We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing getaway”
Review of Mango Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mango Bay Resort
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing getaway”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

My partner and I spent four nights in Mango bay and had a truly wonderful time. It's a laid back, beautiful place where you can kick back and relax on the beach, enjoy beautiful food and wonderful service. The staff are helpful and attentive - while still giving you space.

The downside is that I foresee this place in particular and Phu Quoc more generally getting increasingly popular in the years to come. There's an international airport being built and changes happening on the island. I don't begrudge the local people wanting to improve their local economy, but I hope Mango Bay can preserve that special, peaceful retreat thing it's got going on now.

Finally - food and drinks were well priced and of a high standard. Mango Bay is far from the main town on the Island, and thankfully it was no chore having to feast on the offerings they served up.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,181
    365
    82
    44
    15
See reviews for
275
1,005
62
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

fabulous beach, gardens and rooms. we stayed in rammed earth bungalow with outside bathroom (best loo view ever) - beautifully designed - very friendly and helpful staff. food is good if you want to eat in - particularly enjoyed beach bar at sunset from happy hour onwards..... it is a distance from town but you can hire scooters to see rest of island or just cab it into town for dinner at night market or walk down lane for dinner sapura for a change of scenery. really cant fault the place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoialondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

A great place to round up your trip to Vietnam, come to your senses. Spend your honeymoon or fix your mariage ! Perfect little Eco-friendly resort well managed by a French - English team who is attentive to details. Food is oustanding, the Bach bar a great place to watch the sunset eating a fresh fish bbq and sipping a vietnamese capirinha. We loved the trekking in the mountain with trung and yung who showed us all different butterflies and birds and let us have lunch and fall asleep by a cascade. The cooking lesson was great. Fantastic food at this resort. Nice crowd: young hip couples and families and a few gay couples. Great job mango bay. We loved our stay here and will be back !

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredericminvielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed at the Mango Bay Resort for 5 nights and would say that this resort is very good. The resort itself is really nice because it is as nature made this place. Bungalows are made of wood, there is no TV (nowhere in the resort), no air condition. All in all the resort respects the nature and is consequently built in order to make it fit the surroundings. We think that this is great!

The resort hosts a main restaurant which serves 3 meals. In particular lunch and dinner can be had whenever one is hungry. The food is absolutely awesome and really really tasty! One can also eat at the beach bar, which is a bit of a smaller place. Right next to the main restaurant an internet room offers two computers which can be used at any time without costs.

There are various bungalows (have a look at the hotel website). We stayed in a Plantation Bungalow which was pretty nice and spacious. The best part about the bungalow was the bathroom which was at the backside of the bungalow and outside. Though this is fancy....it can get itchy especially in the evenings if you take a shower....there are plenty of mosquitos!

As mentioned above the bungalow is made of wood. There is neither a tv, nor aircondition, nor a fridge. There is however a ceiling fan as well as a moveable fan. The bed is covered by a mosquito net, which is a must on this island.

At arrival we were told that there are two beaches, however, in our opinion there is just really one useable beach, namely right by the beach bar. The other one is so small and full of rocks that you can't call it a beach. So the beach bar beach is quite nice and there are beds available. The water is clean and calm. We tried to snorkel but gave it up quite quickly as there is not much fish or anything else to see.

I believe most of the reviewers have mentioned the most important things and so it doesn't make sense to repeat myself. Also, the hotel website provides good information on the resort. Though everything is really nice in this resort there are two things that I would like to point out:

1. For Vietnamese standards the resort - despite the fact that it is a eco-resort - is definitely overpriced. We paid USD 160 a night. Based on our experience this is way too much (consider that an average salary in Vietnam is USD 250!) Also, the pricing at the restaurant was a bit funny. Not that it was expensive, but everything turned out to be around the same price. We found it quite weird that a dessert would cost as much as a main course.

2. The resort is VERY quiet. While this was perfect for us to relax, we were nevertheless surprised to witness that at 9pm the restaurant was literally empty. As there is no entertainment whatsoever in this resort, it seems that guests retreated to their bungalows immediately after dinner. Usually, at 10pm no lights were on in the resort. So if you fancy a relaxing and super quiet resort, this is the place you need to go to.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mb0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Eco lodge on the beach of Phu Quoc, away from the city and noise. What a great place to get away from it all, with plenty of activities if you want to stay busy. We enjoyed snorkeling in the rocks just off the beach and riding motorbikes around the island. The staff was helpful and accommodating in arranging things to do. Great food and we enjoyed the mango mojitos while watching the sunset each evening. Wifi is available, but too slow to upload pictures. Loved the outdoor bathrooms and watching the geckos and frogs. Visit Phu Quoc now before it becomes a major tourist destination.

Room Tip: Plantation bungalows are nicer than the veranda rooms if they are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in the family bungalow. The surroundings are very beautiful and kept very clean. There are three different small beaches to swim from and one of them are very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The resort is placed on it's own so it's very calm and quiet. Hence there are no restaurants nearby apart from the resorts two restaurants. That means the prices are a bit higher than in Doung Dong but it was so worth paying the extra money. We took a taxi to town two nights but that took half hour so it wasnät realyy worth it. The food at the resort was very fresh and tasted delicious. The cocktails which are made by Tin are also delicious.
The bungalow was very beautiful. There is no ac in any of the bungalows but we didn't get too hot. There were some animals (geckos, frogs) in our bungalow so if you are cared of animals you should stay somewhere else.
We LOVED our stay at Mango Bay and would def come again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

From being picked up from the airport to saying fairwell, the service was excellent. Yes, there's no air con, no TV, etc, but the resort is perfect. The fisherman's bungalow was spacious, the beach near the beach bar was great, excursions (particularly tour of island) well run and the food was spot on and enough variety for 6 days. Would recommend going before the island gets too touristy (international airport planned for next year).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPL1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
9.8 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
416 reviews
4.7 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 47 in Duong Dong
567 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 47 in Duong Dong
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#9 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
569 reviews
5.6 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#2 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
1,102 reviews
4.9 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Resort

Property: Mango Bay Resort
Address: Ong Lang Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mango Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a low density resort, driven by a passion for the environment, intelligent use of materials, and strong support for island culture. Mango Bay is tucked away off the beaten track, with Vietnam's first rammed earth bungalows, enclosed by beach and protected forest. There are no air-cons, television sets or telephones in the rooms for a true fusion with nature at the island's first eco-friendly resort. All rooms and bungalows have open sea views and offer mosquito nets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Mango Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Hotel Mango Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing