Even though the beach is great, it is not enough to justify those prices.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBihan, Manager at Mango Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Cathy,

First of all, thank you for taking the time writing a review. Of course, my staff and I are always disappointed to see a guest unhappy with his stay.
However, your complains are surprising:
- Mango Bay is 20mn from town: Yes, and we never said otherwise. We are a low density resort where people are coming for relaxation and enjoy a paradise bay. That is clearly not in town.
- No Ac in the room: The accommodation page of our website say "we do not have any air conditioning in any of our bungalows". It is an eco choice we made and we are proud of it.
- You would be attack by all kinds of bugs in the bathroom: I doubt "attack" in the right term. When you live in the nature, you live with the nature. There is for sure insects around and we dont see why we should get rid of it. It is harmless and far from being as annoying as that.
We have a pest control company to avoid the mosquitoes.

All in all, I feel that you blame us for what we are: An eco resort, along a kilometer of coast set up in a large forest. We never claimed being anything else.
For people looking for AC, TV, no insects and paved road next to town, we are clearly the wrong choice.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

To put in words the amazing experience we had at Mango Bay would be very difficult! The beautiful location, the tranquility of this place... Not to mention the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, especially Khai, who was a most excellent host. The wonderful food at the restaurant, epitomizing the variety and exquisite flavors of Vietnam perfectly! The beautiful room, with its wonderful open shower and bathroom; nestled in the jungle with the waves breaking on your doorstep. Such a pity we only had a few days here, but we will most definitely be back soon...I highly recommend the Mango Bay for anyone looking for a wonderful escape to paradise!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Люберцы
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great rooms, very good Internet, good beach, spa, staff, breakfast. All was very good. I would also recommend snorking excursion from hotel. Veri exciting. What else did I like is free transfer to/from hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickolay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Mango Bay for three nights and found it to be a lovely quiet resort. The food was excellent and the bungalows were well equipped. By far the best thing about Mango Bay are the staff, who are all incredibly friendly and helpful, even presenting my boyfriend with a surprise birthday cake on the last night of our stay. Unfortunately we were both taken ill during our stay (beware the night market) and the receptionist and restaurant staff couldn't have been nicer, providing us with medicine, ginger tea and rice soup.
If you're looking for peace and quiet and excellent service then I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Mango Bay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sparky31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Mango Bay as part of a re-acquaintance with Asia and our first trip to Vietnam. We loved it and can't praise the staff and ambiance at the resort highly enough. It made for a fabulous break after the hustle and bustle of HCM; the rooms were stylish and comfortable and we loved the outdoor bathrooms! Food and drinks were well-priced and happy hour down at the beach bar is to be recommended - great cocktails. We particularly enjoyed the location of the resort, away from anything built up and very unspoilt. Thank you to everyone there for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharjoNorfolk_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
9.8 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 95 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 44 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
4.7 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#1 of 44 in Duong Dong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#8 of 95 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
5.6 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#1 of 95 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
4.9 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Resort

Property: Mango Bay Resort
Address: Ong Lang Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mango Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a low density resort, driven by a passion for the environment, intelligent use of materials, and strong support for island culture. Mango Bay is tucked away off the beaten track, with Vietnam's first rammed earth bungalows, enclosed by beach and protected forest. There are no air-cons, television sets or telephones in the rooms for a true fusion with nature at the island's first eco-friendly resort. All rooms and bungalows have open sea views and offer mosquito nets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mango Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Hotel Mango Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing