We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Mango Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mango Bay Resort
Ranked #8 of 107 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Couldn't think of a thing we would change. Although we like to go to new places each time we travel we have now started a 'to return to' list.

Room Tip: A plantation bungalow nearer the beach bar
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,731)
There are newer reviews for Mango Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

995 - 1,001 of 1,732 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2011

We travelled with our family + partners for my sisters unplanned wedding. The staff went above and beyond what is expected to make the day amazing for us, and the entire week we were there perfect. Highly recommend, get in before the international airport goes in and too many tourists arrive because at the moment it's an absolute oasis!

Room Tip: Rammed earth bungalows are a great size :)
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alidewar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

The average price on here isn't realistic. We paid $120 for a plantation bungalow which is VERY expensive for Vietnam. BUT the place is fantastic, luxurious and romantic. The staff are brill, the room LOVELY, and the restaurant/bar on the beach idyllic. There are a lot of bugs about but this isn't a prob since they go in your room every night and put the nets down and light an insect repelling incense. If u leave the outside light on as an extra you won't get any bugs. I would definitely go back. We passed a few other places and popped in for drinks and they looked very inferior compared to this place- you've gotta go!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesnKristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We only stayed at Mango Bay for a night and really wish we'd stayed longer. The place had a fantastic atmosphere - very laid back and relaxing. We choose a rammed earth bungalow for the outside bathroom, which was amazing. I know the rooms have a few faults (no air-con, quite a few creepy crawlies due to the open slates in the roof and quite dark at night) but these sort of added to the romance of it and made it totally different from anywhere else I'd stayed - the fans were fine, the staff had lit mosquite coils in our room and there was a big net over the bed. The beach there was a beautiful private bay, the food was delicious and the staff very good. There were even some cows roaming the grounds. A real get-away!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danionholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We stayed at Mango Bay for 4 days and it was just amazing!! The staff are so wonderful, friendly and happy!
The food was great, happy hour at the bar with Tin was the best.. Banana Daquiris and Pina Coladas are well recommended!
We stayed in a plantation bungalow near the beach bar and it was so wonderful. The first night we came back to our bungalow to find that evey afternoon the staff put the mosqito nets down and close all the windows and doors, set up a fan and leave the front light on for you incase you come home in the dark :) So lovely.
The location is great, very peaceful and quiet! Phu Quoc Island is a hidden gem.. get there before it all changes!
Thankyou Mango Bay!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rochelle088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

The food in the restaurant is great :), but It is unprofessional by the staff not to bring you the menu.
I sat there for 20 min before someone brought it to me, by my own request. There were only a few other customers at the time (i eat early, 5:00 pm) and 3 or 4 waiters. It annoys me when the price is about 250.000 Dong per meal, witch is high in Vietnam. The staff just fooled around in that time.
This happened 4 or 5 times in that week.

I took the free shuttle-bus to town (good thing) and were told to be on pickup location at 3:15 pm. By the time 4:15 pm i took a motorbike back.
What resort/hotel forgets its customers? They paid the motorbike of course, but i still waited in vain, in 36 degrees.

The word "sorry" just don´t do it when you hear it as many times as i did in that week.

Room-cleaning and standard are very good. Nothing there. Make sure you tip them.

All in all a nice place in the high-end, but they lack on the service for a resort where you pay 100$ or more per night

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rondane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

This is our second time at Mango Bay and it was wonderful to be able to share it with family. We found the staff to be very helpful and very friendly (maybe we are not needy). The food and drink lived up to expectation and we found it all very reasonable. After spending 4 days in Ho Chi Minh City this was a great place to come and relax and just "do nothing". The swimming is great and a trip to the pearl farm for a little retail therapy was worth it.
All in all a majical few days and thanks to the staff for making it so wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldCoast255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
9.8 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 107 in Phu Quoc Island
439 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#7 of 107 in Phu Quoc Island
597 reviews
4.7 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 47 in Duong Dong
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 47 in Duong Dong
1,118 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
#6 of 107 in Phu Quoc Island
1,003 reviews
5.6 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#3 of 107 in Phu Quoc Island
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Resort

Address: Ong Lang Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range: $68 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mango Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a low density resort, driven by a passion for the environment, intelligent use of materials, and strong support for island culture. Mango Bay is tucked away off the beaten track, with Vietnam's first rammed earth bungalows, enclosed by beach and protected forest. There are no air-cons, television sets or telephones in the rooms for a true fusion with nature at the island's first eco-friendly resort. All rooms and bungalows have open sea views and offer mosquito nets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mango Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Hotel Mango Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing