We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time Out - Easy Serenity - Looking forward to our next stay!”
Review of Mango Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mango Bay Resort
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We were looking for a total break away -with enough amenities so we could choose to stay in one place without having to travel around - we stayed for two weeks and could easily have stayed longer. We found this here at Mango Bay. The staff ensured that our stay was stress free, with friendly greetings and service. We enjoyed knowing that the resort upheld it's responsibility to employ local people and provide training. So sometimes staff were not fluent in English or the details of Western food or customs, but then we knew no Vietnamese and enjoyed learning of the culture of the place we were staying, so we saw this as a two way process - we enjoyed being part of this. We made some great friends.
The beaches were great for swimming and lounging, with whole days spent lying beachside under the shade of the trees. The views from the restaurant on the waterfront was stunning at all times of the day - fishing vessels chugging by, crabs scuttling and feeding on the rocks, and sunsets. Sitting in comfortable furniture, being served with amazing yet simple totally fresh locally sourced food (definitely try the crème brulee, and the platters of seafood bbq'ed to taste) and drinks, we spent hours enjoying each others company with no pressure to relocate or purchase. Games were provided, internet was available, and office staff were very accommodating (spent hours assisting us in finding a way to bring some of the island's absolutely incredible fish sauce home with us!).
Spa treatments were great, especially the reflexology and body massage, set in a small traditional lodge looking out to sea. Toiletries provided were first class - no need to take your own (and I am very fussy about these!).
We were careful about using bottled water for everything,and this was cheaply and easily available. We found it a little hot and sticky at night with no air conditioning at this time of year (and we live in far north Australia so we are used to hot weather), but mosquito nets and coils were in good supply.

Room Tip: The Southern end offered more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caniwi02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,035 - 1,041 of 1,780 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2011

Very nice and comfortable accommodation in a natural, wide and open area, clean sandy beach with spectacular sunset, excellent local kitchen, very good service.
It is a paradise for those who like calmness and loneliness, but not so convenient for those who are looking for nightlife

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paradise73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We stayed at Mango Bay for 3 nights and we wish we could have planned to stay longer! We stayed in a rammed earth hut and it was one of the neatest hotel experiences we have ever had. The resort was very peaceful and quiet and we never had to worry about not getting beach chairs or an ocean view table at dinner. The food was good (the Vietnamese and Asian options were better than the Western ones) and the breakfast was the best we have had so far in Vietnam. The service was excellent- from the free airport pick-up to the friendly servers in the restaurant. We also rented a motor bike one day at the resort (this was very easy and cheap) and explored the island. We highly recommend visitng Phu Quoc and staying at Mango Bay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cafefemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

This place is beautiful and if you are looking for a nice, quiet beach to relax on then you should visit. Just lower your expectations on the food and service a little because this was a little disappointing. We spent 3 nights here during our trip to Vietnam which also included Saigon, Hanoi, and Halong Bay. The beach is probably worth the annoyances we experienced but in the spirit of honest reviews here are our pros and cons...

Pros:
1. Very friendly and efficient airport pickup.
2. Beautiful room
3. Beautiful beach
4. Cheap beer (cocktails are quite expensive though)
5. Chairs/umbrellas set up along the beach
6. Breakfast/the restaurant is overlooking the water

Cons:
1. Staff was the least friendly and least helpful staff we experienced during our stay in Vietnam.
2. We had wasps in our room. We did find that they mostly bothered us in the afternoon and I think they were possibly attracted to something the cleaning staff used. Our solution was to just stay out at the beach during the afternoon :)
3. When I was chasing a wasp out the window I accidently broke the glass water bottle on our desk and was charged about $10USD for something that couldn't have cost more than a couple dollars.
4. The food is very westernized and we got very sick off of dinner one night (the only food we got sick off of the entire trip through Vietnam)
5. The night market is not really worth the trip...
6. We reserved the plantation bungalow which is supposed to have a sea view but ours was completely surrounded by trees and did not have a view of the sea - however, we loved the privacy so this ended up bring very nice :)

Despite the cons, the view was fantastic and we enjoyed the beach!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alhtravelreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBihan, Manager at Mango Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2011

Dear Alhtravelreview,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and to take the time in writing your comments on Trip Advisor. We are happy that you have enjoyed our setting, but feel sorry that you have encountered a few problems while staying with us.

- We try to give our outmost care and attention to our guests and we are very disappointed that you have not enjoyed our hospitality, but rest assured that your opinion is valuable and that we will address it to the Mango Bay team.

- Mango Bay Resort being so in-tune with our surroundings and nature, the appearance of wasps can effectively happen, but if it does happen we do act immediately. We also spray the property regularly to avoid these problems. Housekeeping does not use in any way, products that attracts wasps. But we are very sorry to say the least that you have encountered this problem, which could have been solved if you had reported the problem. Unfortunately, Not knowing about it, nothing was done!

- The Jug that was broken was charged at cost price which was 150’000 VND which is 7 Usd. But knowing what had happened, we should not have charged you for this breakage. We sincerely apologize for this.

- We have tried to design a menu offering mostly Asian dishes and our Vietnamese Chef uses local produces. Some dishes are Western, keeping in mind that we need to offer a variety for different taste buds! The majority of our guests are extremely complimentary on the food we offer. But, we appreciate your comment; it is very valuable to us so as to understand our guest’s expectations.

We are sorry that you have not enjoyed the culinary experience at Mango Bay and that you were sick. We would have appreciated if you had reported the incident when you were staying with us so as to inquire with the kitchen.

- The Night Market in town is not a compulsory attraction that we offer! Of course it is not to everyone’s liking, although most of our guests enjoy the experience.

- As Mango Bay is a Low density resort on a 10 Hectare property, all our bungalows are quite spread out , and a component of the nature surrounding us, giving a lot of privacy to all of our guests. You had in fact booked for a Plantation Sea view, which you should have had. We sincerely apologise for this mistake.

Your feedback is very valuable to us as we always try to improve the quality of our services and we take all your comments into consideration.

Thank you once again, hoping to welcome you back on Mango Bay’s shores!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Mango Bay is the best place for relaxing in ALL VIETNAM.We been travelling a lot in Vietnam,but wanted to return back only to MANGO BAY.
Verandas,palms,cristal sea,lovely sunset,gamaks,great breakfast and for sure-atmosphere!
We been there few times and will go again!
I do not agree with people,who write that its WILD ROBINZON'S PLACE...Of course,its not Antalia's resorts with disco&animation-as its totally different kind of leasure.
If u have any questions,pls write me-i will try to help u:smileeeee@mail.ru
Enjoy,
P.S.I think we would not become crazy of Phu Quoc if not MANGO BAY...as this resort is making this ISLAND sooooooooooo particular.
BRGDS,IRINA

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRINEWTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We arrived on the island with no expectation, this little resort was a breath of fresh air from the craziness of hcmc. If u are after a place to chill out and do nothing this is the place for u. The boat trip that they offer for 30usd is not worth it that much. But the staff are amazing & the food is good. I only wish they changed thier menu, but u can take a taxi to the night market for 160k dong to get a wider variety.

The plantation bungalow was romantic and very big. It was definatly value for money and i recommend it to anyone who wants to take a break from the craziness of mainland vietnam

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cr4c5h3ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Overall we had a good stay at Mango Bay, but we probably will not stay there again if we return to Phu Quoc

Pros:
- Great breakfast with abundant local and Western selections; the dining area faces the water, which is very pleasant
- Well appointed rooms with pretty canopy beds, cherry red deck loungers and plants
- Wonderful sunset views
- Fantastic service across the board
- Convenient tour and motorbike rental from the hotel

Cons:
- There was quite a lot of manure on the property that we had to dodge on our way to and from our hotel. This required flashlights at night
- The beach is very rocky and pales in comparison to others on Phu Quoc like Sao Beach and Long Beach
- There is no air conditioning in any of the rooms, although we were quite comfortable at night with the fans

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IdaFats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
9.8 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Ganh Dau
474 reviews
4.7 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 49 in Duong Dong
628 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 49 in Duong Dong
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#6 of 113 in Phu Quoc Island
626 reviews
5.6 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#3 of 113 in Phu Quoc Island
1,236 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
#5 of 113 in Phu Quoc Island
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Resort

Address: Ong Lang Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range: $128 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mango Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a low density resort, driven by a passion for the environment, intelligent use of materials, and strong support for island culture. Mango Bay is tucked away off the beaten track, with Vietnam's first rammed earth bungalows, enclosed by beach and protected forest. There are no air-cons, television sets or telephones in the rooms for a true fusion with nature at the island's first eco-friendly resort. All rooms and bungalows have open sea views and offer mosquito nets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mango Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Hotel Mango Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing